Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Old 12-09-2004, 04:08 PM
  #5431  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Sushi Boy
Difuser had me try that at nationals. It gave more mid-exit steering if I remember correctly.

-Korey
Did you run the 415 at nationals?
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 05:49 PM
  #5432  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,657
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default evol 4 kingpin

any body got the part number for this
dawgmeat is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 05:52 PM
  #5433  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,169
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Yeah I did at paved nats. It was Difuser's car. It handled great, just had duds for handout motors.

-Korey
Korey Harbke is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 05:54 PM
  #5434  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
KREATOR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,714
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: twisting front belt

Originally posted by koabich
The belt stabilizer could be just that...stabilizes the belt so it doesn't flip over. Like I said I run my belts pretty loose, anywhere from 1-3 clicks. Most of the time I leave them on 2. If you go with the stabilizer, you will be able to loosen your belts and not have them flip!
well my stabilizer is on the way.. Will tell you if the stabilizer solve my problems..
KREATOR1 is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 07:16 PM
  #5435  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

TRF415. I call it the bridge because it has the cut out for the belt to ride under.

Randy Korey did run that there at Nats it works good but not as well as it did with the E3. It will aid turn-in. To aid turn-in I have been running around 2mm under the front link. A bridge, play with the front block A-D and .5mm kickup. I also have been running thinner and thinner oils during the summer I was 40-50 with the 3 hole piston.

To clarify the A-D helps the mid corner not neccessarily the turn-in
Difuser is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 08:16 PM
  #5436  
Tech Master
 
BlackKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northside San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,335
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: twisting front belt

Originally posted by KREATOR1
well my stabilizer is on the way.. Will tell you if the stabilizer solve my problems..
Stabilizer did crap to help my belts not flip
BlackKat is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:54 AM
  #5437  
Tech Regular
 
razzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Crappy MN weather!
Posts: 426
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: twisting front belt

Originally posted by BlackKat
Stabilizer did crap to help my belts not flip
really? I haven't fliped a belt since putting one on the car. I was running two notches on cam to tighten the belt, after it flipping on me at one notch. With stabilizer, went back to one notch and and it hasn't fliped. BTW, this is with white belts.

Last edited by razzo; 12-10-2004 at 01:24 AM.
razzo is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 01:05 AM
  #5438  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 215
Default Belt Flip

The only time I've flipped a belt is after a crash. Its happened because my battery shifted due to old tape in the car and the battery seems to be the guilty party. Maybe some people's belts have more of a twist to them than others?
Dave Kurschner is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:10 AM
  #5439  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (22)
 
Blakesrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grover Beach/Palm Desert, CA
Posts: 889
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default Belt Tightening, Notches?

Razzo and others,

When you say 2 notches, does that mean rotate the plastic pieces 2 notches forward(front long belt) from the small white mark on the bulkheads?

Thanks,

Blake
Blakesrc is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:13 AM
  #5440  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

No belt problem here either. I run 1 loose in front with the stablizer and 0 in the rear. Stock and 19T only.
jeffreylin is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:40 AM
  #5441  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 215
Default

Blakesrc - yeah. I run just one notch tighter than the center setting (lined up with white line) so its one notch past the white line. It depends on your belt.

The funny thing is the time that my belt flipped, the entire belt was inverted so it was running on the flat side. And when it flipped, my car was still going around the track pretty good. That 415 want to just keep ripping it up.
Dave Kurschner is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:50 AM
  #5442  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Sushi Boy
Yeah I did at paved nats. It was Difuser's car. It handled great, just had duds for handout motors.

-Korey
Ooh, then you already know the car, get a MS man This car is just plain pretty...
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 04:15 AM
  #5443  
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Originally posted by Difuser
TRF415. I call it the bridge because it has the cut out for the belt to ride under.

Randy Korey did run that there at Nats it works good but not as well as it did with the E3. It will aid turn-in. To aid turn-in I have been running around 2mm under the front link. A bridge, play with the front block A-D and .5mm kickup. I also have been running thinner and thinner oils during the summer I was 40-50 with the 3 hole piston.

To clarify the A-D helps the mid corner not neccessarily the turn-in
Thx, my 415 is due for X-Mas, so maybe i'll just ty it box stock at first, and then i'll see where i want to go, if i want more mid corner steering will follow your tip.
TRF415boy is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 08:17 AM
  #5444  
Tech Master
 
BlackKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northside San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,335
Default

Hmm....Belts probably streched. I'm running atleast 1 or 2 notches tight up front. Probably cause I got it used (like everything else expensive) The front D-block looked like it had been through a few stages of hell too...

I got a spare front white belt I'll replace it with...hopefully it lasts
BlackKat is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 09:40 AM
  #5445  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Hi, i was looking on speedtechrc to see if there was any more news on the 415ms and i was looking in the tamiya section of the kits and it says 'pre-orders closed' does this meen there is none left or you just need to wait for some to come into stock ?

Chazz
Chazz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.