Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Reply

Old 09-08-2005, 09:48 AM
  #9991  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,684
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mafodda
Hi to all,
can someone give me a killer setup for my MS with 26 mm. foams on outdoor asphalt ?
Or some guidelines about springs,oil,roll center,etc. ?
Ideal setup must be near setups with rubber on asphalt or similar to setups with foams on carpet ?
If you have experience with foams please help me ....
Thank you in advance to all !
Outdoor Modified TC on foams is the main class at my local tracks. I will look at my setup and make a pdf for you tonight. It's worked pretty well for me and I'm leading the points series with almost the same setup from day one.

The reality is running foams on asphault has so much traction it almost doesn't matter what your setup is....the cars just stick.
Nexus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 10:26 AM
  #9992  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acicastello,Sicily,Italy
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks, Nexus.
Mafodda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 10:36 AM
  #9993  
Tech Rookie
 
topgluer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
Default

New parts coming for 415 front spool, it's look so cool, check it out Kenon Hobby
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF415-rimg0200.jpg  
topgluer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 11:16 AM
  #9994  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
tony2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does tamiya have any setup posted on there web site for the 415? i have had a look but cant find any, probably had a man look..
tony2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 12:08 PM
  #9995  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Blue Sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 683
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Foam tires on 415

What foams is everyone using? I put on a set of Parma and the front wheel is hitting/rubbing the knuckle's servo arm big time. Thanks.
Blue Sky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 01:21 PM
  #9996  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,684
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Blue Sky
What foams is everyone using? I put on a set of Parma and the front wheel is hitting/rubbing the knuckle's servo arm big time. Thanks.
If you run the stock 415 any foam should just about work. If you use the 415MS or 415 w/ LW suspension you have to run the HPI Pro4 knuckles. That will give all the clearance you need.

I run my 415 w/ LW suspension this way and can fit Parma, TRC, Jaco, GQ, ect, ect...
Nexus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 06:10 PM
  #9997  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Burlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,285
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony2
Does tamiya have any setup posted on there web site for the 415? i have had a look but cant find any, probably had a man look..
Go to the Tamiya US website, then to the TRF Information Center. They have some setups in there.
Burlap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 06:13 PM
  #9998  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Blue Sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 683
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info Nexus.
Blue Sky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 06:28 PM
  #9999  
Tech Addict
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Default

Do the pro 4 knuckles use the same bearings as the tamiya ones? Also are they a good choice for repacement if you cant get the tamiya ones?
Neil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 08:25 PM
  #10000  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

If I'm not wrong,the bearing used on the pro4 knuckles are larger than the Tamiya.Meaning that its heavier,but on the plus side its more enduring than the tamiya ones.

SOmeone verify my statement for me...Thanks...
Ben.C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 08:42 PM
  #10001  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Jack2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes, the Pro 4 hubs use a larger bearing.
Jack2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 08:46 PM
  #10002  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Originally Posted by Jack2
Yes, the Pro 4 hubs use a larger bearing.

Thanks Jack for verifying that for me.
Ben.C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 08:48 PM
  #10003  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,684
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Neil
Do the pro 4 knuckles use the same bearings as the tamiya ones? Also are they a good choice for repacement if you cant get the tamiya ones?
You will need 5x10 bearings.

So yes they are larger and probably a bit more durable then the stock setup. I've heard that other racers are using them even if they don't run foams to get a bit more steering and/or durability.
Nexus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 09:15 PM
  #10004  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

I know some of the TRF drivers uses them.

Do they really give that much more steering??Do they use it when they use a spool or the normal front one way??

Thanks for any info.
Ben.C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 02:43 AM
  #10005  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,341
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I do believe that David Spashett and Adam Rogers used them at the KO GP, and Marc R at the euros used the Pro4 Hubs. If you look at there cars, the steering links are in the rearward holes, whilst the hubs themselves distinctly look like the pro4 ones.
Actually waiting on response to the Q about the advantage of them...
HiH
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service