R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2009, 01:06 PM   #16
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linger View Post
Something to consider.

Torque steer was a beotch on shaft drive cars with brushed motors. The heavy armature (large polar moment of intertia) created havoc as the armature accelerated and decelerated.

Brushless motor might be ideal for shaft drive.
The brushless motors are much lighter and most of the mass is on a smaller radius - thus a much smaller polar moment of interia. They should have a lot LESS torque steer.

Bring back shaft drive! Brushless cures torque steer.
Sounds like someone needs an EVO5 MS! :-)
Adam? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:11 PM   #17
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

Guess I need to bring the SRD4 back out of retirement this year
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:45 PM   #18
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,581
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I'm running a FT TC3 next point series. E4s will be benched until further notice.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:05 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,994
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default PM back

B18C
PM sent your way.

It does seem shafties do quite well with VTA....
cheap to run...
for those who have old benched cars easiest way to get into VTA without breaking the bank.
__________________
everything is Cause and effect
every Action has a reaction.
"I drank too much wine - I must take a p!ss"
CAUSE and EFFECT
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:11 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

I ran my EVO 5 for the first half of our indoor season and it was much quicker then my 415 but..... the 415 feels more planted through the infield and i get faster & more constisantant lap times with it. I will try the EVO again when we move outside to a bigger track...
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:47 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Honestly I think you will see belts because it allows the designers to create a design where the lipo battery sits horizontal in the chassis instead of longitudinal. Think back to the HPI RS4 Pro2, Xray FK04, or Tamiya TRF414.

Personally I think this is the answer to lipo chassis balance and also allowing for the weight limit to be lowered at the same time.

Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 04:16 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony.L View Post
Honestly I think you will see belts because it allows the designers to create a design where the lipo battery sits horizontal in the chassis instead of longitudinal. Think back to the HPI RS4 Pro2, Xray FK04, or Tamiya TRF414.

Personally I think this is the answer to lipo chassis balance and also allowing for the weight limit to be lowered at the same time.

And the answer to that is HPI's Cyber 10b 4wd buggy, otherwise known as the Cyclone D4 Sport.

http://www.redrc.net/2008/11/hot-bod...ber-10b-buggy/

The battery runs UNDER the shaft and im sure this also allows for saddle setups as well. I was informed by an HPI R&D guy i know that this will also accept many standard and hop up parts of the D4 WCE too. Now, that can be converted back down to a TC with more design refinements i bet.
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:30 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syber Serulean View Post
And the answer to that is HPI's Cyber 10b 4wd buggy, otherwise known as the Cyclone D4 Sport.
I never indicated you couldn't raise the shaft drive enough for a battery to slide underneath. That only addresses one issue. Notice on the Pro2, FK04, etc that the motor is mounted horizontal to the chassis, eliminating torque steer, and also the motor is dead center of the chassis, helping with chassis balance. With a shaft drive the motor must be on one side or the other and would have to be counter balanced by other components, not ideal.
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:36 PM   #24
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony.L View Post
I never indicated you couldn't raise the shaft drive enough for a battery to slide underneath. That only addresses one issue. Notice on the Pro2, FK04, etc that the motor is mounted horizontal to the chassis, eliminating torque steer, and also the motor is dead center of the chassis, helping with chassis balance. With a shaft drive the motor must be on one side or the other and would have to be counter balanced by other components, not ideal.
I think torque steer isnt going to be a big issue with brushless motors as Linger noted below. Plus with the motor running parallel with the drivetrain you dont have the motor hanging off the side which should make balancing easier. I suppose if you moved the servo to the battery side (would likely require a low profile servo) then you would be very close to balanced with a shaft drive car.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:46 PM   #25
Tech Adept
 
Rob Burns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syber Serulean View Post
And the answer to that is HPI's Cyber 10b 4wd buggy, otherwise known as the Cyclone D4 Sport.

http://www.redrc.net/2008/11/hot-bod...ber-10b-buggy/

The battery runs UNDER the shaft and im sure this also allows for saddle setups as well. I was informed by an HPI R&D guy i know that this will also accept many standard and hop up parts of the D4 WCE too. Now, that can be converted back down to a TC with more design refinements i bet.
Don't they already have that with the Pro-D?

__________________
www.RCOttawa.com
Rob Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:55 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Burns View Post
Don't they already have that with the Pro-D?

i totally forgot about that car lol. Its not available in the US, at least not through any HPI US distributors or HPI USA themselves.

I wonder how well that car will do in onroad races (non-drift). Hmm...
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:58 PM   #27
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: minn
Posts: 440
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Jari`s chassis are awsome. I had a lcg of his and it was great on carpet. I`m using a bd chassis of his at this time
__________________
TcORC president
Yokomo bd7 sedan, bd7 usgt
Roche rapide p12
magnum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 01:10 AM   #28
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 262
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Burns View Post
Don't they already have that with the Pro-D?

That's a very interesting chassis. I like the layout with the battery running across the chassis and the motor mid mounted.
__________________
DM1-S Tekin 2650Kv
MTX-3 MR .12
TA05 IFS-R Tekin 17.5
TA03R Cirtix 17.5 club spec
F109 Tekin 21.5
danketchpel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 06:57 AM   #29
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

As much as I liked using the tc3, I was over driving it and killing arms and uprights in stock. I got too used to what power I had.

You only have to have some unfriendly track boards and it was game over when the tyre came into contact with the apex (and you can still be carrying too much speed at the apex of any corner) so the car had no "give" in it.

Switching over the a ta05, i've had very little issues at all for a few years, I can get away with a few board taps now and then and it seems to feel very little less responsive than the tc3 did.

It seems you are more likely to bend a hinge pin with the ta05, but with the tc3, you could bend the pin and do other damage too.

I also think it took a lot less effort to get the drivetrain very free on the ta05 over the tc3.

Yes, the answer is not to board tap in the first place, but my guess is that the tc3 is heavier than the '05, so that's why I was over driving it.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 12:03 PM   #30
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Right, my thoughts on this. I run 10.5 and run a highly modded TA05 and a TB03 (plastic Evo 5). Now, lap after lap, the TA05 is the faster car over a full 5 minutes race. The TB-03, if you can control the torque steer coming out of left hand corners, is a faster car, over one flying lap (0.5 second indoors on foams), but it is soooo hard to keep it on the pace, as you are constantly fighting the torque, it is hard.

But in stock, they are awesome, as there is less torque involved.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net