Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Old 07-05-2004, 07:40 PM
  #2851  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
They Feel the Same... a little bit slower in the "CHIC's" but nothing that can't be fine tuned with some more time on them
-Dave
Which position did you have your shocks mounted? Now that there is 5 I am more confused than ever...
jeffreylin is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:17 PM
  #2852  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by jeffreylin
Which position did you have your shocks mounted? Now that there is 5 I am more confused than ever...
3 position in the back out most hole and outer most hole on the rear tower
2 position on the front out most hole on front with outermost hole on front tower.
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:27 PM
  #2853  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
3 position in the back out most hole and outer most hole on the rear tower
2 position on the front out most hole on front with outermost hole on front tower.
-Dave
Thanks Dave. BTW, why did you use these positions? Why not say use the 3 in front instead? Is this the kit setup? Thanks!
jeffreylin is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:36 PM
  #2854  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by jeffreylin
Thanks Dave. BTW, why did you use these positions? Why not say use the 3 in front instead? Is this the kit setup? Thanks!
I used this since this was the closest to the factory arm settings ...as far as kit set up.... There wasn"t one ..Oh well.... start over from square one ( Yellow springs and sway bars work well )
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:39 PM
  #2855  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,504
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Wish I had a 415 for the TCS race this weeknd Oh well...Just have to stay home

hey dave any news on the radio? Still not here...my buddy is starting to get worried.

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:43 PM
  #2856  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by EAMotorsports
Wish I had a 415 for the TCS race this weeknd Oh well...Just have to stay home

hey dave any news on the radio? Still not here...my buddy is starting to get worried.

EA
Just PM'd you
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:49 PM
  #2857  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by EAMotorsports
Wish I had a 415 for the TCS race this weeknd Oh well...Just have to stay home

hey dave any news on the radio? Still not here...my buddy is starting to get worried.

EA
hi.. are you Jason's buddy? he said he knew a guy who was wanting to run this tcs weekend.
Turbonium is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:54 PM
  #2858  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,504
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Yea Wes thats me....Im trying to talk Fernando into letting use his 415 but I think it's not TCS legal anymore....something they did to them for the Reedy race or something He does have an evo3 though...but I hit to much stuff for it!! LOL

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 09:00 PM
  #2859  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

well, my extra car should be... only thing im not sure of are the turnbuckles... they look just like the originals, only without the small groove in them, plus they are Ti. i dunno who made them, as i got the car secondhand.

i told him id let ya run this car, but there is one rule: gotta get me in front of you!!!!! j/k...

i dont have all the tuning stuff either... although the springs are of course the same. may have some bars, too. ill have it with me anyway, so holler if you want.

p.s. remember when i bought that Alfa body for the 'cuda awhile back?
Turbonium is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 12:25 AM
  #2860  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What is the part# of the new conversion kit for the 415?

Cheers
Lycan
Lycan is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 02:51 AM
  #2861  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi,

What is the part numbr for the white diff joints?

Regards
Hugo is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 06:10 AM
  #2862  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Thumbs up 46mm dogbones

Hey guys.. just found out that you can use the newer Pro4 Dog bones with the EVO4 and with the conversion set for the 415 ( new style bones not the MIP ones )
since that is the case that means you can use the Square Ti bones for this conversion or the EVO4
-Dave

JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 07:01 AM
  #2863  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default Re: 46mm dogbones

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Hey guys.. just found out that you can use the newer Pro4 Dog bones with the EVO4 and with the conversion set for the 415 ( new style bones not the MIP ones )
since that is the case that means you can use the Square Ti bones for this conversion or the EVO4
-Dave

That's great news. How about the wheel axle? Are they compatible as well? Thanks.
jeffreylin is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 11:08 AM
  #2864  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Tried out the EVO4 Sus conversion today... .. needless to say I have to set it up a bit different than the regular sus arms..I found that I could run a bit softer spring and oild with the longer arms.. not perfect but the new arms are quite strong and the new hubs can take a beating
-Dave
Dave, how was the fitment of the parts? Was there slop (shrinkage?) and did anything require filing? Also, did the droopscrews line up with the chassis okay? One of the uber fast guys here has been testing a pre-production sample for some time.
rtypec is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 11:29 AM
  #2865  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somewhere on earth
Posts: 927
Default

Originally posted by rtypec
Dave, how was the fitment of the parts? Was there slop (shrinkage?) and did anything require filing? Also, did the droopscrews line up with the chassis okay? One of the uber fast guys here has been testing a pre-production sample for some time.
Parts needed a slight bit of filing on the insides of the wishbones otherwise they were not free to fall under there own weight. C hubs and rear hubs needed no filing, the front ones needed some shimming but the shims are included (you get 1 pack of the small 0.1 shims and one pack of the wheel axle 0.1mm shims). Hinge pins on the outer edges are different as well, they are now just a straight bar with a thread on the end and you thread them in. Rear hubs look kind of fragile but we will see when i try it. Also the front droop screws dont really line up well at all and half over hang the edge of the chassis. Rick
Rick Draper is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.