R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2009, 10:40 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnight View Post
So when would you run a 1s pack. All my packs says 2s. Also I just purchased a tekin rs system with the 13.5, is there anything special I need to do.
1S lipo packs (3.7V) are being tried out for use in 1/12 scale racing. If you're running 2S 7.4V packs with your RS and 13.5 then you don't need to worry about anything discussed in this thread.

There is, however, a great thread about general use of the RS and RS Pro:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...-sensored.html
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:08 AM   #17
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I just got word back from our team driver Steve Salvas that he's had great success running the Tekin RS on 1s with the VC set at 3 volts using a TQ Cells booster unit. He said that it worked great and the VC settings worked as expected.

www.tqcells.com
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:17 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Midnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmond. Oklahoma
Posts: 2,066
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the quick response Reen!!
__________________
RC8T; Losi 2.0B; FT T4; AKA & RB
Hoffman Photography, www.carolinasrc.com
Midnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 12:09 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Does Tekin, as a company, support this new style of racing? I know you want/need your speedo to work in every application out there, that's obvious, but what does Tekin think or feel of this new direction racing might take?
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 12:33 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

is there a picture how everything is connected?
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 12:48 PM   #21
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,710
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportpak View Post
Does Tekin, as a company, support this new style of racing? I know you want/need your speedo to work in every application out there, that's obvious, but what does Tekin think or feel of this new direction racing might take?
Damn Ben, that's a loaded question!!

You want my opinion
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 01:08 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miller tyme View Post
Damn Ben, that's a loaded question!!

You want my opinion
I've heard your opinion a few times.

Tekin, by far, is the most approachable electronics company on here. Was looking to see what they really thought.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 04:15 PM   #23
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I'm going to offer up MY PERSONAL OPINION here:

I think that part of racings downfall has been the associated costs with running at the top level. Not just at national events but even the local club scene. Having to have fresh packs(nimh's) and the latest motor(brushed or brushless) has made it less "fun" for some. This is why the Slash has taken off so well.

If you've been around the hobby for awhile(I have) you will see how intimidating it can be for new people to not only take the plunge and buy their first car setup but to compete. Being pulled down the straight away like they're in a Radio Shack car isn't a good feeling for them. They soon find out that they need lipos, a new charger, brushless,etc.

Anytime you "limit" a class for the benefit of the racers is helpful. This doesn't mean limit their choices neccessarily. I think this is why VTA and WGT are becoming so popular. VTA is the Slash of onroad in my humble opinion. Any TC, realistic bodies, spec'd tires choice of power plants and battery power.

Do I think that 1s is going to be popular, yes. Do I think that it's the "next big thing," sort of. 1s will be affordable long lasting power. We all have the chargers now, BL is a no brainer. The only issue up until recently was the radio equipment running on the lower voltage but even now we're getting worked out.

All in all I think that if it keeps people racing it's good. I don't care for limiting things to one brand of product as this isn't good for the hobby. It prevents product evolution, improvement and competition which is the whole point we race right?

I always like to take a look at "real" racing as a guidline. If we as racers and race organizations try not to repeat the same mistakes "rea" racing has made we can prosper. However if we continue to make the same mistakes over and over again, well that's the definitio of insanity....

THE ABOVE STATEMENT IS MY PERSONAL OPINION AND IS NOT NECCESSARILY SHARED WITH TEAM TEKIN.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 04:25 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Hi Randy,

Will Tekin release a booster? Would it be possible to incorporate a booster into a RS speedie? Or have you crammed enough technology into these wonderful little black boxes already? All I run is Tekin. Ran 'em back in the day (G12c3!). Now all my rides have 'em.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 04:29 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for your honest answer. Hopefully soon there will be more then one brand involved, but we have to agree that someone had to be first. Time will tell how it plays out. It'll decide which classes I choose to run for the foreseeable future.

I love the RS and can't wait to see some of these new software packages available to the masses.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 04:50 PM   #26
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

There's not enough room to put a booster in the RS.

We will continue to support current and future products as we see a need for them.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 06:49 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
2056dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
I found last night at our track that you can carry alot more gearing than nimh and run timing up to 12deg plus full boost we run on 70x40 carpet track
gearing was around 74spur with 58 to 62 pinion with 1.750 rear tires. We had alot of guys ready to switch to 13.5's before these changes now I think there has been a change of heart

here are setting I ran
drag 25
rev 0
brake 85
neu10
motor blfw
throttle 5
volt off
push 0
boost max
current 0
sensored only
so Kenny are you useing this setup with a 13.5 or a 17.5 thanks
__________________
CRC Gen XL / Xray 09 , t2r pro / CW sprint and CW rocket / Kyosho evolva m3 / Tekin rs / Futaba 4pks / Trinity / Dirtburners thanks Bill / 1/8th racers of Toledo / Trex chassi / Summit Race way / Stateline
LAZER SPEEDWAY where all else IS just a parking lot / Hobby Stop West Raceway
2056dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 06:52 PM   #28
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

17.5
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 12:07 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I have a question regarding the RS in the single cell LiPO application.

Several of the guys at my local track are running the RS in a 3.7 car with rx packs or boosters. Several racers are running 3.7 cars with other speedos and are not running any booster or RX pack. The RS will light up when I attach a single cell LiPO, but if there's no RX pack it will not power the motor or even make the chiming sound when it comes on. Just the normal LED sequence, but no sound. This indicates to me that the FETS aren't firing. If I plug in an RX pack, the RS comes on, and does the chiming. If I run a servo lead direct from the 3.7 LiPO to the receiver battery slot, the RS comes on, but again no chimes, no motor drive.

Is this something that can be addressed in software, or is it a hardware issue? I'd like to be able to try running with no booster or RX pack, but I don't intend to switch to some other speedo to do it.
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 09:37 AM   #30
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Double check your lipo cut off setting.

We've run them on 1s no booster or rx pack before. My guess is that your lipo setting isnt' set correcty. Turn it off and see what happens.

Also what's your "normal" led sequence?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net