R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2009, 05:59 PM   #406
Tech Master
 
RBMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara CA
Posts: 1,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slotracer577 View Post
Did you do an uninstal of your previous version before installing 200? If you didnt that might be the issue. If not, it should be over on the right as a number to adjust.

John
Weird, I did the uninstall on the old one first. I did it all over again today & still no turbo. I was able to update the RS & it says 200 in the current version box. Anyone see what I did wrong?
__________________
-EMBX6,T8 1400, RX8, 5S Lipo ,Elite-RC, RCM tray
-EMBX6,T8 1350, RX8, 5S Lipo ,Elite-RC, RCM tray
-B44 (Novak)
-ROAR 4 cell rule Blows
RBMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 06:06 PM   #407
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBMike View Post
Weird, I did the uninstall on the old one first. I did it all over again today & still no turbo. I was able to update the RS & it says 200 in the current version box. Anyone see what I did wrong?
Make sure you have the sensored box checked?
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 08:25 PM   #408
Tech Master
 
RBMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara CA
Posts: 1,264
Default

That's it. Thanks
__________________
-EMBX6,T8 1400, RX8, 5S Lipo ,Elite-RC, RCM tray
-EMBX6,T8 1350, RX8, 5S Lipo ,Elite-RC, RCM tray
-B44 (Novak)
-ROAR 4 cell rule Blows
RBMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 07:53 AM   #409
H I
Tech Master
 
H I's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,877
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Is it better to have 2nd power cap when run 1 cell lipo with RS pro in Mod?
H I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 02:05 PM   #410
Tech Addict
 
RaceBucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 512
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Optimal timing?

For the past couple months I was sure I understood how to set the timing, but now Iím confused again. Just when I was convinced that zero motor and max ESC was best (on a 17.5T), now Iím finding with a 13.5T that less timing is better, and Iím back to trying to understand how to find the optimal settings.

I thought that zero motor timing to get torque out of a corner and max Turbo and Boost to let it rip when at rpm was best. I did lotís of experimenting with a Redline 17.5T with gearing/rollout and motor/ESC timing and was convinced this played out. Running 1/12 scale, 75íx75í carpet track, RS v200, Redline motors, 1-cell, rollout varies to find optimal.

After Vegas I switched back to the Redline 13.5T and kept the same ESC settings, varied gearing and found 75mm rollout to be optimal. A friend with a similar hardware and rollout was clearly pulling me so when we compared settings they were the same except his Turbo was at half max. I dropped mine to half and immediately saw improvements, less heat, more zip, lower lap times. Varied gearing again and found that 75mm was still right.

So I donít understand what is going on with the timing. Not just why less is better (I can understand being over-timed), but why didnít the optimal rollout change when the timing changed? This wasnít a trade, less timing was better.

I donít remember if it was this forum or the RS forum, but somebody posted a lot of math on what was going on. Iíve searched the threads but havenít found it; any ideas?

Thanks.
__________________
"We face each other as God intended. Sportsman-like. No tricks, skill against skill alone." -Fezzik
RaceBucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 02:15 PM   #411
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,581
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceBucks View Post
For the past couple months I was sure I understood how to set the timing, but now I’m confused again. Just when I was convinced that zero motor and max ESC was best (on a 17.5T), now I’m finding with a 13.5T that less timing is better, and I’m back to trying to understand how to find the optimal settings.

I thought that zero motor timing to get torque out of a corner and max Turbo and Boost to let it rip when at rpm was best. I did lot’s of experimenting with a Redline 17.5T with gearing/rollout and motor/ESC timing and was convinced this played out. Running 1/12 scale, 75’x75’ carpet track, RS v200, Redline motors, 1-cell, rollout varies to find optimal.

After Vegas I switched back to the Redline 13.5T and kept the same ESC settings, varied gearing and found 75mm rollout to be optimal. A friend with a similar hardware and rollout was clearly pulling me so when we compared settings they were the same except his Turbo was at half max. I dropped mine to half and immediately saw improvements, less heat, more zip, lower lap times. Varied gearing again and found that 75mm was still right.

So I don’t understand what is going on with the timing. Not just why less is better (I can understand being over-timed), but why didn’t the optimal rollout change when the timing changed? This wasn’t a trade, less timing was better.

I don’t remember if it was this forum or the RS forum, but somebody posted a lot of math on what was going on. I’ve searched the threads but haven’t found it; any ideas?

Thanks.
ESC boost wants to rev the motor more. Turbo wants to rev the motor more after the delay is reached. If you are on a smaller track, turbo may not be necessary. Also, if boost is too high, you may be taking yourself right out of the torque band of the motor, which you need. Try setting turbo to zero, the motor to zero and the boost to 5 less than where it is now. See if you like the snap out of the corners. If not, either drop the rollout with a couple teeth off the pinion or take another 5 off the boost. You will eventually hit the sweet spot for the rollout. At that point, add back the turbo in increments of 5 until it shows no signs of improved lap times.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 09:07 PM   #412
Tech Adept
 
Andrew Knapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rapid Competition Rc Raceway
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to Andrew Knapp Send a message via Yahoo to Andrew Knapp
Default

Sorry if this is a repeat question, but im trying to find a good Setup with 200 profile for running 10.5 1s 12th scale. Also a starting rollout, on a track thats about 80ft long
Just wondering if anyone has any starter tips on that?
__________________
Team CRC www.teamcrc.com--Team Trinity--Revtech--Team Spektrum www.spektrumrc.com--protoform--SXT--Rapid Competition RC Raceway and my dad!
Andrew Knapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 05:30 PM   #413
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Knapp View Post
Sorry if this is a repeat question, but im trying to find a good Setup with 200 profile for running 10.5 1s 12th scale. Also a starting rollout, on a track thats about 80ft long
Just wondering if anyone has any starter tips on that?
Motor? Battery?

I suggest that you just drive quickly :-)
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 06:25 PM   #414
Tech Adept
 
Andrew Knapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rapid Competition Rc Raceway
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to Andrew Knapp Send a message via Yahoo to Andrew Knapp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
Motor? Battery?

I suggest that you just drive quickly :-)
Novak 10.5 and 5000 40c 1s
__________________
Team CRC www.teamcrc.com--Team Trinity--Revtech--Team Spektrum www.spektrumrc.com--protoform--SXT--Rapid Competition RC Raceway and my dad!
Andrew Knapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 06:36 PM   #415
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Kenny Lamberts setups from Vegas would be a great place to start:
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-kennylamberts1-12-13.5wgtiic.jpg   Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-kennylamberts1-12-13.5iic.jpg  
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:48 AM   #416
Tech Addict
 
lavaandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: hood river or.
Posts: 591
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Kenny Lamberts setups from Vegas would be a great place to start:
these setups say that gearing is the same in both classes? is that right?
lavaandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 05:15 AM   #417
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaandy View Post
these setups say that gearing is the same in both classes? is that right?
Yes, the spur/pinion combo is different because of tire size, but rollout is rollout.
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 05:29 AM   #418
Tech Elite
 
2056dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
ESC boost wants to rev the motor more. Turbo wants to rev the motor more after the delay is reached. If you are on a smaller track, turbo may not be necessary. Also, if boost is too high, you may be taking yourself right out of the torque band of the motor, which you need. Try setting turbo to zero, the motor to zero and the boost to 5 less than where it is now. See if you like the snap out of the corners. If not, either drop the rollout with a couple teeth off the pinion or take another 5 off the boost. You will eventually hit the sweet spot for the rollout. At that point, add back the turbo in increments of 5 until it shows no signs of improved lap times.
.......................................
__________________
CRC Gen XL / Xray 09 , t2r pro / CW sprint and CW rocket / Kyosho evolva m3 / Tekin rs / Futaba 4pks / Trinity / Dirtburners thanks Bill / 1/8th racers of Toledo / Trex chassi / Summit Race way / Stateline
LAZER SPEEDWAY where all else IS just a parking lot / Hobby Stop West Raceway
2056dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 06:06 AM   #419
Tech Fanatic
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Finally got to race my new 10R5 Friday night after 2 test-n-tune sessions and I gotta say I'm really liking this car and the Tekin RS & Redline motor! I TQ'd by 2 laps and won the A-main by 2 laps. This particular track is 60' x 26', so it's very tight and technical with 6'6" wide lanes and medium/high bite.

For anyone looking for setup info:

Tekin RS/Redline 10.5 motor on 1S.
Rollout: 61.59mm (93/33 on 55.25mm tires)
Sensored box checked
Full Boost
Zero motor timing
Full turbo, delay .5
Brake: 90
No drag brake
Throttle profile 3 (I'll try profiles 4 and 5 next time out)
Novak Smart Boost

Hope that helps.
__________________
Trinity - Caster Racing USA - Panther Racing

Race Videos: http://www.youtube.com/TrackMasterTim
TimNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:33 AM   #420
Tech Regular
 
rcwck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ohio USA
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Settings out of parameters of esc?

Purchased RS Pro last year. I tried 198 software but get this message that settings are not within parameters of my esc. How do you determine what software version is compatible with your esc? Or what parameters to use with a certain esc?

Thanks
rcwck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:40 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net