Wiki Posts
Search

JRX-S Type R vs Associated TC5F

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2009, 06:27 PM
Tech Adept

Default JRX-S Type R vs Associated TC5F

Hello everybody,

I am relatively new to electric on-road (13.5 foams on carpet), but I drive electric off-road. I am looking to get into on-road, but I cannot afford to pay top dollar for Corally or Xray. (I am also not looking to buy used, because I really love to build kits.) So I am looking at the Losi JRX-S Type R and the Associated TC5F, both of which are in the low $300 range. I was wondering, what are the pros and cons of each car, and which one is easier to dial in? Does one of the two have an advantage on the other? Will the JRX-S be discontinued soon?

My track has about equal parts support for both, so that is not an issue.

I will be running LiPo. My off-road gear includes two Orion Platinum Two LiPos; will they fit in both? I hear they fit the JRX-S but I may need to trim a pulley. Do I need to shim the top deck or purchase any mods for the AE to get it to fit?

I just did a search on it and all the threads on this subject are pre-TC5F. Thank you for your assistance.
Old 02-06-2009, 06:46 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

You dont have to pay top dollar to get top dollar performance, both cars are equal in performace to the high dollar kits

The TC5 will fit pretty much every ROAR legal lipo without any modification, can't say for sure on the Losi, never had one to look at (although im pretty sure you will have to make some space, especially on the bigger capacity packs).

Other than that, flip a coin really. Both cars will serve you well, and both have just as much potential to be as fast as anything else thats out there. Id say, whichever more people at your track run, that way you can get more help with spares and setup tips
Old 02-07-2009, 06:56 AM
Tech Adept

Is there a durability difference?
Old 02-07-2009, 07:04 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)