Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Reply

Old 09-05-2005, 10:03 PM
  #9976  
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Default

Thanks for the suggestions.

I was running my car outside and the car went into a curb at low speeds. I was suprised as nothing broke. Only the strapping tape came off and the plastic servo horn I took out of my RS4 3 shattered.

I was surprised as I found out there was no built in servo saver for this car.

I guess I'll just go with a Kimborough one.
DOMOisCOOL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 10:09 PM
  #9977  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,984
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Get the Kimbrough medium servo saver, much better than the std Tamiya one, which causes the car to wander when it starts to wear.
Besercoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 01:36 AM
  #9978  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

It seems that everyone likes the Kimbrough servo safer.

The Tamiya servo safer simply SUX...
Ben.C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 01:50 AM
  #9979  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
MrTamiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 213
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've set the Kimbrough servo saver on my car offset, so the outer top hole is vertical with the servo spline. This gives a little more travel on the steering if required. (similar to Evo 4)
MrTamiya is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 02:49 AM
  #9980  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Jack2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I also use a kimbrough servo saver, great quality and its about $8 AUD from my LHS.
Jack2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 03:59 AM
  #9981  
Tech Apprentice
 
Superdate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockdale, Australia
Posts: 64
Default Question above servo mount on 415

i got a servo that worked on evo4 before, therefore one side of the servo was cut to fit into the chassis. and now want to use it on 415, but not sure whether it can be mounted on 415 or not, please give me some advise.
and i found on some pics that 415 has 2 different types of servo mount, which one comes in the original kit (58320)?
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF415-100_0099.jpg  
Superdate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 04:05 AM
  #9982  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,341
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

croy; Just email them, stating you would like to order the kit. They'll put it all on back order, for when it comes released

DOMOisCOOL; Kimborough all the way... the std tam one is very very poor, develops lots of slop very quickly.

Superdate; that servo should be fine, as they mount the other way round in the 415. (your cut lug will be up top, with the horn to the left, facing forwards)

HiH
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 04:11 AM
  #9983  
Tech Apprentice
 
Superdate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockdale, Australia
Posts: 64
Default Pic

forgot to post the pics i found, as shown on the pics, there are 2 different types of servo mount, one is long which my servo can fit on while the other one is short and my servo cant stay on. are they both available in one kit? or have to buy seperate?
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF415-58320_2.jpg   Tamiya TRF415-header_1.jpg  
Superdate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 04:28 AM
  #9984  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,341
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The long one comes with the kit.

HiH
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 07:15 AM
  #9985  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hmmmmm, maybe I should get rid of my Tamiya one then. In all honesty, I've had no issues with the Tamiya servo saver. Having said that, I've never used another brand's one, so maybe I'll try out the Kimbrough.
F. Alonso is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 08:57 AM
  #9986  
Tech Initiate
 
AKARA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -Joey Ellis-
Posts: 41
Default

Kimbrough all the way when I am racing 1/8.(Plus must show suport when racing with Scott Kimbrough at the track, haha). Anyway, I use the KO solid servo horn with the silver ring for my TRF415. I stop using the TAMIYA ones after one time at the Nationals, TAMIYA HQ in So-Cal. Just like the past post say, slop!
AKARA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 09:34 AM
  #9987  
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Originally Posted by Superdate
forgot to post the pics i found, as shown on the pics, there are 2 different types of servo mount, one is long which my servo can fit on while the other one is short and my servo cant stay on. are they both available in one kit? or have to buy seperate?
I don't know where you found that second picture, but it's nowhere near a std TRF415 kit anyway. It loks like a picture of the first prototype (from the shape of the shock towers) and they hadn't defined the full specs for the car yet.

As said earlier, your servo will be fine with what's provided with the car.

Oh and, Ive been using Kimbrough SS ever since I've used Tamiyas TRF series cars (back in the TRF414 days, only 5 yrs ago, lol). Wouldn't use anything else, maybe a std servo horn, but only outdoors not indoors.
TRF415boy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 06:47 PM
  #9988  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Burlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,285
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by F. Alonso
Hmmmmm, maybe I should get rid of my Tamiya one then. In all honesty, I've had no issues with the Tamiya servo saver. Having said that, I've never used another brand's one, so maybe I'll try out the Kimbrough.
Give me a yell when you do, and I'll grab one at the same time.
Burlap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2005, 04:59 PM
  #9989  
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Hi
To all that have that have kindly purchased Cool-Can-Fan's for their cars. We now have a NEW L K website
Cheers Malc (The-Cool-Can-Fan-Man)
www.coolcanfan.com
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 09:25 AM
  #9990  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acicastello,Sicily,Italy
Posts: 42
Default

Hi to all,
can someone give me a killer setup for my MS with 26 mm. foams on outdoor asphalt ?
Or some guidelines about springs,oil,roll center,etc. ?
Ideal setup must be near setups with rubber on asphalt or similar to setups with foams on carpet ?
If you have experience with foams please help me ....
Thank you in advance to all !
Mafodda is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service