R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2009, 10:03 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 61
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Computer power supply

Has anyone used a computer power supply to feed their DC charger? I have a PS laying around from a computer I disassembled.
sivob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 10:12 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivob View Post
Has anyone used a computer power supply to feed their DC charger? I have a PS laying around from a computer I disassembled.
It'll work.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 10:28 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivob View Post
Has anyone used a computer power supply to feed their DC charger? I have a PS laying around from a computer I disassembled.
Check the specs on the PS to make sure it produces enough amps on the 12V lines for what you need. If so you're good to go. I've used one for probably 2 1/2 years now.
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 10:58 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

I bought one of the newest computer power supplies that Micro Center had to power the newest generation of computers with the big processors. I then disassembled it and de-soldiered all the extra wire harnesses for the low current outputs and only used the two 12v high amperage lines, one 14amp and one 16amp to make a power supply for all my 12v tools!
Works great with no problems.
Much cheaper then buying a dedicated hobby industry power supply!
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:07 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rctouringracer View Post
I bought one of the newest computer power supplies that Micro Center had to power the newest generation of computers with the big processors. I then disassembled it and de-soldiered all the extra wire harnesses for the low current outputs and only used the two 12v high amperage lines, one 14amp and one 16amp to make a power supply for all my 12v tools!
Works great with no problems.
Much cheaper then buying a dedicated hobby industry power supply!
+1

Sometimes I wonder what the deal is for the inflated prices... when conventional PSU's from computers do a much better job at lower prices.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:52 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
OvalDude99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Watertown SD
Posts: 79
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I use one that's at least 10 years old and it works great. There isn't enough power to run multiple chargers,(output is 7 amps) but it will run my lipo charger just fine. One bonus mine has is a 5 volt output for running my tire truer or a com lathe.
__________________
Time to play the game.
RIP Chris, you will be missed.
OvalDude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 01:38 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 61
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rctouringracer View Post
I bought one of the newest computer power supplies that Micro Center had to power the newest generation of computers with the big processors. I then disassembled it and de-soldiered all the extra wire harnesses for the low current outputs and only used the two 12v high amperage lines, one 14amp and one 16amp to make a power supply for all my 12v tools!
Works great with no problems.
Much cheaper then buying a dedicated hobby industry power supply!
Did you just use a meter to determine the high amp lines or did you trace back the lines that plug directly into the motherboard?
sivob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 01:57 PM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: East Sussex. UK
Posts: 46
Default

Here's a link to a UK forum which discussed this very subject some time ago.

There are quite a few pages to wander through and keep you all occupied
shawnh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 01:59 PM   #9
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,368
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default Yes They totally work

Yea they are pretty easy to configure.

Just short the green wire to ground (black) and on the 24 pin connector there will be (if ATX PS) 2 wires that are jointed to gether at the plug usually a Orange and brown. Shorth those 2 and then Just use a few yellows for positive and a few blacks for negative and presto done. now if you want more current just get a sandbar resistor (10 Watt) anywhere netween 4 - 10 Ohms across the red to black and you will have true 12V and full Amperage that the PS can supply.

Currently I have one that will output 18A according to the sticker but I have run everything on it (2 chargers, tire warmer, lights, fan, laptop. pulling 15A with no issues of Voltage Fade
jdeadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:40 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

The page with wiring diagrams etc.


http://www.rcracechat.com/vb/showthr...t=2129&page=33
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 03:13 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivob View Post
Did you just use a meter to determine the high amp lines or did you trace back the lines that plug directly into the motherboard?
No I got a schematic from the manufacture plus I think you can follow the connectors on the power supply as they are proprietary to the individual power regulated connects in the computer.
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 03:44 PM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 61
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Look what I found http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.bat...owersupply.htm
sivob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 07:46 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Lee_123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somewhere over there, S.E. PA
Posts: 243
Default

I think one of the RC Helicopeter magazines ran a "how to" article on this last fall. RCHeli October 2008?
__________________
.
Member of "The Seldom Seen R/C Racing Team"

RC10L (Pro 10, WGT), TC4, BMI DB12RR, Scalpel
Lee_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DuraTrax IntelliPeak ICE DC Competition Charger billwilner Radio and Electronics 1944 04-10-2014 05:23 AM
APS 3-in-1 Dyno Charge Rob Phillips Electric On-Road 268 10-17-2009 11:26 AM
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
Computer power supply semper Australian Racing 79 11-23-2007 12:35 PM
INDI 16X5v6 / Eagle CDC 6 Cole Trickle Electric On-Road 441 09-30-2007 01:50 AM
Converting a PC Power supply to use with RC Charger aN4rK1 Electric On-Road 32 03-03-2006 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net