Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Old 08-31-2004, 04:56 PM
  #3526  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,370
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

#3 Front veiw
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF415-dscf0011.jpg  
TryHard is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 04:56 PM
  #3527  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,370
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

#4 Rear Veiw
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF415-dscf0012.jpg  
TryHard is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 04:57 PM
  #3528  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Looks like a hack and slash to make it fit... but it looks like the rear arm would be a bit weaker at the point where the material was used ...Just my 2 Yen...
-Dave
That is kind of what i am thinking. I'm sure those guys are not as worried about durability as i need to be. I think i will stick with the new uprights and maybe try the pro4 's after i kill the smaller bearings.
tcmerf is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 05:02 PM
  #3529  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,370
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I actually have a question about the shell, in the two wings it comes with.
What does ach one do? how does it change the handling?


I'm gonna paint both and give each a try anyway, but I just wanna know if anyone has done so yet with the shell.

Looks like Marc Reinhard was running the straight wing here
http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...postid=1069674

Regards
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 05:45 PM
  #3530  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by tcmerf
That is kind of what i am thinking. I'm sure those guys are not as worried about durability as i need to be. I think i will stick with the new uprights and maybe try the pro4 's after i kill the smaller bearings.
Thats seems to be the safest way
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 06:18 PM
  #3531  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,370
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

something I spotted on the rear hub thing, look closely at Marc Reinhards rear end ( ).

http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...postid=1069900

Looks liek he's running a e-clip hinge pin with a spacer on it. Certainly would save on drilling out the hub, however, wouldn't this put a it of slop in the rear suspension, given the gap that would now exist between old pin size, and the new arms hole size?

Ed
TryHard is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 06:26 PM
  #3532  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Okay, continued from the German Nats thread...

With the aluminium rear hub... it does 3 things... actually 4.

1. Larger bearings
2. They make the rear just a tad wider.
3. The axle will sit lower than the standard hub (a roll center change).
4. The camber link now sits lower than the standard hub (another roll center change).

So goin back to using the A/C combo in the rear would make sense since using the aluminium rear hubs slightly widen's the car.

Thoughts....?
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 06:36 PM
  #3533  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by KilRuf
Okay, continued from the German Nats thread...

With the aluminium rear hub... it does 3 things... actually 4.

1. Larger bearings
2. They make the rear just a tad wider.
3. The axle will sit lower than the standard hub (a roll center change).
4. The camber link now sits lower than the standard hub (another roll center change).

So goin back to using the A/C combo in the rear would make sense since using the aluminium rear hubs slightly widen's the car.

Thoughts....?
HPI Hub.... thats just may take on it.... much simpler
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 07:48 PM
  #3534  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Default

Hi, I was thinking of getting a 415 but had a few questions for you users first. I primarily run carpet and really needed front and rear diffs. Is there a front diff available? I read that you can make one out of yok and tamiya parts. And has anyone run the car on carpet? It seems very track proven on asphalt.
JimMcClure is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 07:54 PM
  #3535  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'll be running mine on carpet in about a month. Probably end up using the Yok diff. Unless of course I can get the Jurgens diff.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 08:13 PM
  #3536  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey Dave, what's the part numbers for the new style Pro4 axles?
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 08:33 PM
  #3537  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

i will be running carpet and i did get the jurgen diff expensive but the car is to nice to give up for a little problem like that.
ngo8 is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 08:42 PM
  #3538  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by KilRuf
Hey Dave, what's the part numbers for the new style Pro4 axles?
Don't know what they are but... I use the Square Ti ones

on a side note Tamiya 415 Axle might be the same..??? you might want to check them out...

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 08:53 PM
  #3539  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I just did. The 415 axles will work with the Pro4 front spindles. You just have to shim dem to get the slop out. Hmmmmmm Makes me feel stupid for buying the Pro4 axles now.. haha... and TC3 bones.... Oh well... this makes the conversion even more cheaper!
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 09:20 PM
  #3540  
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Originally posted by KilRuf
I just did. The 415 axles will work with the Pro4 front spindles. You just have to shim dem to get the slop out. Hmmmmmm Makes me feel stupid for buying the Pro4 axles now.. haha... and TC3 bones.... Oh well... this makes the conversion even more cheaper!
Thanks for the tip! How about the rears?
forty6 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.