R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2005, 03:24 PM   #7666
Tech Addict
 
Blue Sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Blue Sky
Default

Hi Korey,

The play I'm referring to is not the axial direction, but more in the radial direction. Seems like the housing for the bearing in the upright has a larger diameter than the bearing itself.

R
Blue Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 10:07 PM   #7667
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

ooooooooh. Maybe take a q tip and put some glu on it. Then swab the inside of the carrerier where the bearuing sits. Then let that dry, it should give a tigher fit......

-Korey
__________________
Xray - RC America - Hudy - Apex RC - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - RC Mission America - SpeedZombi - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 08:15 AM   #7668
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Stokes, NC
Posts: 6,512
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default axle slop

I have had the same problem with slop in the hub carrier to bearings. I am going to try and reamove it too. Shims wont do it... Anyone?
__________________
Team and Sales Manager for USRC Imports, home of Sworkz! Looking for drivers for 2017-2018, KingMax Servos www.kingmaxhobby.com Gens Ace www.gensace.com, MIP www.miponline.com,Schelle , WWW. Schelleracing.com, Slavich Designs, GARCIA GRAPHIX

CHECK OUT GARCIA GRAPHIX ON FACEBOOK -LOOKING FOR 2017 TEAM DRIVER'S!
Raul Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 08:52 AM   #7669
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default Re: axle slop

Quote:
Originally posted by Raul Garcia
I have had the same problem with slop in the hub carrier to bearings. I am going to try and reamove it too. Shims wont do it... Anyone?
I run the 0' alloy hubs , the combination of the new hubs and different bearings has helped eliminate a good percentage of the slop.
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 11:23 AM   #7670
Tech Addict
 
KDagh1's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 520
Send a message via AIM to KDagh1 Send a message via MSN to KDagh1
Default Battery mounting

Has anybody here had any problems with the battery coming out when taped in? I have not built my car yet, but on my EVO III, I always had trouble running with tape as the battery would get loose and shift in the chassis. I do NOT want that to happen with this car. Any advice?

Khal
KDagh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 12:19 PM   #7671
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default Re: Battery mounting

Quote:
Originally posted by KDagh1
Has anybody here had any problems with the battery coming out when taped in? I have not built my car yet, but on my EVO III, I always had trouble running with tape as the battery would get loose and shift in the chassis. I do NOT want that to happen with this car. Any advice?

Khal
if you have filed & used CA on the slots you should not have a problem. I have also had good luck with the Xenon tape at Speetech.

http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...nid=395&id=836

hope this helps
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 12:27 PM   #7672
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Blue Sky-- Another method that you can use besides Johnny's $$$ option is to use Thread lock. I like the Tamiya because it is thicker than any of the usual suspects and does not run or pool in the hub.
As for method apply a thin bead around the outer diameter of both bearings then set into place with the usual shims on the axles let them set for about an hour and you should find most if not all the slop taken out. This works with both the alum and the stock graphite rear hubs.
__________________
UF1 Seattle - SPEEDWERKES - VBC Racing - Team ORCA
Difuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 12:29 PM   #7673
Tech Addict
 
Blue Sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Blue Sky
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Difuser
Blue Sky-- Another method that you can use besides Johnny's $$$ option is to use Thread lock. I like the Tamiya because it is thicker than any of the usual suspects and does not run or pool in the hub.
As for method apply a thin bead around the outer diameter of both bearings then set into place with the usual shims on the axles let them set for about an hour and you should find most if not all the slop taken out. This works with both the alum and the stock graphite rear hubs.
Thanks I'll give that a shot.
Blue Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 01:01 PM   #7674
Tech Addict
 
KDagh1's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 520
Send a message via AIM to KDagh1 Send a message via MSN to KDagh1
Default

madjack,

Thanks for the tip. On my evo iii, I did file the slots and i was using CA, but I'll try again on the 415.

Khal
KDagh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 02:29 PM   #7675
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Huy guys,
thank for the tips rocky5
nice website tryhard


I've got a another questiono you think that it is essential to roll with the light wheigt suspension kit in exterior track?

thank you
ciao
zzlio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 05:25 PM   #7676
Tech Adept
 
pookat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: u.k.
Posts: 112
Default

Well Ed, it was pointless trying to keep that one quiet then!
pookat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 08:16 PM   #7677
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Randy Caster

YGPM!
__________________
Tamiya Track Local. 10,000 Watts of power! ($5 donations for gas appreciated)
Proud Father of GT-1 Past Champion!"Hey, I got to go to Japan too!
FF03,TA-05V2 ,EVO-6,TA-07,TRF419W,EXOTEK-6
"Tamiya Racer to Infinity and Beyond!"
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2005, 11:57 AM   #7678
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,284
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pookat
Well Ed, it was pointless trying to keep that one quiet then!
I assume your refering to a certain Mr Spashett...

I tried... but as the news is out now, I guess there's no problem talking about it.
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | MuchMore |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2005, 12:21 PM   #7679
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KDagh1
madjack,

Thanks for the tip. On my evo iii, I did file the slots and i was using CA, but I'll try again on the 415.

Khal
I still eject a pack from time to time too. What I do is in addition to the normal tape method, I also come up and over the side of the pack with 3 strips over each battery bar as well. Works well, I just go thru tape faster.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2005, 01:46 PM   #7680
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

The 415 was the first car that I ever had to use strapping tape for. At first the tape kept breaking causing my batteries to fly. Then i realized that i didn't file the slot where the tape runs through the chassis. After doing that, the tape no longer broke but i was still loosing batteries.
I have currently resolved the problem and have not lost a battery in a long time. I actually like using stapiing tape now as it is lighter than using a battery brace and posts.
I make sure i use good quality tape...tape ment for this application. I also use more tape than most making sure that when the tape comes out of the chassis and over the first cell, it is long enough to reach the last cell in the pack. The big thing that i have found is that the batteries do not always lay flat on the chassis. Using discharge tray's and handling them can cause them to "warp" or no longer be flat (lay your packs on a table and look at them..you may ber suprised). When taping my batteries I make sure that I press all the cells to the chassis so the battery is flat. Once the battery is taped down, there shoul be no air between the individual cells and the chassis. There should be no play whatsoever in the pack.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAMIYA TRF415 Xray XB8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 04-04-2008 08:50 PM
Tamiya TRF415 Crashmaster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-13-2006 04:48 PM
Tamiya TRF415 MS NIB koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2005 07:28 AM
F/S Tamiya TRF415 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 06-10-2005 09:02 PM
Tamiya Evo IV or TRF415 TheDevil Electric On-Road 23 10-15-2004 07:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:10 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net