Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A >

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Old 09-05-2009, 08:42 AM
  #256  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (87)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,959
Trader Rating: 87 (100%+)
Default

Ok, after reading a few pages back, I'm little confused. Those who are running a booster, are you leaving the ESC switch off? And if so, how is the booster wired into everything else?
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 09:51 AM
  #257  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
Ok, after reading a few pages back, I'm little confused. Those who are running a booster, are you leaving the ESC switch off? And if so, how is the booster wired into everything else?
Using Novak .........ESC off (Note: well hidden so it can't be turned on by Marshal)

+ to speedo +

- to speedo -
lidebt2 is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 10:04 AM
  #258  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
Ok, after reading a few pages back, I'm little confused. Those who are running a booster, are you leaving the ESC switch off? And if so, how is the booster wired into everything else?
Tekin RS with TQ Booster:

Solder the black and red lead to the +/- terminals on the ESC.
Plug the booster Futaba plug into the BAT port of your receiver.
Switch to the RS on if you want lipo cutoff to work properly.
Switch to the TQ on.

You will need access to hotwire to get the RS lipo cutoff set right and to access the 1S capabilities.
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 10:11 AM
  #259  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (87)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,959
Trader Rating: 87 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
Tekin RS with TQ Booster:

Solder the black and red lead to the +/- terminals on the ESC.
Plug the booster Futaba plug into the BAT port of your receiver.
Switch to the RS on if you want lipo cutoff to work properly.
Switch to the TQ on.

You will need access to hotwire to get the RS lipo cutoff set right and to access the 1S capabilities.
I have the hotwire, so thats not an issue. The positive wire from the booster to the positve battery terminal on the RS, and then same with negative, correct?
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 10:16 AM
  #260  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
I have the hotwire, so thats not an issue. The positive wire from the booster to the positve battery terminal on the RS, and then same with negative, correct?
Correct
lidebt2 is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 10:18 AM
  #261  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
I have the hotwire, so thats not an issue. The positive wire from the booster to the positve battery terminal on the RS, and then same with negative, correct?
Exactly, you can kind of see it on the pictures I put up on the last page. I put the booster lead in the gap along with the cap leads then put the leads to the battery on top. I have no low speed cogging at all, no turning issues with the servo and the brakes work very well when dodging ping pong table legs.
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 10:19 AM
  #262  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (87)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,959
Trader Rating: 87 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lidebt2 View Post
Correct
ok sounds simple enough. I was looking at the TQ racing website, and all I could find is the wire and sensor cables. Am I looking at the correct website, and while I'm at it, about how long of a sensor cable will I need for a 12th scale?
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 10:26 AM
  #263  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
ok sounds simple enough. I was looking at the TQ racing website, and all I could find is the wire and sensor cables. Am I looking at the correct website, and while I'm at it, about how long of a sensor cable will I need for a 12th scale?
I only run oval so I can't tell ya. The owner is Ralph, give him a call. He runs 12 and 10th scale. TQ wire (Both) is the best wire around. Tell him Blue told you to call.

http://www.tqracing.com/sensor.htm
lidebt2 is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 10:47 AM
  #264  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
ok sounds simple enough. I was looking at the TQ racing website, and all I could find is the wire and sensor cables. Am I looking at the correct website, and while I'm at it, about how long of a sensor cable will I need for a 12th scale?
Try http://tqcells.com
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 11:08 AM
  #265  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (87)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,959
Trader Rating: 87 (100%+)
Default

Cool, thanks.
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 01:32 PM
  #266  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
Tekin RS with TQ Booster:

Solder the black and red lead to the +/- terminals on the ESC.
Plug the booster Futaba plug into the BAT port of your receiver.
Switch to the RS on if you want lipo cutoff to work properly.
Switch to the TQ on.

You will need access to hotwire to get the RS lipo cutoff set right and to access the 1S capabilities.
Sorry just wanted to check. Is it switch the rs on before the booster? or the booster then the RS?
mangoman is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 01:35 PM
  #267  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Sorry just wanted to check. Is it switch the rs on before the booster? or the booster then the RS?
I turn the booster on first, then the RS. When I'm done, I turn off the RS first then the booster. So far, no issues.
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 09-06-2009, 01:29 PM
  #268  
Ty
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Can someone please post a Tekin setup sheet for 1s with the TQ booster for 17.5. I will be running a Gen-X on carpet and I have the RS Pro with 200 software. Thanks
Ty is offline  
Old 09-06-2009, 03:02 PM
  #269  
Tech Regular
 
viperbill1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: pensacola,fl
Posts: 250
Thumbs up alrighty then

well its a good thing i waited to read this thread b4 committing to lipo for my 12th scale there was a ton of great info here .i will be setting up the car to start racing onroad again after a 10 year break . i'm getting a 13.5 set up to tune up for the snowbirds. i'm just going to have a great time and race
viperbill1963 is offline  
Old 09-06-2009, 04:30 PM
  #270  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ty View Post
Can someone please post a Tekin setup sheet for 1s with the TQ booster for 17.5. I will be running a Gen-X on carpet and I have the RS Pro with 200 software. Thanks
Check the Tekin Facebook page. There is a copy of a couple 17.5 1S setups out there. http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1351455175
liljohn1064 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.