R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2004, 04:31 PM   #5761
Tech Adept
 
Leini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Frankfurt/ Germany
Posts: 105
Default

v12, i hope i can answer this sunday evening....rollcenter (i dont know if it is called rollcenter what changes with the new parts...) is 2mm higher...i dont know-i'll try....
Leini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 04:54 PM   #5762
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to ngo8
Default Re: 415 on carpet with foams...

Quote:
Originally posted by koabich
For all you guys wondering about if the 415 is a good with foams on carpet...THIS CAR IS A MONSTER!!

It was terrible with the wrong set-up (as most cars are). But with the correct set-up, it is just plain incredible.

I am currently performing some minor tweaks to the set-up and will post it if anyone is interested!

I have always been slower when compared to the fastest A-main guys, at our track, by about .25 seconds. We race on Friday nights. While I did not race, I ran during the day. On Saturday, I went in to the track to check the laptimes and I was faster, on average of .1 seconds, than the A-Main guys that raced that night. I was running the stock belts and they were set extremely tight and my motor had 5 packs through it and I was using average batteries. Needless to say I was shocked as to how fast this car was and in the fact that my lap times are always faster when I race than when I practice. So my times should have been faster if I had raced.
But not only was I faster, I was so much more consistant with the 415 over my TC3.

My car is basically a stock 415. I have an aluminum front diff and locked center pulley. That's really it. Oh yeah, for added stiffness, I superglued 2 top decks together to help reduce flex.

I will post the set-up if anyone is interested!

I would stay away from the MS if you intend to race on carpet. You need the thicker chassis and the stock suspension!!
hey man if you have any kind of set up please help us i am having a hell of time with mine really a hard car to set up for carpet with foams i have the front jorgen diff i am using the corally blades and there is no wear on them at all and ivebeen running them for 2 months .
__________________
Xray|ORCA|Sanwa|Trinity|KoPropo
ngo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 09:53 PM   #5763
Tech Master
 
FW-05RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TCR
I'm saying first shipment, Tamiya said they would be very limited.

for the price of 459.95
I dont know.

I'm just saying Ultimate has them in stock if people are looking for them.

I dont know who else has them in stock
so are you saying that the first batch of 415 MS will differ from the ones after it? What exactly do you mean by "Tamiya said they would be very limited."
FW-05RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 10:04 PM   #5764
Tech Regular
 
razzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Crappy MN weather!
Posts: 426
Send a message via Yahoo to razzo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FW05R
so are you saying that the first batch of 415 MS will differ from the ones after it? What exactly do you mean by "Tamiya said they would be very limited."
I think he's trying to say 'first shipment quantity is limited (not many being imported on first shipment), so it might be hard to get one?' I kinda ripped into him about it on earlier post.. but I find it hard to beleive Tamiya would only import 50 units on first shipment...

Can anyone verify?? DJ's been sighted over in Evo4 thread, may be he can come here and clear it up.

Personally, running on carpet with foams, can't imagine switching over to MS anytime soon, it's already up to all MS specs, minus chassis/LW suspension. This car is absolutely ballistic on foams. Who would've though.. good Tamiya foam car?
razzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 10:11 PM   #5765
Tech Regular
 
razzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Crappy MN weather!
Posts: 426
Send a message via Yahoo to razzo
Default

considering you can buld a front diff with Yok parts, for less then $20 + $12 for CVD bones, why spend $75 on aluminum outdrives with questionable longetivity? I've been using the Yok front diff, running on carpet for past 1 1/2 month, and it doesn't even need a rebuild yet, and outdrives still look new. Also it's LOT ligher then any aluminum diff.. less rotating mass. I looked into Jurgen's diffs, before building the Yok ones, but couldn't figure out why spend the $$ for it..
razzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 10:56 PM   #5766
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to ngo8
Default

when i bought mine the yok diff wasnt discovered yet
__________________
Xray|ORCA|Sanwa|Trinity|KoPropo
ngo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 10:57 PM   #5767
Tech Master
 
BlackKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northside San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,335
Default

I found a worn-out XRay T1 spool at my track a month ago and recently tried to fit it into my 415. It fit perfectly!

This makes me wonder if the diff from an XRay will fit into a 415
BlackKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 11:45 PM   #5768
Tech Master
 
FW-05RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by razzo
I think he's trying to say 'first shipment quantity is limited (not many being imported on first shipment), so it might be hard to get one?' I kinda ripped into him about it on earlier post.. but I find it hard to beleive Tamiya would only import 50 units on first shipment...

Can anyone verify?? DJ's been sighted over in Evo4 thread, may be he can come here and clear it up.

Personally, running on carpet with foams, can't imagine switching over to MS anytime soon, it's already up to all MS specs, minus chassis/LW suspension. This car is absolutely ballistic on foams. Who would've though.. good Tamiya foam car?
thx for your response razzo much appreciated
FW-05RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:00 AM   #5769
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,096
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BlackKat
I found a worn-out XRay T1 spool at my track a month ago and recently tried to fit it into my 415. It fit perfectly!

This makes me wonder if the diff from an XRay will fit into a 415
that's good to know! even the stock 415 bearings fits the XRay spool?
over gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:16 AM   #5770
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by razzo
I think he's trying to say 'first shipment quantity is limited (not many being imported on first shipment), so it might be hard to get one?' I kinda ripped into him about it on earlier post.. but I find it hard to beleive Tamiya would only import 50 units on first shipment...

Can anyone verify?? DJ's been sighted over in Evo4 thread, may be he can come here and clear it up.
heard it was closer to 100 units
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 05:18 AM   #5771
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Stokes, NC
Posts: 6,512
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: 415 on carpet with foams...

Quote:
Originally posted by ngo8
hey man if you have any kind of set up please help us i am having a hell of time with mine really a hard car to set up for carpet with foams i have the front jorgen diff i am using the corally blades and there is no wear on them at all and ivebeen running them for 2 months .
Check out my post a page back or so, I posted some setup stuff there. My car runs very good on carpet, with the Dual one ways. I say, if traction allows it, run it....
__________________
Team and Sales Manager for USRC Imports, home of Sworkz! Looking for drivers for 2017-2018, KingMax Servos www.kingmaxhobby.com Gens Ace www.gensace.com, MIP www.miponline.com,Schelle , WWW. Schelleracing.com, Slavich Designs, GARCIA GRAPHIX

CHECK OUT GARCIA GRAPHIX ON FACEBOOK -LOOKING FOR 2017 TEAM DRIVER'S!
Raul Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 05:25 AM   #5772
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

i appologize if this question has been asked before.

where do you place weights on the car and how much?

i have seen people place them beside the motor and down the centre.

would it be easier to weight the motor/electronics and batteries off the car and then distribute the weight accordingly?

and as for foam tires, what size do most people run on carpet? are you required to trim down the tires?

Thanks in advance!
racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 10:12 AM   #5773
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

when you guys make your spool using the yokomo outdrives do you jus glue them together or do you glue and use then nut and bolt or jus the nut and bolt.
is the xray spool a straight fit,no mods needed?
thanks
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 10:15 AM   #5774
Tech Elite
 
Carl Giordano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Upper Saddle RIver, NJ
Posts: 2,301
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

TRF RACER: must of us use the spool made by speedtechrc. Its a direct fit.
__________________
Mugen Racing / OS Engines / KO Propo / Byron Fuels / Schuur Speed Motors / AKA / Bruckner Hobbies / Tamiya M-Chassis / Kyosho / Yokomo / 360v2 Raceway / Cruzin with RC
Carl Giordano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 10:24 AM   #5775
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Giordano
TRF RACER: must of us use the spool made by speedtechrc. Its a direct fit.
i understand that but i have the yokomo parts and have used them as a spool before but one the outdrives snapped so iam making one out of the tao4/414 oputdrives but was jus wandering how u kept them togther
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAMIYA TRF415 Xray XB8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 04-04-2008 08:50 PM
Tamiya TRF415 Crashmaster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-13-2006 04:48 PM
Tamiya TRF415 MS NIB koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2005 07:28 AM
F/S Tamiya TRF415 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 06-10-2005 09:02 PM
Tamiya Evo IV or TRF415 TheDevil Electric On-Road 23 10-15-2004 07:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net