Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Reply

Old 08-31-2004, 10:22 PM
  #3541  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Front and rear uses the same axles.... just make sure you have axle shims....
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 10:31 PM
  #3542  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

However.... it might still be better to use the Pro4 axles due to the shims need to use the 415 axles. Especially the rear. Kinda reminds me of the play in the aluminium rear uprights for the 415/evo3. Maybe a tad more play.
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 10:33 PM
  #3543  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by KilRuf
Front and rear uses the same axles.... just make sure you have axle shims....
I think that the difference is about .8mm worth of shims..but you can use either
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 10:35 PM
  #3544  
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Originally posted by KilRuf
However.... it might still be better to use the Pro4 axles due to the shims need to use the 415 axles. Especially the rear. Kinda reminds me of the play in the aluminium rear uprights for the 415/evo3. Maybe a tad more play.
That is what I wasn't sure of. YgpM.
forty6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 10:35 PM
  #3545  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by KilRuf
I just did. The 415 axles will work with the Pro4 front spindles. You just have to shim dem to get the slop out. Hmmmmmm Makes me feel stupid for buying the Pro4 axles now.. haha... and TC3 bones.... Oh well... this makes the conversion even more cheaper!
At least it's cheaper now...


Also take a pic of your conversion when you are done
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 09:48 AM
  #3546  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,341
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JimMcClure
Hi, I was thinking of getting a 415 but had a few questions for you users first. I primarily run carpet and really needed front and rear diffs. Is there a front diff available? I read that you can make one out of yok and tamiya parts. And has anyone run the car on carpet? It seems very track proven on asphalt.
So far I've only used the one-ways on carpet, but with white springs on the front and blue on the rear, it was pretty much dialled.

For low grip, I've recently been running it with a Speedtech spool, and it has been awesome. (i have used kit springs all rounf, with a red rear roll bar.), haven't really found a need to run a diff yet, even though I do have an yokomo I could butcher to make one.

should note that this is with the lwt suspension kit though.

Oh and by the way, I've pretty much eliminated all the slop in my steering now. I did three things.
1) new servo saver, fitted a kimborough med size one, much tighter on the servo.
2) I put some drops of ca in the ball joints. worked wonders, but i made a bit of a mistake by not letting it dry for long enough on one of them...
3) I place three wheel axle spacers (0.1mm for a total of 0.3mm) on each of the steering posts. I placed one underneath the bellcrank (above the single BD6 spacer) , and two above (below the two BD6 spacers). This was pretty much the final solution, completely removed any of the remainng slop.

Ed
TryHard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 09:56 AM
  #3547  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

rctyec i hope he knows hes got the wishbones oposite it each other.
ie one side showing 3 holes and one showing 2 holes for lower shock positions.
trf racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 10:02 AM
  #3548  
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default Limited edition?

Is this kit a limited edition kit? Say limited to 500,000 kits? No seriously, is it? Just curious.
forty6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 10:10 AM
  #3549  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,341
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by trf racer
rctyec i hope he knows hes got the wishbones oposite it each other.
ie one side showing 3 holes and one showing 2 holes for lower shock positions.
Is that for Marcs car?
Looking closely, it seems that hes running both with the two holes showing to the rear. Look at the anti roll bar position on the far side, looks liek that shows the 3 hole section, and on the near side it's showing two on the shock mount.

Hope that makes sense....
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 10:19 AM
  #3550  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by trf racer
rctyec i hope he knows hes got the wishbones oposite it each other.
ie one side showing 3 holes and one showing 2 holes for lower shock positions.
As Towelie would say,"I don't know what's going on."

Huh?
rtypec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 10:25 AM
  #3551  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

good racing you guys had in the past champs, rod... that canadian guy is rather fast, eh?

i wish i could have gotten a little better in qualifying, just couldnt put a good run together. that, and being at least 3/4 of a second per lap behind Ling, Steve, Orlando, etc. didnt help! those guys are machines!

thanks for the setup help, Rod.. should have put it to better use! car was driving good just in time for the mains...
Turbonium is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 10:41 AM
  #3552  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yer welcome Wes. It's too bad I couldn't find you in the pits to introduce myself. But were you the yellowish orange Modena on the track? If so, I introduced my front fender into it atleast once Yeah, the Tamiya Track is kind of difficult to get a flow going with only one day of practice and those other drivers were machines.
rtypec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 11:02 AM
  #3553  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Since you guys are all tamiya drivers...anyone know someone who's interested to buy a new TRF 415 kit?
revRCshop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 11:33 AM
  #3554  
V12
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,644
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just back from work. I have answered some questions on the German Nats thread. I saw you moved over here regarding the 415 things.

Marc was using the outer holes on the 2 hole side on both front and rear.

The TRF drivers here are using the aluminium rear hubs as they donīt like the small 5x9 bearings. It seems working somewhat on the front but not at the rear. On some tracks just holding for one day and more rolling resistance.

I wasnīt aware the fact you have to modify the arms so the aluminium rear hubs will fit. Just measured this and itīs true.
But the question is if it will be much bader as before. The new plastic rear hub isnīt very strong either. I have seen this breaking also.

Regarding the rollcenter changes this is true but itīs the same rollcenter as with the old suspension. Who knows which is better?

Regarding the camber link sits lower now. You could use shims for the same position.
V12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 11:34 AM
  #3555  
V12
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,644
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Any other questions I missed?
V12 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service