R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2006, 05:18 PM   #15901
Tech Regular
 
Josh Numan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I belive you can also use the Evo sway bar mounts, You just have to cut them to the same size as the 415 mounts, those mounts already have a set-screw hole molded in to hold the bar...
Josh Numan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 06:25 PM   #15902
Tech Adept
 
JAY_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Yorkshire - UK
Posts: 135
Send a message via MSN to JAY_UK
Default

I keep on seeing TAMIYARACING.NET printed on Rheinards car stand but the URL is no longer in use. Anyone know what the website was about??? Just being nosey thats all!
JAY_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 07:13 PM   #15903
Tech Apprentice
 
edracer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 93
Default

Thank you Josh, Thank you Stuey. I located both parts numbers for these mounts: Tamiya Evo #51254 and Yok's #SD-203.
edracer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 07:40 PM   #15904
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Send a message via Yahoo to dodo
Default

hey guys, just a quick check. i have a normal 415 spool used on my msx. My LHS sells the MRE spool outdrive and sleeve. Will these outdrive fits in normal 415 spool? how about the steel pin? is it the same length?
dodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 07:58 PM   #15905
Tech Fanatic
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to xtrememadness
Default

hey lotus1 you will need the 4mm carpet chassis for foams. i run the iic setup and it works great but i run A blocks up front to narrow the front end. the car steers and rotates tons better. also no sway bars. i run 19t and stock. this setup is dialed. also run parma foams cyan front and magenta rear. i dont use the .5 axle shim because the parmas are .75 offset. use the shim if you are gonna run jacos. also the aluminum ball studs snap like pretzels. i run hpi pro 4 ball studs and heavy duty low friction cups. the car is now bulletbroof. cant wait to run it in cleveland. tamiya will be drilling the 4mm chassis for the new steering so you may want to wait or you can drill it yourself like i did. its pretty easy. hope that helps.
__________________
CRAIG SANTRY / TAMIYA / TEAM ASSOCIATED / BROWNIES PRO AND SPORT HOBBIES / STATEN ISLAND SPEED TEAM / FUTABA / LRP / TEKIN / PROTOFORM / JACKSON RC / HORSHAM RC / EXOTEK RACING / REEDY
xtrememadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 01:00 AM   #15906
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Numan
I belive you can also use the Evo sway bar mounts, You just have to cut them to the same size as the 415 mounts, those mounts already have a set-screw hole molded in to hold the bar...

But wouldn't we got to buy the whole part tree just to get the EVO 4's roll bar mounts??
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 01:33 AM   #15907
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Raced the car tonight, I'm fed up with the ball cups snapping off....twice I had to go look on the track just for my turnbuckle.

What do you guys use, to keep those things from coming off? The slightest hit, even on the ends of the board with the plastic round pieces, and it still comes off.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 01:53 AM   #15908
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,284
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

have to admit, I've never had an issue with ball cups popping off...admitadly, I tend to race outdoors, or on a carpet track that uses sand filled hose, so rarely come across solid boards.
You could try the Hara tip of gently heating the ball cup over the ball joint (ball cup shrinks to the ball joint) or a very thin layer of CA glue inside the cup.
How old are the cups? and how often do you pop them off for maintence?

Popping the off the ball joint is the thing that wears them the most.... I now use the hexheaded ball nuts, with a hole drilled in the ball cup, so I never have to pop them off, just unscrew the ball joint.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | MuchMore |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 02:46 AM   #15909
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Talking Popping ballcups of fire!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek Nickal
Raced the car tonight, I'm fed up with the ball cups snapping off....twice I had to go look on the track just for my turnbuckle.

What do you guys use, to keep those things from coming off? The slightest hit, even on the ends of the board with the plastic round pieces, and it still comes off.
If your using the black plastic ball cups, switch to the gray low friction cups they seem to fit better. If your using the blue aluminum ball ends and the anodize has come off of them then they are worn out and should be replaced.
Don't know your circumstance so just a couple of suggestions.
I'm trying to remember what trick the off road guys use. It will come to me and I'll post it once I remember!
Just my 2$
__________________
Tamiya Track Local. 10,000 Watts of power! ($5 donations for gas appreciated)
Proud Father of GT-1 Past Champion!"Hey, I got to go to Japan too!
FF03,TA-05V2 ,EVO-6,TA-07,TRF419W,EXOTEK-6
"Tamiya Racer to Infinity and Beyond!"
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 04:06 AM   #15910
Tech Regular
 
Josh Numan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodo
hey guys, just a quick check. i have a normal 415 spool used on my msx. My LHS sells the MRE spool outdrive and sleeve. Will these outdrive fits in normal 415 spool? how about the steel pin? is it the same length?
I belive that the Cups and sleeve will work no problem, the pin should be the same lenth.
Josh
Josh Numan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 06:09 AM   #15911
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 1,364
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtrememadness
hey lotus1 you will need the 4mm carpet chassis for foams. i run the iic setup and it works great but i run A blocks up front to narrow the front end. the car steers and rotates tons better. also no sway bars. i run 19t and stock. this setup is dialed. also run parma foams cyan front and magenta rear. i dont use the .5 axle shim because the parmas are .75 offset. use the shim if you are gonna run jacos. also the aluminum ball studs snap like pretzels. i run hpi pro 4 ball studs and heavy duty low friction cups. the car is now bulletbroof. cant wait to run it in cleveland. tamiya will be drilling the 4mm chassis for the new steering so you may want to wait or you can drill it yourself like i did. its pretty easy. hope that helps.
Thanks all.I think I'm going to have to wait for the 4mm chassis unfortunately.Till the bank account moves back upward. Will try the other stuff tho.Looking forward to this car,should be fun.Mario.
lotus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 08:09 AM   #15912
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 1,364
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default Chassis

Quick one...The 4mm chassis..is that only available thru Tamiya? Mario.
lotus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 08:52 AM   #15913
Tech Master
 
Charles Godwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK (England)
Posts: 1,129
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Nope, you can get the 4mm chassis through speedtech rc (if it's in stock).

I had a problem with ball cups popping off a few weeks ago , i race in a extremely tight indoor carpet surface (with no grip) so contact is going to happen. All i did was replace the plastic ball cup and i haven't had a problem since.

What shells are you guys running on carpet with rubber tyres? The track i'm going to go to over the winter is kinda big with a decent level of grip, some fast and some tight corners. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Charles
__________________
DXR | CML Distribution | Paint by Turnip Paint | TKRgraphics.com
Charles Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 10:34 AM   #15914
Tech Addict
 
E.J. Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 601
Send a message via Yahoo to E.J. Evans
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Godwin
Nope, you can get the 4mm chassis through speedtech rc (if it's in stock).

I had a problem with ball cups popping off a few weeks ago , i race in a extremely tight indoor carpet surface (with no grip) so contact is going to happen. All i did was replace the plastic ball cup and i haven't had a problem since.

What shells are you guys running on carpet with rubber tyres? The track i'm going to go to over the winter is kinda big with a decent level of grip, some fast and some tight corners. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Charles
Hey Charles, on carpet using rubber tires the Mazda 6 is always a good choice. I've tried the 3.0 and it feels pretty good, but always go back to the 6. This is just my preference. Let us know if you find something that works better.
__________________
T.O.P. Racing | APEX Hobbies | R1 | Solaris | NorCal Hobbies |

Solaris Racing Products (SRP) Solaris Spec Tires!

www.solarisrp.com | www.apexhobbies.com | www.topracingusa.com
E.J. Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 10:51 AM   #15915
Tech Addict
 
E.J. Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 601
Send a message via Yahoo to E.J. Evans
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotus1
I have a Reinhard edition coming this week(hopefully).I'll be using it on carpet with foams to start.Don't have the time to search thru 15,000 posts.lol.Any building tips etc you guys can share/summarize for me?Things to look out for when building,that kind of thing.Going to be running on med.grip ozite,Figured I'd start with the IIC setup.Thoughts on this?Thanks,Mario.
Hey Mario, the standard steering knuckles don't accomodate the width of foam rims (they won't fit unless you really cut down the rim). You can try using the HPI steering knuckles, but you'll also have to use either their axle or the old style tamiya axle. It's pretty simple once you get the parts.
__________________
T.O.P. Racing | APEX Hobbies | R1 | Solaris | NorCal Hobbies |

Solaris Racing Products (SRP) Solaris Spec Tires!

www.solarisrp.com | www.apexhobbies.com | www.topracingusa.com
E.J. Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAMIYA TRF415 Xray XB8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 04-04-2008 08:50 PM
Tamiya TRF415 Crashmaster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-13-2006 04:48 PM
Tamiya TRF415 MS NIB koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2005 07:28 AM
F/S Tamiya TRF415 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 06-10-2005 09:02 PM
Tamiya Evo IV or TRF415 TheDevil Electric On-Road 23 10-15-2004 07:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:19 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net