R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2009, 01:13 PM   #886
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mclean, VA
Posts: 3,940
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tellan View Post
Experiencing problems running a SPX with 1S lipo and DUO 2 10.5 Setup on SPX is 2,8,0,0 After a couploe of laps Esc basically shuts down. It has been suggested the profile 8 is too aggressive .
Tried same setup with Novak and no rpoblems.Anyone else experienced problems with profile 8 and DUO 2 motors.

As an after thought running a Novak booster.
Did you try pulling the red wire out of the booster plug? This is the alternate wiring method Novak has suggested. You might also try bringing the timing down on the motor.
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 01:17 PM   #887
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mclean, VA
Posts: 3,940
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

I just installed a receiver pack in place of a booster with the SPX. The receiver came with it's own switch. I notice if I turn the receiver pack switch on it turns on the esc too.

Do I only have to turn on the receiver pack switch or do I have to turn on both the receiver pack switch and the esc switch?
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 02:42 PM   #888
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Your set up like a BEC you need to turn on the esc if not your just running off the rx pack
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 07:16 PM   #889
Tech Elite
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 112 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to wstuart
Default

are here different versions of the spx stock spec esc or are they all the same?
__________________
Yokomo Yz-2 x2
Yokomo B-max4iii
Awesomatix a700 evo
Team El Cajon Hobbies
wstuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 08:31 AM   #890
Tech Master
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pinggoy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wstuart View Post
are here different versions of the spx stock spec esc or are they all the same?
stock spec are the same.. if its blue color..
i have the nosram matrix evo which is red in color is an spx and i gues its tuned..
__________________
TAMIYA TRF415 MRE l NOSRAM SPX l BALLISTIC 17.5
TAMIYA TRF416X
www.noicewatches.bigcartel.com
pinggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 10:56 PM   #891
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Put the spx in 4 cell mode not lipo for 1s the booster voltage still isn't high enough and is cutting off.

Jason
__________________
Jason Hack
madhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 05:12 PM   #892
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Default

ok so whats the general consensus on timing then with the SPX is everyone using some timing?? i'm looking for a happy medium with the recent set up i copied from my mate.

basically there running full timing on the novak 13.5 and 10.5 SS motors, proifle 8 and ratio 8.4 and upwards, temps are 66C

The motor is incredibly quick down the straight and it looks liek it has three gears it just keeps on accelerating only thing for me in the infield i find it a bit unpredictable and find it takes off as in hit a second gear if you are not super easy on the throttle.

now i want to keep this speed but any diea what i can do about the infiled t smooth it out. cheers
Burney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 06:47 PM   #893
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SAN DIEGO
Posts: 1,122
Trader Rating: 62 (100%+)
Default

Try running it on profile 7, it's much smoother on the infield but still very fast.
patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 08:37 AM   #894
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by patrick View Post
Try running it on profile 7, it's much smoother on the infield but still very fast.

ok thanks i will try this, but is it the profiles hat causes the motor to hit a another gear and jolt forward ?
Burney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 09:57 AM   #895
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 399
Default profiles

Profile 8 is even better ,turn motor timing down to zero ,profile 8 and watch the car take off.
tellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 10:08 AM   #896
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Posts: 816
Default Auto Brake

At my last race my car felt like it was scrubbing too much speed in the corners. I tried different setup changes but nothing helped. When I got home I read the manual on the SPX and I found out that by default Auto Brake is on(value=2). Do you guys normally use Auto brake?

My setup is an SPX on profile 7, FDR=8.0, Duo2 13.5 or Nemisis 13.5 on carpet with rubber tires.
slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 02:53 PM   #897
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tellan View Post
Profile 8 is even better ,turn motor timing down to zero ,profile 8 and watch the car take off.
so are you happy with the speed with no timing then? is there that much of a difference. i liked the feel with no timing but i feel if i go back i am definately loosing out

Last edited by Burney; 12-21-2009 at 07:43 PM.
Burney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 02:56 PM   #898
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I don't use drag (auto) brake, but one or two people at my local track do. It's personal preference. But I believe that you will ultimately be faster if you learn to drive without it.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 08:07 PM   #899
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default no boost

Has anyone had problems with the spx not getting full boost or feeling soft while using the m11x ?
AARON YOUNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 08:16 PM   #900
Tech Master
 
Scott B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NOR-CAL
Posts: 1,247
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AARON YOUNG View Post
I've been feeling soft while using the m11x ?

They make pills for that!!!
__________________
Mugen Racing USA, Sweep Racing Tires, R1 Wurks, Protoform, Speedworld Raceway...

"On-road is racing.. off-road is 50% competitive jumping and 50% crash avoidance"...
Scott B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP SXX TC SPEC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 190 08-20-2012 05:52 AM
10.5 Setups matrix101 Australian Racing 14 06-05-2009 03:27 AM
LRP SPX and TC-SPEC Tral Radio and Electronics 15 04-21-2009 06:07 PM
LRP SPX Brushless Competition StockSpec ESC mazmo Australian Racing 10 02-16-2009 12:44 PM
LRP SPX Bullet Revise Burshless/Brush ESC chappi Australia For Sale/Trade 15 12-31-2008 08:29 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net