Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TRF415

Old 05-29-2004, 09:22 PM
  #2281  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have both cars, but haven't run the SD much at all this year. So it's hard for me to compare. However, I did run the SD in one of my qualifiers today with a glitchy practice stock motor and it did pretty good considering. It was alittle off pace. But that was mainly due to the glitchy motor and gearing. Handling was just awesome though. But so is the handling of my 415. The car is just soo smooth and easy to tune. Plus It's the car I've been running all year so far. I'll tell ya more next weekend when I run the SD CGM for Stock class instead of the 415. I'm a diehard Yokomo and Tamiya fan. But so far I'm liking the 415's handling.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 10:30 PM
  #2282  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default

I forgot to ask, what is needed if anything that is not in the kit. Ihave only made it through about half of the thread.
tcmerf is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 11:55 PM
  #2283  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What do you mean what is needed? Tuning parts? Radio gear? The kit can stand alone besides 2 sets of tuning springs. You can opt for the rear aluminium hubs (for extra tuning) and some extra Tamiya 5.5 shim kit. I don't see the need for anything else. Well aside from maybe the TA04 Racing Hub Set (they are 6° caster blocks, stock kit ones are 4°).
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 01:17 AM
  #2284  
Tech Master
iTrader: (55)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,015
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

those and a set of 3 hole pistons.

then just the spares you might want such as arms, belts, spurs, etc.
tones is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 04:30 AM
  #2285  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
Default

hello,

who sells the products from KAĻ in europe ?
didju is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 05:58 AM
  #2286  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by didju
hello,

who sells the products from KAĻ in europe ?
Kai or K-Models only sells direct from there Home page
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 08:22 AM
  #2287  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 230
Default

JDM - do you have msn? if so please add me: [email protected]
I have something I'd like to discuss.
g4t2 is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 08:27 AM
  #2288  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default

I was just talking about tuning parts,mostly the suspension blocks. I think the evo 3 comes with a lot of tuning parts and was wondering if the 415 does as well
tcmerf is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 09:39 AM
  #2289  
Tech Regular
 
Paul_Kultcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by tcmerf
I was just talking about tuning parts,mostly the suspension blocks. I think the evo 3 comes with a lot of tuning parts and was wondering if the 415 does as well
Yes it comes with the full range of toe-in blocks standard, as I'm told the EvoIIIse did. It also comes with 3 stiffnesses of Anti-Roll bar front and back.

The most popular additional item to the TRF415 would have to be changing the spur gear from a Metric to a Standard. I think most people are running around a 104t spur...someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Optional parts that are popular are the TRF rear hubs, a set of the Tamiya Blue Springs, a set of the Tamiya White springs, and some people have tried the TA04 6 degree front hubs.

Speedtechrc.com has a great Spool they developed for the kit, and a german company seems to have developed a font Diff.

And finally you should check out the Speedtechrc.com thread or on their site about the Japanese hobby shore. There will be some new parts coming up soon for the TRF415 from Tamiya. My personal feeling is the most important part will be the new White Belts.... Its kind of strange for Japanese to upgrade from Black Belt to White Belt though isn't it? Its not like Karate at all (just kidding!).
Paul_Kultcha is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 10:15 AM
  #2290  
Tech Regular
 
Baluga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Manila
Posts: 412
Default

Any significant differences between the black and white belt besides the color?
Baluga is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 11:32 AM
  #2291  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Baluga
Any significant differences between the black and white belt besides the color?
The White belt set is a low friction/ high responce belt for the 415 ..

But there are 2 other companies that make the same low friction belt for the 415 right now in Japan they both cost less than 20$

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 12:57 PM
  #2292  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

who are the companys that make the belts
ngo8 is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 01:06 PM
  #2293  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by ngo8
who are the companys that make the belts
TECH and some other Japanese Company that has some serious Kanji that I can't quite make out
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 02:29 PM
  #2294  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 2
Default Fasten Batteries....

Hello

I'm thinking of buying the TRF415, but I was wondering how you fasten the battery?

On the TRF 414 I had to use tape, but everytime i climbed on the curbs, the tape broke.
Tamiya Man is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 03:00 PM
  #2295  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Fasten Batteries....

Originally posted by Tamiya Man
Hello

I'm thinking of buying the TRF415, but I was wondering how you fasten the battery?

On the TRF 414 I had to use tape, but everytime i climbed on the curbs, the tape broke.
The 415 Battery mounts buy Tape ..Unless you want to buy the optional Strainght Stick Pack Chassis from Tamiya as a Option and that will have the option to mount the Battery without tape
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.