Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Old 06-26-2004, 04:36 AM
  #2731  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Tamiyadriver : I used Tobee's lightweight version of the Tamiya F201 universal. Their not even close

Not entirely sure if its a Tobee issue or the F201 shaft not being compatiable with the 415 Outdrive.

I might wait for the TB EVO4 to be realeased and get the 46mm blue lightweight drive shafts from that.

Lycan
Lycan is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 10:40 PM
  #2732  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

yup, its prolly a compatibilty issure between them. i recently bought a Tuned F201 kit, and the bones will fit just like the originals... but those Evo4's should do the trick nicely...
Turbonium is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 12:47 AM
  #2733  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So, the Tamiya F201 dogbones fit the 415 axles?

Can you 2x check for me?

I thought the Tobee ones would be an identical copy of the original Tamiya's. Doesnt make any sense how Tobee can market a part for F201 which wont even fit the car.
Lycan is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:24 AM
  #2734  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

There is quite a substantial difference between the F201 unversial and the 415 version.

Square F201 Universal :



Square 415 Axle :



Would be awesome if you could try putting the F201 Drive Shaft onto the 415 Axle for me. Just need verification before ordering again
Lycan is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 07:26 AM
  #2735  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

ill have to try it this evening... i am off to race in a bit, and the F201 is all assembled. ill pop it out as soon as i can to verify. you might pm "suradaj". as im pretty sure he posted a while back that it fit perfectly.
i think the difference is that each manufacturer may use its own pivot assy, although the complete unit will fit the 201. i know that looking at the R3/R2, TRF cars, Yokomo, etc. the pivots are all different sizes.

ill holler back when i confirm.
Turbonium is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 12:44 PM
  #2736  
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default Re: 415 one-way setup.

Originally posted by Martin Crisp
Here is a setup I used on carpet....


Rc: Setup 415 rubber carpet oneway
Front :

springs : yellow
sway bar : yellow
shock mounting position : outer holes top and bottom
uptravel : 2.5mm
front one way : yes
Kickup : none
Upper Arm : high rc - no spacers under innner link. No spacers under blocks
Caster : 8 degrees
Camber: -1
Wheelbase: all the way to back
Tires: cs 22 - med insert

Rear:

springs : yellow
sway bar : yellow
shock mounting position : outer holes top and bottom
uptravel : 2.5mm
Anti-squat: one .7mm spacers
Upper Arm : 4mm spacers under inside link
Toe in: 1 degree upright - with 2.5 total toe (a/d).
Camber: -2
what number shock oil did you use for the front/back shocks?

would this setup be useful for stock racing with rubber on carpet?

i'm using the kit setup, and find the car understeering while cornering. i guess i need to setup the car for more steering

any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited by racer; 06-27-2004 at 12:55 PM.
racer is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:05 PM
  #2737  
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Post

i would assume that it would work on rubber tires with a stock motor, but since i dont own a 415 i wouldn't trust me on that 100%.

lazy
lazyboy is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 07:07 PM
  #2738  
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

my appologizes if this is a repeat question, i could not find this info through the seach.

when people refer to 8 degree caster, does that mean that the front left and right "c" hubs are switch as opposed to the normal setting?

and is there any need to add spacers to the suspension blocks to achieve this 8 degrees?

i'm a newbie when it comes to setups so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
racer is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 07:54 PM
  #2739  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 289
Default

Ok im posting this in a wrong place but i just bought a 414m2 and i noticed people use servo savers what if i just use a servo horn. Will it mess up my servo if i dont use a servo saver.

Doug
Dougnuts55 is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:22 PM
  #2740  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Originally posted by Dougnuts55
Ok im posting this in a wrong place but i just bought a 414m2 and i noticed people use servo savers what if i just use a servo horn. Will it mess up my servo if i dont use a servo saver.

Doug
Depends on the servo you have. If you have a good metal gear servo you would probably be okay. Worst case you'd strip a internal gear which could probably replaced inexpensively.
jeffreylin is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 08:09 PM
  #2741  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Thumbs up Bump

Up


Nothing new Guys..??
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 08:13 PM
  #2742  
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

has the derlin outdrive been released yet?

or is it out already
racer is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 08:15 PM
  #2743  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by racer
has the derlin outdrive been released yet?

or is it out already
Yep... EVOIII diff works
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 08:24 PM
  #2744  
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Yep... EVOIII diff works
-Dave
really it does?

Thank you wise one
racer is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 08:26 PM
  #2745  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by racer
really it does?

Thank you wise one
It needs to be shimed ever so slightly on one side
I"ll put up a pic later
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.