R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2009, 07:26 PM   #826
Tech Master
 
gijoe64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 1,435
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Most guys at my track is using a 180mah losi pack works perfect they say. No need of a regulator
__________________
Raymon Robinson

ARC, LRP Go Blue!!
gijoe64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 07:56 PM   #827
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Wow, you got lucky. The first SPX I cooked took over 2 months to replace with no communication from LRP.
From your location, I'm thinking that you sent your SPX to Team AE, not LRP, which may explain the difference in service.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 10:38 PM   #828
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamge View Post
From your location, I'm thinking that you sent your SPX to Team AE, not LRP, which may explain the difference in service.
Aye, you are right. My mistake.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 11:14 AM   #829
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,807
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default 13.5 WITH SPX

Running a 415 with SPX on 8 and a Duo 2 13.5.Looking for a good starting FDR and motor timing setting?My current FDR is 5.5 with around 10 on the motor for timing and running around 160 for motor temp.I'm I in the ballpark?Thanks
__________________
Calandra Racing Concepts/ Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 11:02 PM   #830
Tech Regular
 
jsr555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canberra, Aus.
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default SPX and Heat sink

While I realise it wont hurt to throw it on, has anybody had any trouble running the SPX without the heat sink. I'm running 17.5 (poss 13.5) at night, although with summer approaching, temp can be around 25-30 C (80 - 90 F).

Do I need the heat sink?

Apologies is this has been discussed previously.
__________________
Xray T4 & HPI/HB Pro 5 - Powered by Hobbywing

SQ: HPI RS Pro -HPI RS Pro 2 - HPI Pro 3 - HPI Pro ?? - HPI Pro 5
jsr555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 01:54 AM   #831
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,038
Default

My friend runs his spx with 11.5T in our hot tropical weather, 35c air temp, 50+c track temp without heat sink and so far so good.
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:26 AM   #832
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: canada eh
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys I was wondering if I could get some guidance from someone here who has sent a speedo into LRP or ASC

Now I know my speedo is an older TC Spec model but I would still like to see what they could possibly do for me.

The speed control has become intermittant and sometimes it will last a whole 6 minute qually/race and sometimes not. Tried sensor wires tried motors just done trying... Sometimes when I turn the switch off and on it will work sometimes it wont.. Somtimes when I pull full throttle it does the sensor wire half out shutter its just screwy.. I only use the speedcontrol for 17.5 stock TC and so far its been fine against the top gunners using their laptops and usb cords.

I dont know what they could do for me but it may as well go back and that way they can figure out the ghost in it and give me some sort of closure lol
In this economy lil things like this are just too expensive to fail without missuse or abuse... grrrrr (I do realize its older but I havent raced much onroad due to new baby and broken leg the last 2 years) Just bummed I got a new car and came back to this

Any help is greatly apprieciated! Thanks boys!
__________________
RICK ENDLER
Hot Bodies Racing
www.greathobbies.com
SKY RC
Exotek
endler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 06:08 PM   #833
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

You should try calling LRP and see what they suggest.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 08:57 PM   #834
Tech Fanatic
 
wayboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 866
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

all answered

Last edited by wayboarder; 11-02-2009 at 11:09 PM.
wayboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:22 PM   #835
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That, and to reverse engineer the SPX, which is why I don't think you'll see the answer.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 10:47 AM   #836
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Default

I don't think the spx starts changing timing when the motor starts rotating. In modes 6,7,8 the motor all sounds the same at low speeds, but does not rev up to the max rpm.

so i think the spx only changes top rpm timing. That's the diffrence with software timing in addition to hardware timing.(timing on the motor)
So you will always have bottom end torque.
__________________
-- TA05R Fully Hopped -- SPX Stock Spec -- 9.5T Stock Spec -- Sav÷x Servo -- Spektrum DX3S -- Corally 5000 Li-Po
Alienbliep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 02:47 PM   #837
Tech Regular
 
fullout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mississauga
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to fullout
Default

I just installed my new spx and to my surprise it won't allow me to set it up. It tells you to hold down the set button and wait for the light to flash. So i turn on my remote then plug in the battery with the switch off. I then turn on the switch, then i see the blue light come on. So then i press the set button and wait but the light never blinks.


WHAT'S THE DEAL?
fullout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 03:40 PM   #838
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tested SPX with brushed 23T motors? Any performance gain?
billythekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 03:58 PM   #839
Tech Regular
 
fullout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mississauga
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to fullout
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fullout View Post
I just installed my new spx and to my surprise it won't allow me to set it up. It tells you to hold down the set button and wait for the light to flash. So i turn on my remote then plug in the battery with the switch off. I then turn on the switch, then i see the blue light come on. So then i press the set button and wait but the light never blinks.


WHAT'S THE DEAL?
Ignore. I'm stupid i had the speedcontrol plug into my receiver backwards. It's all good now.
fullout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 07:43 PM   #840
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: canada eh
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
You should try calling LRP and see what they suggest.
Does anyone have the number or is it the overseas one from the manual?
__________________
RICK ENDLER
Hot Bodies Racing
www.greathobbies.com
SKY RC
Exotek
endler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP SXX TC SPEC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 190 08-20-2012 05:52 AM
10.5 Setups matrix101 Australian Racing 14 06-05-2009 03:27 AM
LRP SPX and TC-SPEC Tral Radio and Electronics 15 04-21-2009 06:07 PM
LRP SPX Brushless Competition StockSpec ESC mazmo Australian Racing 10 02-16-2009 12:44 PM
LRP SPX Bullet Revise Burshless/Brush ESC chappi Australia For Sale/Trade 15 12-31-2008 08:29 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:41 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net