Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Old 06-29-2004, 09:26 PM
  #2761  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by =MisFitz= NuKe
Well, I didn't see any updates on here in about 5 and a half hours, boy am i on here to often. Anyways, I just wanted to let you all know I have joined the club, and cant wait to get more track time with this car.

Looks nice.... glad to have ya on board

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 09:26 PM
  #2762  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

yea, i wasnt in that room up front that much. my friends Derek and Jay were right behind ya. i did remember that you had a few issues, prolly some due to parts availability.
Turbonium is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 09:28 PM
  #2763  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

ill second that! congrats on the new purchase, and good luck with it!
Turbonium is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 09:36 PM
  #2764  
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Default

thanks guys, dave you have already helped me a bunch with it, lol . I will be racing it at the nats and hope to do well with it in 19turn, and if I can afford it, mod.
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 10:19 PM
  #2765  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by =MisFitz= NuKe
thanks guys, dave you have already helped me a bunch with it, lol . I will be racing it at the nats and hope to do well with it in 19turn, and if I can afford it, mod.
Your welcome
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 04:14 AM
  #2766  
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

can anyone help me out here?

if i remember correctly, someone on the forum mentioned the stock kit comes with 4 degrees of castor.

how do you get an 8 degree castor? is there an 8 degree block out there?

any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
racer is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 04:16 AM
  #2767  
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

JDM_DOHC_SiR,

see that your going to get your hands on the Evo IV. let us know how the testing goes
racer is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 04:35 AM
  #2768  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by racer
JDM_DOHC_SiR,

see that your going to get your hands on the Evo IV. let us know how the testing goes
I wil 2 weeks from now I`ll be putting it together and posting out my findings with settings and such
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 09:18 AM
  #2769  
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Default

hey Dave,
you see the thing in the one-way vs. spool thread, the note that Adrian Martinez wrote. What do you think about spools in the 415, you think I should get my hands on a spool, and try to make a solid center shaft for the nats?
Also, the money is being sent out today, hopefully I will get those parts in time for the nats. Also, can you get a solid center pulley?
Thanks,
Mike
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 09:31 AM
  #2770  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

mike, not sure about the spool, but tamiya is releasing a locked 1-piece center pulley. here is the info:

Item 53708 TRF415 Direct Center Pulley

not sure of the availability yet... i have modified the stock center using an extra locked pulley, as a lot of others have.
Turbonium is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 09:42 AM
  #2771  
Tech Fanatic
 
Martin Crisp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 829
Default 8 degree caster blocks

Hi racer.

I don't know the part number, but the 8 degree was the original caster block for the TA04. They should still be avail.
Martin Crisp is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 09:53 AM
  #2772  
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default Re: 8 degree caster blocks

Originally posted by Martin Crisp
Hi racer.

I don't know the part number, but the 8 degree was the original caster block for the TA04. They should still be avail.
Thanks, for your help.

oh, and regarding your one-way setup.

would it work with a stock motor as well?

Thanks again
racer is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 10:39 AM
  #2773  
Tech Apprentice
 
Fully Hopped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: follow the leader
Posts: 55
Default Titanium Screws

Hi,
Does any 1 have a list of the screw sizes and how many I would need to upgrade to TI.

Thanks
Fully Hopped is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 12:47 PM
  #2774  
Tech Regular
 
Paul_Kultcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by racer
can anyone help me out here?

if i remember correctly, someone on the forum mentioned the stock kit comes with 4 degrees of castor.

how do you get an 8 degree castor? is there an 8 degree block out there?

any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Someone posted a few pages back that the TA04 blocks - the 8 degree blocks - where actually the same as the stock TRF415 blocks. The difference in Castor comes in the amount built into the chassis mounted toe blocks and the spacers underneath (amount of anti-squat).
Paul_Kultcha is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 12:54 PM
  #2775  
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Default

Originally posted by tamiyadriver
mike, not sure about the spool, but tamiya is releasing a locked 1-piece center pulley. here is the info:

Item 53708 TRF415 Direct Center Pulley

not sure of the availability yet... i have modified the stock center using an extra locked pulley, as a lot of others have.
there is enough room to fit a second locked pulley? I am not seeing it, or are you modifying the second pulley to fit in the same amount of space the one way did? Also, are you grinding a flat spot on the shaft for the set-screw?
-Mike
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.