R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-19-2006, 08:22 PM   #12391
Tech Fanatic
 
Sushi Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to Sushi Man
Default

Hey Guys When I bought this car it didnt come with stabilizers.. Just wondering If i would need them

I race at 2 track
Asphalt HIGH GRIP , little bumpy
Carpet HIGH GRIP OZITE, TINY TINY bumps..

Both are tight tracks and small tracks

Thanks
Sushi Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 08:31 PM   #12392
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trf_racer
Yes, I agree that rubber tires should always to be used on electric cars. Foam is only for 1/12 scale and nitro.

Agreed...!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Man
Hey Guys When I bought this car it didnt come with stabilizers.. Just wondering If i would need them

I race at 2 track
Asphalt HIGH GRIP , little bumpy
Carpet HIGH GRIP OZITE, TINY TINY bumps..

Both are tight tracks and small tracks

Thanks.
You race using rubber or foams?? Which car are you refering? The standard 415 or the MS or the MSX??
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 09:31 PM   #12393
Tech Fanatic
 
Sushi Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to Sushi Man
Default

Oh sorry.. Im running STOCK and maybe 19t soon... RUBBER

and I run the old susension (original 415) with 3 mm chassis and i took the sides of the stiffners all off (the 4 blue things)
Sushi Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 10:23 PM   #12394
Tech Rookie
 
squeege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

i need some foam tire set ups for the 415 msx preferebly w front diff and indoor carpet
squeege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 10:26 PM   #12395
Tech Fanatic
 
Sushi Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to Sushi Man
Default

I ve heard that the old suspension (TA04) works better for foams rather than the new light weight/... again thats wat IVE been TOLD.
Sushi Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 10:43 PM   #12396
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Man
I ve heard that the old suspension (TA04) works better for foams rather than the new light weight/... again thats wat IVE been TOLD.

I think the old suspension is good for carpet is due to people are runnning foams on carpet.

For rubber,I think the new susp works better,and without the stiffeners for racing asphalt.
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 05:57 AM   #12397
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 131
Default

So last night I put evrything back to normal (suspension blocks) as per manual.
Anyone have a setup I can borrow to start with?? what settings? Is caster adjustable?
natskiboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 08:12 AM   #12398
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

I dont know how, but i found a set of 2 deg caster blocks in my tool box last night. I check out pics of the Pro-4 ones and they look like they are pro-4 ones. I know its mentioned somewhere in this thread (couldnt find it) but what extra hardware do i need to use these blocks? will they bolt inplace of the Tamiya ones? Thought id ask before stripping the front end! Thanks guys.
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 08:34 AM   #12399
Tech Fanatic
 
m8commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brentwood Estates, CA
Posts: 942
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axle182
I dont know how, but i found a set of 2 deg caster blocks in my tool box last night. I check out pics of the Pro-4 ones and they look like they are pro-4 ones. I know its mentioned somewhere in this thread (couldnt find it) but what extra hardware do i need to use these blocks? will they bolt inplace of the Tamiya ones? Thought id ask before stripping the front end! Thanks guys.
Read post #12364, your going to have to use the Pro4 arms & hinge pins to use the castor blocks.
__________________
JAF RACING / AIRTRONICS
m8commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 08:39 AM   #12400
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KilRuf
No, the outter hinge pins are different diameter. You'd have to use the Pro4 suspension arm if you wanted to use the castor blocks. The inner hinge pin for both the Pro4 and 415 is 3mm diameter....
which is larger diametre? the Pro4 outer hinge pin or the Tamiya? if the Tamiya is the larger diametre, i might try to widen the hinge pin hole on the HPI caster blocks so i can use 2 deg caster.
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 08:43 AM   #12401
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 131
Default

So bottomline, the stock 415 doesnt have caster adjustment
natskiboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 08:52 AM   #12402
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

I beleive there is Tamiya 2 deg caster blocks. Im trying to use the Pro 4 ones on my 415 as the HIP blocks came with the car for some reason. It also came with that fancy alloy ball diff, just the halves. I finally got it working fine with Tamiya parts and a AE diff spring (Tamiya one was too long). Ive heard its supposed to have blades also (which i dont have) so the dog bone ends are covered in AW grease, and the car is only running in stock so hopefully it wont damage anything. We have a big race meeting here this weekend (drive down to it later today) and didnt have time to order in any parts

Im wanting to try different caster settings, trying to get a free and balanced feel on carpet with foams.
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 08:59 AM   #12403
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Has anyone actually fitted the full pro 4 suspension to the 415? If so, do you need all different dogbones and axles etc, or can you just use the std 415 ones?
I know Reinhard was surposed to have done it, but wondered if any of you guys had. Seems a more viable route than buying all the parts to convert the std 415 suspension over to the LW stuff due to availability of parts in the UK.

Cheers
Dan Chambers
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 09:04 AM   #12404
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axle182
which is larger diametre? the Pro4 outer hinge pin or the Tamiya? if the Tamiya is the larger diametre, i might try to widen the hinge pin hole on the HPI caster blocks so i can use 2 deg caster.
Pro4 hinge pins : 1.5mm
Tamiya LW hinge pins : 1.6mm...

BUT tamiya does make 2 C-Hubs for the LW suspension as well as 4 ones.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 09:04 AM   #12405
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natskiboy
So bottomline, the stock 415 doesnt have caster adjustment
As said above, there are 2 and 4 C-Hubs for the LW suspension.

For the std suspension, there are 6 and 4 hubs.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAMIYA TRF415 Xray XB8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 04-04-2008 08:50 PM
Tamiya TRF415 Crashmaster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-13-2006 04:48 PM
Tamiya TRF415 MS NIB koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2005 07:28 AM
F/S Tamiya TRF415 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 06-10-2005 09:02 PM
Tamiya Evo IV or TRF415 TheDevil Electric On-Road 23 10-15-2004 07:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net