R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2005, 02:42 PM   #7411
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 7
tweaking chassis

Anyone else have a problem with the chassis tweaking? Every run I take the wheels off and place the car on a flat board. Almost every time there's a slight twist. It's not like I bounce it off the walls, this is only from kerb clipping.
I was suprised at the amount of play in the top deck holes as well. Is that normal? Could that be the problem?
Any feedback greatfully received.
btw, it's the original 415,

Richard
urbanfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 02:53 PM   #7412
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

the "play" won"t change anything. You need to tighten your screws better.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 03:06 PM   #7413
Tech Elite
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

In regards to the tweaking issue. Try loosening all upper and mid deck screws as well as the four screws for each shocktower. Put the chassis on a flat setup board and tighten the deck screws first. Then tighten the shock tower screws. Sometimes the shock towers can get tweaked and coupled with how they are mounted to the bulkheads which in turn is mounted to the lower chassis can put a tweak in your chassis even though you don't hit anything. I hope this helps.
rtypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 03:37 PM   #7414
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

I have never had a problem with chassis tweaking on a 415. I have heard of several people having the problem however. I run a double top deck however and they may help with the chassis tweaking.
You could have a bad chassis. This is rare but i have seen it happen.
I think the main thing is on how you assemble the car.
Personally, I tighten all screws in a gradual pattern....meaning that I do not put one screw in, torque it down and then install another. For instance, with the bulkheads, I linstall all the screws loosly then tighen them all slowely in a star shaped pattern.
Or try what some of us old Schumacher guys used to do: Place the car unside down (on it's shock towers) on a set-up board. Loosen all the screws on the underside of the car and then tighten each screw slowley (make more than one pass on each screw meaning tighten every screw a little and then tighten each screw a little more) in a star shaped pattern. This should let the chassis lay flat when you retighten.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 04:17 PM   #7415
Tech Regular
 
DickemDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Strong Beach
Posts: 290
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Re: tweaking chassis

Quote:
Originally posted by urbanfox
Anyone else have a problem with the chassis tweaking? Every run I take the wheels off and place the car on a flat board. Almost every time there's a slight twist. It's not like I bounce it off the walls, this is only from kerb clipping.
I was suprised at the amount of play in the top deck holes as well. Is that normal? Could that be the problem?
Any feedback greatfully received.
btw, it's the original 415,

Richard
i had the same problem, and solved it w/ rod's (rtypec) method. i'd listen to him, he knows what he's talking about. when you start loosening the screws, you can see the parts start settling in. besides, i got the same advice from some of the faster guys @ socal : ertrachter, bitter, edgar fiallos - btw, big thanks, edgar for the tips.

even barely clipping a dot and the car gets tweaked.

it might seem like a lot of trouble, but i absolutely love drive this car.
DickemDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 05:20 PM   #7416
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: KAI PARTS

Quote:
Originally posted by g4t2
Hi Dave (or anyone else in japan), I'm going to Tokyo in may and would like to know if any shops in Tokyo stock Kai parts for the 415? thanks
They usually deal direct.... via e-mail or they have a small.. very small shop/house in Sitama Japan.... Or your can pay BiG BuCkS for it here in the States .... not that it's that much cheaper in Japan
-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 05:21 PM   #7417
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randy Caster
Did you read my post about raising the diff? It will put the pins more straight with the diff and help with the wear issue.
I look back for that post thanks
-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC

Last edited by JDM_DOHC_SiR; 02-23-2005 at 01:34 AM.
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 08:04 PM   #7418
Tech Elite
 
Customworksking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Springfield ILLINOIS
Posts: 3,638
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default randy c

I got my x blocks today what setup worked for you I looked back and back and back didn't find it
__________________
Team Xray | RC America| Hudy |Jaco |AKA
Customworksking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 09:51 PM   #7419
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default Re: KAI PARTS

Quote:
Originally posted by g4t2
Hi Dave (or anyone else in japan), I'm going to Tokyo in may and would like to know if any shops in Tokyo stock Kai parts for the 415? thanks
did see that Speedtech in the states has received a second shipment
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 12:46 AM   #7420
Tech Master
 
KREATOR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,706
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to KREATOR1
Default

can a Ta04 lightweight diff joint be used in 415?
KREATOR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 01:21 AM   #7421
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Georgia repin the 30269
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FW05R
dude how much?
I might be new to this game, but why do you need to spend money on a spool if you can just tighten the differential?
newbee_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 01:28 AM   #7422
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default Re: randy c

Quote:
Originally posted by Customworksking
I got my x blocks today what setup worked for you I looked back and back and back didn't find it
Sorry, I have been busy over the weekend with work, and I'm going to be gone on vacation until Friday. I'm going to take my laptop and hope I can use it at my hotel, but I'll get the setup over to TryHard to put on a sheet.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 01:29 AM   #7423
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by newbee_racer
I might be new to this game, but why do you need to spend money on a spool if you can just tighten the differential?
A tight diff and a spool are 2 different things...
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 01:34 AM   #7424
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Georgia repin the 30269
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randy Caster
A tight diff and a spool are 2 different things...
You're right they are different, one cost money, while the other needs an adjustment. I read somewhere that you can just lock your diffs yourself... cheaper!
newbee_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 01:59 AM   #7425
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by newbee_racer
You're right they are different, one cost money, while the other needs an adjustment. I read somewhere that you can just lock your diffs yourself... cheaper!
If you tighten your diff to where it's completely locked, you will break your diff screw. No tight diff will be the same as a completely locked axle.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAMIYA TRF415 Xray XB8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 04-04-2008 08:50 PM
Tamiya TRF415 Crashmaster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-13-2006 04:48 PM
Tamiya TRF415 MS NIB koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2005 07:28 AM
F/S Tamiya TRF415 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 06-10-2005 09:02 PM
Tamiya Evo IV or TRF415 TheDevil Electric On-Road 23 10-15-2004 07:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net