R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2009, 10:41 AM   #76
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by franc furter View Post
Im thinking of buying an spx. I currently run a losi xcelorin speedo with a 13.5 duo. The losi has adjustable timing so i was wondering if i would see a difference running a spx. Also if i get a spx how should i set timing on motor and spx. My track is 100'-35'. Thanks!
I don't know much about the Losi, but everyone who has an SPX I know loves it.

I would put the the timing back to standard, gear down at least 1 pinion and see what happens

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 05:00 PM   #77
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I think you've cooked the motors.

Remember, lowering the gear ratio means a higher number FDR, 5.0 is lower than 4.1 etc.

You should have gone down to FDR 4.1 or something if you went up the profiles, not the other way around.

Try a different motor.
Skiddins,
Thanks for the help, I thought I knew what I was doing with the SPX! Obviously not! Hopefully, I can get a couple more motors and try again. I like both Novak and Speedpassion motors for 17.5. One seems to be more torque and the other more RPM. I let you know next week if I get it right this time!
Max

Last edited by maxepower; 04-20-2009 at 07:09 PM.
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 09:36 AM   #78
Tech Adept
 
Thirtybird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Metrot Detroit, MI
Posts: 233
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default sensor wire?

I'm thinking about getting this ESC - can anyone who bought one let me know if it came with a sensor wire?
__________________
Racing a Kawada SV-10 in 2010
http://omgitsakawada.blogspot.com/

The VTA Photon! (Inactive - back to the Kawada!)
http://vtaphoton.blogspot.com/
Thirtybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 09:46 AM   #79
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,530
Trader Rating: 62 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirtybird View Post
I'm thinking about getting this ESC - can anyone who bought one let me know if it came with a sensor wire?
yes it does come with a sensor wire
The Wease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 11:01 AM   #80
Tech Master
 
mickrcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 98 (99%+)
Default

dunno about Lrp,sent a lrp sphere tc edition back over a month ago for warranty work ,I bought this brand new and it did not work out of the package,sent it back w/track and confirmation signiture,says it got there,signed for it, they cant find it so they said they would ship me another new one ,well 2 weeks nothing still,they say there back ordered,So 1 month and no racing oh well ill wait more I guess
__________________
www.ovrccc.com
www.speedybillsrc.com
mickrcarver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 01:40 PM   #81
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirtybird View Post
I'm thinking about getting this ESC - can anyone who bought one let me know if it came with a sensor wire?
In Europe, the motors come with the sensor lead, but the speedos don't. Best to double check, since I think the packaging and product are the same the World over. HTH
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 02:09 PM   #82
Tech Master
 
fpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fpart
Default

These speed controls are so fast they should be outlawed!!
__________________
teamTrinity.com Sweepracingusa.com
スクービーは私のヒーローです!
Why is Scooby so slow, you might ask?
fpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 04:10 PM   #83
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Fan

I just jumped all in on this Speedo. I bought three of them. After reading some of the instructions there is an option for the fan. I will mainly run 8.5 to 21.5. I am in Cali so it does get hot when running on asphalt. Does any one recommend it? I have a LRP TC and it looks like the fan is soldered on the board how does the optional fan work? Thx for your help.
hacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 06:32 PM   #84
Tech Fanatic
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to SalvadoriRacing Send a message via Skype™ to SalvadoriRacing
Default

up to 8.5T the heatsink is more than enough
__________________
Salvadori Racing
www.salvadoriracing.com.br

O.S. Engines - KM RACING - CONTACT TYRES - SAVOX - LRP - ARC | Blitz | Titan
SalvadoriRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:17 PM   #85
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I think you've cooked the motors.

Remember, lowering the gear ratio means a higher number FDR, 5.0 is lower than 4.1 etc.

You should have gone down to FDR 4.1 or something if you went up the profiles, not the other way around.

Try a different motor.
I tried using another motor and no change, then I checked the profile and it was on #3 not #6 to my amazment the car came back to life. I have no idea how I put it on #3 but I did. I think if you get out of the set-up mode by shutting the ESC off. It doesn't save you settings! I feel like such a newbie!
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 10:08 PM   #86
Tech Fanatic
 
DriftDreamer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 826
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

i love the SPX - started with 4-cell gtb then to sphere comp 07 and now SPX. in my 1/12 it is .....

i am learning how to drive again!

Racin'4-fun --- kicking some a$$ on the way
DriftDreamer06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 06:56 AM   #87
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxepower View Post
I tried using another motor and no change, then I checked the profile and it was on #3 not #6 to my amazment the car came back to life. I have no idea how I put it on #3 but I did. I think if you get out of the set-up mode by shutting the ESC off. It doesn't save you settings! I feel like such a newbie!
Yep, that's standard on all the LRP/Nosram ESC's, you must go through all the settings and back out to the solid red LED, anything else and the settings aren't changed.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 10:43 AM   #88
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone knows if the heat sink is needed to be attached to SPX Stock Spec when running it with a 10.5T touring car?

How about 7.5T in a off road truck or 2wd buggy?
billythekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 10:49 AM   #89
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

From my understanding, switching from Sphere TC to SPX Stock Spec, I suppose to lower 2-3 tooth on the pinion when running profile 5-8 with a stock motor.

Do I have to lower 2-3 tooth on the pinion if I am running a modified motor with Profile 2 or 3?
billythekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 12:57 PM   #90
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billythekid View Post
Does anyone knows if the heat sink is needed to be attached to SPX Stock Spec when running it with a 10.5T touring car?

How about 7.5T in a off road truck or 2wd buggy?
I think with a 7.5 in Off-Road or a 10.5 in a TC would run ok, but you would be pushing the thermal limit depending on traction and outside temperature. Good thing is that it will thermal shutdown if it gets too hot. To be safe, put the heatsink on it.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP SXX TC SPEC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 190 08-20-2012 05:52 AM
10.5 Setups matrix101 Australian Racing 14 06-05-2009 03:27 AM
LRP SPX and TC-SPEC Tral Radio and Electronics 15 04-21-2009 06:07 PM
LRP SPX Brushless Competition StockSpec ESC mazmo Australian Racing 10 02-16-2009 12:44 PM
LRP SPX Bullet Revise Burshless/Brush ESC chappi Australia For Sale/Trade 15 12-31-2008 08:29 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net