R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2009, 03:42 PM   #286
Tech Elite
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Clegg;6343514what rollout change would I see going from a GTB based ESC to a Tekin... does it go up or down?

And after reading most of this thread I am still a bit confused as to how you have the ESC/booster/powerswitch all configured. If I read right - the booster should be run off the battery directly and plugged into the Rx. The ESC should have its connector with all 3 wires plugged into the Rx and the switch be off on the ESC? or the red wire out of the ESC connection to the RX and the switch be on the ESC?[/QUOTE]


Figure a 6 to ten tooth drop on the pinion depending on the track

Do not connect the booster to the main battery, it connects to the + and - esc posts and then plugs into the receiver. As long as you have v200 of the software you can turn on the esc switch to enable the lipo cutoff, but its really not needed. In an 8min race with a 13.5 I use 1800 to 2200mah depending on the track and how I'm driveing. So unless your going to run back to back heats without charging or running mod you'll never hit the cutoff. As mentioned you can wire in a seperate on/off switch I have not just for simplicty, that means that when I plug in the main pack everything is hot so I just make sure I have the radio on before I plug in the main pack. Heres a pic of it in my db12r
__________________
Sponsered by:

CMDezigns Paint Works
https://www.facebook.com/pages/CM-Dezigns/259989190822177?ref=hl

Last edited by chris moore; 09-14-2009 at 04:01 PM.
chris moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 06:01 AM   #287
Tech Regular
 
GWH74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Here is a picture of my BMI.
You can see the booster between the receiver and the battery.
At this stage this has only been tested on a couple of runs with the receiver turned off.
And need to find a smaller switch
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-top.jpg  
__________________
AE 12R5.1 - Custom chassis
For Sale BMI DB12RR, Tire Warmers and lots of other stuff.
GWH74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 08:01 AM   #288
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Very interesting! Where is the cap for your ESC? (trying to place where I want to put mine when I get the ESC in) I Am digging how small the RS is from seeing that pic!
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 08:11 AM   #289
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWH74 View Post
Here is a picture of my BMI.
You can see the booster between the receiver and the battery.
At this stage this has only been tested on a couple of runs with the receiver turned off.
And need to find a smaller switch
Very nice working installing everything
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 08:12 AM   #290
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,582
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clegg View Post
Very interesting! Where is the cap for your ESC? (trying to place where I want to put mine when I get the ESC in) I Am digging how small the RS is from seeing that pic!
Over the 'S' on the 'RS' for mine. There are no obstructions to wiring with that placement. There are some small plastic tubes that go over the cap leads to prevent shorting that come with the RS. The posts have a convenient 'V' groove in the top. It holds solder well and allows the cap leads to be put in and the posts to be tinned well before attaching the +/- wires.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 08:36 AM   #291
H I
Tech Master
 
H I's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,877
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Very nice GWH74.
What sort of ESC set up and roll out are you running?

I just got RS pro and I have no idea what to do with boost set up.
I'm going to run novak 5.5L motor with 1 cell.
H I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 02:43 AM   #292
Tech Regular
 
GWH74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Here are two more pictures of my set-up.
One is of the booster and the 'monster' switch (at least a marshell won't miss it). You will also see a small 6.3V 1000uf cap between the receiver and servo mount.
The close-up of the ESC shows how i have mounted the cap. The black connector onto of the ESC where you would normally mount the cap is the power connector to the booster (via the switch).
I have wired it so there is the least amount of drag on the motor wires and the battery wires are neat.
You can take the booster or switch assembly out without de-soldering wires.

This set-up has only seen limited track time. I still need to do more bench testing on the Lipo cut-out and the booster.
I am running one of the US$4.95 hobbycity specials and i will be testing output current and ripple voltage.
I will post the results later in the week.

I have around a 50mm roll-out with the 5.5L. This needs to fine tune for our large outdoor track. I am a bit concerned about runtime and dumping. I think i will be OK with the lite but i wouldn't like to push a normal 5.5 until i do more testing.
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-booster.jpg   Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-close-up-esc.jpg  
__________________
AE 12R5.1 - Custom chassis
For Sale BMI DB12RR, Tire Warmers and lots of other stuff.
GWH74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 02:56 AM   #293
Tech Regular
 
GWH74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Here is another trick.
I am using the non-Lipo BMI RR chassis so to locate the battery.
Cut some .30 lexan strips (4 off them per battery) so they fits snuggly in the battery cut-outs. Stick two of them together so now you should have 2 x 2 strips.
Mount your battery in the car where you would like it (easy with the BMI and O-ring), now stick the strips to the underside of the battery through the battery cut-outs.
Now the battery will go back in the same spot every time and will not move around.
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-battery-strips.jpg  
__________________
AE 12R5.1 - Custom chassis
For Sale BMI DB12RR, Tire Warmers and lots of other stuff.
GWH74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 03:03 AM   #294
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Does that switch sticking out ever get knocked and turn things off?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 03:12 AM   #295
Tech Regular
 
GWH74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I would say it will.

I haven't run it in a race yet. It was just a switch i had lying around at work. Hard to track down a nice little switch like they use on the ESCs.

It will be swapped out by the weekend if i can find one.
__________________
AE 12R5.1 - Custom chassis
For Sale BMI DB12RR, Tire Warmers and lots of other stuff.
GWH74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 04:17 PM   #296
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

So I am thinking... Just got my RS in hand today (waiting on Randy's email with v200 firmware goodness) and I am looking at the wiring aspects of this.

Could I just cut the Power switch from the Tekin, solder it closed (so the ESC is always on when the battery is plugged in) and only have switch for the booster?

I have a DSM radio, so if there is no signal, no big deal not like it will start glitching all over. You guys think that would be an issue? does the booster need to be powered on before the ESC? or can the ESC be switched on before the booster is turned on?

Only having one switch would be nice and still having the LiPo cut off.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:30 PM   #297
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

The booster is meant to go on before the esc does, so dont solder the switch in the on/closed position.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:47 PM   #298
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Vegas setups for 1s:
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-kennylamberts1-12-13.5iic.jpg   Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-kennylamberts1-12-13.5wgtiic.jpg   Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-mikedumas1-12modiic.jpg   Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-donnylias1-12modiic.jpg  
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 07:07 PM   #299
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Randy, Any chance we'll get access to those low turbo boost delays?
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 12:30 AM   #300
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clegg View Post
Randy, Any chance we'll get access to those low turbo boost delays?
Thanks for the setups Randy!

Any idea what approximate gearing they were using with the mod setups?
Also i just noticed they are using the dual mode, is there any particular reason for that?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:23 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net