Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Old 03-04-2004, 10:44 PM
  #1066  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
KREATOR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,714
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default TRF 415 owner

Originally posted by Windtalkers
can't wait for mine to arrive........
Windtalkers, You must be the 1st to get the 415 in Malaysia.!!!!
KREATOR1 is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 10:53 PM
  #1067  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I just had some pink Deans wire laying around... so I used it.. Also, how do you like my decased transponder! Yeah, it's that white thingy on the servo. I have 2.. one for my 1/12th. And one for my TC. Well my TC transponder stopped working. Found out that one of the wires broke inside the insulation near the case. So it was a hard problem to find. Ended up ripping the casing off the transponder and just resolding the thing. Saved me $60 from getting a new ponder!

I think I'll shrink wrap the wires instead of zip tying them. Should make it neater. Now I just have to hook up the cap and install the diode to the motor and I'm set. Oh... darn... forgot about a body...
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 11:03 PM
  #1068  
Tech Elite
 
Windtalkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Johor Bahru
Posts: 2,399
Default

if i tell u, i gotta eliminate u!!!!! heheheheh.......

Originally posted by horniez
hey windie,

how much are you paying for it?
it's every man's dream dude!
Windtalkers is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 11:20 PM
  #1069  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Originally posted by viper1
Great looking car man,

Actually the grey shocks are flourine coated (pardon the spelling if it is wrong) whereas the blue shocks are the normal ones.

Changing to the blue shocks will be a downgrade not an upgrade.

Cheers
The blue ones are flourine coated too (says so on the box).
jeffreylin is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 12:05 AM
  #1070  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default Weight

I just finished building the 415. The car is very quiet compare to other belt cars and the transmission seems to be quite free. I also weighted the car. Compare to my similarily equipped EVO3 Surikarn, the 415 is about 40g lighter.
jeffreylin is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 01:08 AM
  #1071  
T-man
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I got mine yesterday and started building in the evening. My question is : Is it possible to adjust the belt-tension without removing the whole bulkheads from the chassis?

I used to have a Pro2 and can remember this as a p..n in the .ss.
 
Old 03-05-2004, 01:32 AM
  #1072  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Originally posted by T-man
I got mine yesterday and started building in the evening. My question is : Is it possible to adjust the belt-tension without removing the whole bulkheads from the chassis?

I used to have a Pro2 and can remember this as a p..n in the .ss.
I don't think so. I just went through the same thing as I thought the kit setting for the rear was too lose. I tried different things but ended up removing the bulkhead from the chassis at the end.
jeffreylin is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 03:20 AM
  #1073  
T-man
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This is what i thought . Well great looking car, lets wait how it drives.
 
Old 03-05-2004, 08:58 AM
  #1074  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

jeff... im seeing the same thing. rear belt looks like it 1-2 notches too loose. i think ill adjust it tonight. front belt looks like i can adjust it and tighten it one notch also.

also.. question for you guys. i got all the blue hopups for my shocks... the bottom cap, top cap, threaded collar.. BUT.. the top portion that is usually snapped into place (dont know the name of the part) i have the alum. hopup for. do these get bolted into place? similar to yokomo and alex racing shocks? see picture below. the part i circled is the part im talking about.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 09:57 AM
  #1075  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 479
Default

Blue shocks arent flourine coated?! are you sure?! wow , wonder why surikarn was using them..
Evo_Uk is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:11 AM
  #1076  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 230
Default Fluorine shocks

Let me try and clear up this confusion:

There are some blue trf shocks which are aluminium and not fluorine coated. These are found on the 414M2.

Then Tamiya released the fluorine coated shocks which are dark grey and found on the 414M wcr/evo 3/415.

Tamiya have also release shocks which have fluorine coated bodies, and blue end caps. These are sold as a hopup and are called Blue (or red) TRF fluorine coated shocks.

Hebiki - yes the aluminium top end need to be bolted on to the shock tower. It should come with all of the necessary hardware.
g4t2 is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:13 AM
  #1077  
Tech Regular
 
Hardriven RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aartselaar Belgium
Posts: 345
Default

Originally posted by Hebiki
jeff... im seeing the same thing. rear belt looks like it 1-2 notches too loose. i think ill adjust it tonight. front belt looks like i can adjust it and tighten it one notch also.

also.. question for you guys. i got all the blue hopups for my shocks... the bottom cap, top cap, threaded collar.. BUT.. the top portion that is usually snapped into place (dont know the name of the part) i have the alum. hopup for. do these get bolted into place? similar to yokomo and alex racing shocks? see picture below. the part i circled is the part im talking about.
With Tamiya's this is never bolted. It stays in place due to the mebrane in the shock (you know, the boler hat) Don't worry about it not screwing on, it will never move if you build the shocks correctly.

Regards
Hardriven RC is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:15 AM
  #1078  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hebiki

The part you are looking for to mount those are 53488 the adjustable ball connectors and you would need 2 packages to mount the shocks.


The blue shocks are not fluorine coated. If you look at the blue and red shock kits the bodies are still the normal color and the rest is red or blue.
tiggersz is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:24 AM
  #1079  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

ill build the shocks tonight and post tomorrow. ill need to show the tamiya guys. hopefully its TCS legal.

first time ive seen TRF shocks that need the top portion to be bolted on.

will post pictures later.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:28 AM
  #1080  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Come on guys lol. Any way you look at it, your still using some pretty damn smooth shocks. BTW, the textured shock top and bottom pieces are really nice, makes it easier for them to screw on. Also, the aluminum color with o-ring locks in the spring setting. I don't run the aluminum top hat thingy as I believe it adds weight when coupled with the connecting hardware that you need to add. Also, I use the plastic spring retainers (again weight savings). But if you want bling bling.....
rtypec is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.