Wiki Posts
Search

lrp spx stock spec

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2009, 11:19 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)

Originally Posted by billythekid
If I remember correctly, the Track Power packs are gold in color and they are not very fast. They lack punch and may not be powerful enough to supplier the amps needed. I am not an electrical engineer, but from my experience on the track, IP 5000 40C or SMC 5200 50C are the fastest packs. Try one of these packs and I am pretty sure you will feel a power gain. Also note that you may need to run different gearing with different battery lipo packs.

Hope it helps
I tried a 8 month old 4900 trakpower with my SPX/duo and it keeps up with all the cars on the track that have thunderpower or SMC 40C packs. But it doesnt have the snap that they have, which is good to have. But I wouldnt say there exactly slow
Old 09-30-2009, 11:36 AM
Tech Rookie

Ok,
I'll change my ratio.....

But isn't the stock spec 9.5t not an motor for just more toque instead of RPM.
I think my ESC was at it's 120Amp limit so that's why nothing overheated.

I orderder an spx so i'm changing my FDr to 6-7 and start from there with (easy)trying to gear it good.

The strange thing is:
in the manual of the motor it says to gear it 7 for short tracks and 5.3 for long tracks.
Old 09-30-2009, 06:37 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

Ran the SPX setup last nite. 4.2FDR in a Cyclone with LRP X11 17.5 Brushless motor on Profile 7. Car felt awesome first 5-8 laps and after that the car seemed to slow down a bit (not as punchy), not much but noticable. This is using a fully charged IP 5000mah 30C lipo, so power shouldn't be a problem. Has anyone else experienced this? Is there anything I can do to fix this? The motor came off at around 50 degrees celcius (130F), so it wasn't being overheated. I was even going to gear it higher to 4.0 to see but didn't have a chance.