Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Old 11-19-2004, 03:10 AM
  #4936  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 3,964
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default trf-415 testing on carpet with foam tires

Originally posted by koabich
[B]I would have done this myself but using a lower kingpin messes with the roll center of the car.
I did shave the tops off of the ball cups and so far it has been perfect. I have hit walls hard enough to bend the aluminum turnbuckles but so far I have not had a ball cup pop off because i shaved the top.]
Cool, don't want to mess with rc if I don't have to.

[B]
If you are using rear sway-bars mounted in the stock location, you WILL need spacers or else the tires will run on the sway bar mounts. Also 28mm foams will rub on the lower shock cup (where the shock end mounts to the A-arm) if the shock is mounted on the outer most hole on the front A-Arms (during turns) without spacers.]
I'll have to watch this closely. Hopefully, I don't have to run a lot of dual rate to keep the rubbing down.


I run 28MM jaco tires all around and i do not narrow them.
I use 1.5mm of spacers on each wheel. this is all that is needed to prevent rubbing, with the exception of trimming a little off of the ball cup. An a stock car the 1.5 mm worth of spacers will make the car wider than 190mm however. If you are worried about being race legal, in the front use the A/D or the A/C block combo and you will be between 188mm and 189mm.
Is the rear wider than 190mm with the 1.5 spacers and the stock block setup?

Thanks for all the information!!!
Apex is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 04:11 AM
  #4937  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,656
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: trf-415 testing on carpet with foam tires

Originally posted by koabich
I would have done this myself but using a lower kingpin messes with the roll center of the car.
I did shave the tops off of the ball cups and so far it has been perfect. I have hit walls hard enough to bend the aluminum turnbuckles but so far I have not had a ball cup pop off because i shaved the top.

If you are using rear sway-bars mounted in the stock location, you WILL need spacers or else the tires will run on the sway bar mounts. Also 28mm foams will rub on the lower shock cup (where the shock end mounts to the A-arm) if the shock is mounted on the outer most hole on the front A-Arms (during turns) without spacers

I run 28MM jaco tires all around and i do not narrow them.
I use 1.5mm of spacers on each wheel. this is all that is needed to prevent rubbing, with the exception of trimming a little off of the ball cup. An a stock car the 1.5 mm worth of spacers will make the car wider than 190mm however. If you are worried about being race legal, in the front use the A/D or the A/C block combo and you will be between 188mm and 189mm.
a/c front blocks does c come with the kit
dawgmeat is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 04:16 AM
  #4938  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (78)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Greenvill, NC
Posts: 7,112
Trader Rating: 78 (99%+)
Default 28 mm

Koabich,
since you live in the detroit area, give TM wheels a jingle, and order a set of them, they are larger OD than the Jaco's. I believe Jaco's have the smallest OD rim. You will not be dissapointed. CHeck out Dawgmeat photo, that is the rim and size.
Raul Garcia is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 06:03 AM
  #4939  
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Default Re: trf-415 testing on carpet with foam tires

Is the rear wider than 190mm with the 1.5 spacers and the stock block setup?

Thanks for all the information!!!
Yes, the rear with spacers is fine!! I belive it is exaclty 189mm.
koabich is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 06:05 AM
  #4940  
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: trf-415 testing on carpet with foam tires

Originally posted by dawgmeat
a/c front blocks does c come with the kit
If I remember correctly, you do get 1 C with the kit. The A block is an option part however and you'll need to order that seperately.
koabich is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 10:07 AM
  #4941  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,640
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Whoops! My BaD!

A-C in the front and any combo in the back as long as you end up with 2.5 toe-in!
maxepower is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 11:07 AM
  #4942  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
Carl Giordano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Upper Saddle River, NJ
Posts: 2,480
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

190mph...thanks for the link. Very useful excel folders. Thanks for the feedback guys. Will put them to good use this Saturday
Carl Giordano is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 12:44 PM
  #4943  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,370
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by 190mph
The excel sheet seems to indicate zero toe for 2 A Blocks. I don't know exactly.
The toe indicated on the charts is the inboard toe, ie the toe that is present on the inboard hinge pins. This is different to the outboard (ie overall toe at the wheels), which has to be set via the turnbuckles still.
Hope that helps.

Ed
TryHard is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 03:48 PM
  #4944  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,656
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Kmodel chassis

Do anybody know how to order this from Japan to the US?
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF415-415kai-p-0011.jpg  
dawgmeat is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 03:49 PM
  #4945  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,656
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Kmodel chassis

Originally posted by dawgmeat
Do anybody know how to order this from Japan to the US?
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF415-415kai-fbld-0032.jpg  
dawgmeat is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 03:50 PM
  #4946  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,656
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Kmodel chassis

Originally posted by dawgmeat
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF415-415kai-fbld-001-tit1.jpg  
dawgmeat is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 08:08 PM
  #4947  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 1,817
Trader Rating: 63 (98%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Kmodel chassis

Originally posted by dawgmeat
\
these chassis' looks sweet!!!!!

anybody got their hands on these yet???
ghoppa is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 09:30 PM
  #4948  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
raffaelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys. I have finally decided to dump my TC3. I have been driving it since they first came out. I have been torn between the 415 and Mi2 for carpet racing.

Can you clear something up for me? The 415 is more for carpet than the 415MS? I hear that that 415 is discontinued. True? If so, what about parts availability?
raffaelli is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 10:23 PM
  #4949  
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Default

If you plan on racing carpet, forget about the Mi2. Chassis is way too thin and flexes way too much (I tried too race this before I bought a 415). The 415 is not discountinued. Which one will be better for carpet, the 415 or the 415MS...the stock 415 has the better foundation for carpet...thicker chassis (3mm vs. 2.5mm - less flex) and the stock 415 suspension (much better for tight, high traction tracks than the LW suspension) but you will need a front diff and and the locked layshaft pulley.
koabich is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 10:31 PM
  #4950  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
raffaelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks. I think I will go with the 415 and ge the options you suggested. No one way in the front?
raffaelli is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.