Tamiya TRF415

Reply

Old 06-17-2004, 09:21 PM
  #2686  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

ok cool that bridge A will work good on nice tight carpet tracks thanks jeffrylin .
ngo8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 09:49 PM
  #2687  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default

which square parts are you guys buying for your car? And where can I buy some goodies
nub-racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 10:23 PM
  #2688  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default it is alive!

After staring at the car for 2 weeks while i was painting a body and trying to get my soldiering iron to work well enough to get the motor in, i finally got the first pack throught the car. I forgot how quick touring cars can be. All i have driven is off road for a while. How much do the belts stretch and how fast. By the end of the pack it was skipping a little. I still have it at the stock settings. Cant wait until Saturday when i am heading out to Tamiya America. Is anyone else heading out.
tcmerf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2004, 10:42 AM
  #2689  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
SMcpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Smile

I'll be there with my Mini and F1....won't have enough time to get my 415 ready for the TCS.

Any idea what time they open up on Saturday?
SMcpot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2004, 11:07 AM
  #2690  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default

I understand they are open from 10-4. I am hoping to get there around 11:00.
tcmerf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2004, 12:03 PM
  #2691  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
SMcpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Smile

Did you run-in the belts before putting the car on the track? As I understand it, they will loosen up quite a bit initially.

This being my first belt-driven electric TC, my first impression is that, set at the default settings, the belts are already pretty loose (I'm basing this on my experience with Serpent cars, which tend to run the belts much tighter).

You might want to check some of the previous pages of this thread as far as belt tension recommendations.
SMcpot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 08:19 AM
  #2692  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 479
Default

Jurgen stuff....

Hows it testing up guys? is the spool as good as speedtech's? and how about the diff halves... any wearing? they are going to be a pricey replace! what do you get anyway ? only the diff havles? or diff rings and gears too? Anyone have his email?

thanks alot

Tarnjit
Evo_Uk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 10:48 AM
  #2693  
Tech Regular
 
Paul_Kultcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 283
Default

I just ordered mine so I don't know how they hold up yet. But you only get the diff halfs - you need to get the balls, diff gear, thrust bearing, ball bearings, diff rings (uses Evo3 rings), etc.

They are expensive but they are not being mass produced, they look to be of a very high build quality, and lets face it the price of goods in Germany is WAY higher then it is in North America or Asia.

Jurgen is very nice to work with - he doesnt always respond right away. I emailed twice. His email is: [email protected]
Paul_Kultcha is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 11:36 AM
  #2694  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somewhere on earth
Posts: 927
Default

I hate to upset you all but there is no 6 degree front C hub. Me and jonny boy were looking at them today and cracked open a 415 hub carrier set and also a TA04 racing hub carrier set and the sprues both had exactly the same part numbers on. The reason the TA04 racing set is labled as a 6 degree set is the fact a TA04 has 2 Degrees of kickup on the wishbone meaning it has 4 degrees on the C hub and 2 Degrees of kickup = 6 Degrees. Rick
Rick Draper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 01:39 PM
  #2695  
V12
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

EVO UK

As Paul already posted there are the diff halfs only.
Jürgen thinks it makes no sense selling a complete frontdiff as this would be even more expensive and shipping also would be higher.
Beside this most people will have the extra parts anyway.

Regarding wear you should ask alan1467 as he is using the frontdiff already. He has the spool also.

Regarding the spool I think you can´t go wrong with both.
The one from speedtech is cheaper but I think shipping will be higher.
V12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 01:54 PM
  #2696  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

i have 2 of them on the way
ngo8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 07:24 PM
  #2697  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for posted that Rick. I confirmed it on my setup station. So best to run the older 8° blocks for more caster if you can find them.

Well ran the 415 in stock yesterday. I tried 3 different gear ratios without changing setup. All 3 qualifiers I ended up with 16 at 5:16. I ran 102/32, 102/33, and 102/34. All the same result. Track must be pretty balanced between high speed and technical. Or it's all just me hehe...
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 07:52 AM
  #2698  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 479
Default

last thing, how much are these diff halves ?
Evo_Uk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 08:59 AM
  #2699  
s2
Tech Adept
 
s2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: nr Coventry, UK
Posts: 239
Default Making a front diff

Im getting on nicely with the 415s 1way setup but ive been told theres a mod where a front diff can be made out of some Yok MR4 rear diff parts? ive got an MR4 rear diff what other parts do i need and will it build up just a regualr? obviously a locked layshaft is alo needed but ive seen a few ways to do that

cheers

Stew
s2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 09:01 AM
  #2700  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,975
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Please do tell what you have found ... ...I am in search of more corner speed at time

-Dave
pssst...Dave. Here's the setup from the past two weeks. Corner speed is between good-excellent but the car is very easy to drive This one's a keeper. However, it only works with mod motors and will oversteer with stock and 19T. Next weekend, I'm going to try a Quantum2 and change a few things to adapt it to 19T (time permitting). It's gonna be a TCS weekend so the track's gonna be packed and I don't want to disrupt others on who are trying to figure things out.
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF415-415setup620mod.gif  
rtypec is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service