R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-20-2006, 05:09 PM   #15736
Tech Master
 
Burlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,277
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Burlap
Default

Is Tamiya looking at doing an one way setup for the MRE? Currently that car is a waste for me, as I run stock and a spool is a waste of time. Might look at an Evo V actually. Seen one going in stock and it is bloody quick.
Burlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 05:29 PM   #15737
Tech Regular
 
LBSR415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: RAZOR GRAPHIX
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burlap
Is Tamiya looking at doing an one way setup for the MRE? Currently that car is a waste for me, as I run stock and a spool is a waste of time. Might look at an Evo V actually. Seen one going in stock and it is bloody quick.
the one way houseing for all 415's fit the mre,,,try a spool with a center one way as well,,,
__________________
Team OHP
Razor Graphix
East Coast R/C
Pantheon Motorsports

These fish,,,are frozen.
LBSR415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 07:02 PM   #15738
Tech Fanatic
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to xtrememadness
Default

hey al you may have to make some changes to the setup according to track conditions. i run that exact setup on my track but we have very high traction. the setup works great for me. smooth not twitchy at all. i dont run any sway bars though. i only goop 1/4 of the inner front tires. full rear. make sure your car is not tweaked also. if its a low traction track. try softer springs and oil. let me know how that is.
__________________
CRAIG SANTRY / TAMIYA / TEAM ASSOCIATED / BROWNIES PRO AND SPORT HOBBIES / STATEN ISLAND SPEED TEAM / FUTABA / LRP / TEKIN / PROTOFORM / JACKSON RC / HORSHAM RC / EXOTEK RACING / REEDY
xtrememadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 07:51 PM   #15739
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burlap
Is Tamiya looking at doing an one way setup for the MRE? Currently that car is a waste for me, as I run stock and a spool is a waste of time. Might look at an Evo V actually. Seen one going in stock and it is bloody quick.

I have good sources saying that Tamiya is going to come out with one way set for the MRE. But don't know when...??
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 10:17 PM   #15740
Tech Elite
 
racenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Philippine RC Drifters
Posts: 2,087
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben.C
I have good sources saying that Tamiya is going to come out with one way set for the MRE. But don't know when...??
Thats sweet!!!
racenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 10:23 PM   #15741
Tech Adept
 
JAY_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Yorkshire - UK
Posts: 135
Send a message via MSN to JAY_UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burlap
Is Tamiya looking at doing an one way setup for the MRE? Currently that car is a waste for me, as I run stock and a spool is a waste of time. Might look at an Evo V actually. Seen one going in stock and it is bloody quick.
I seem to be one of the few on here who only uses the spool, try it because it works, even for 19t and 27t where you would expect it to scrub too much speed in corners but it doesnt. Trust me, i can drive this car quicker in 19t then any other car ive driven in my 10+ years of driving. Only now am i on A final pace and my driving ability has increased through the fact that this car is soooo easy to drive.
JAY_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 11:14 PM   #15742
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Talking Spool vs. one-way

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAY_UK
I seem to be one of the few on here who only uses the spool, try it because it works, even for 19t and 27t where you would expect it to scrub too much speed in corners but it doesnt. Trust me, i can drive this car quicker in 19t then any other car ive driven in my 10+ years of driving. Only now am i on A final pace and my driving ability has increased through the fact that this car is soooo easy to drive.
Jay is spot on! 23t is no problem either! Test it for yourself. I have. Ran the one-way and then ran the spool and no loss of steering or corner speed. Just now you have brakes which can be a real plus! Just keep the spool light as possible. I've ran the TA05 steel outdrives and some chatter of the wheels but with the delrin, aluminum combo in the MRE, there should be no problems breaking or with wheel hop!
Just my 2$
__________________
Tamiya Track Local. 10,000 Watts of power! ($5 donations for gas appreciated)
Proud Father of GT-1 Past Champion!"Hey, I got to go to Japan too!
FF03,TA-05V2 ,EVO-6,TA-07,TRF419W,EXOTEK-6
"Tamiya Racer to Infinity and Beyond!"
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 12:34 AM   #15743
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Got 1 pack through my car and broke really early on my 2'nd pack at the IIC, but this car looks like its gonna be awesome, got a couple things to try out tomorrow, cant wait to hit the track!
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 01:30 AM   #15744
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,360
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRF415boy
They fit straight on. You'll need to use tamiya hardware to fit them on.
ok, good start then - already have the alum balls for the top mount, could you please elaborate on how the bottom mounts are done? Same alum balls? thanks a lot!

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 01:58 AM   #15745
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonestar
ok, good start then - already have the alum balls for the top mount, could you please elaborate on how the bottom mounts are done? Same alum balls? thanks a lot!

Paul
It uses alu balls too...But those are screw in type. They are not like the top ones. The top one requires a screw to fit it to the shock towers.But not the bottom.The balls screws (no punt intented) into the arms.
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 02:12 AM   #15746
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,360
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben.C
It uses alu balls too...But those are screw in type. They are not like the top ones. The top one requires a screw to fit it to the shock towers.But not the bottom.The balls screws (no punt intented) into the arms.
Ben - thanks for your help - I happen to have a stock of tamiya blue alum balls, both the "screw on" and "screw through" from when I was looking for a set of aftermarket balljoints for my MR4-SD, so it looks like I'm fully equipped to perform the transfer - Just ordered a set of 53571 TAMIYA TRF DAMPER SET , which also includes both 2- and 3-hole pistons... I'm all set

Thanks all for the help!
Cheers,

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 02:36 AM   #15747
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonestar
Ben - thanks for your help - I happen to have a stock of tamiya blue alum balls, both the "screw on" and "screw through" from when I was looking for a set of aftermarket balljoints for my MR4-SD, so it looks like I'm fully equipped to perform the transfer - Just ordered a set of 53571 TAMIYA TRF DAMPER SET , which also includes both 2- and 3-hole pistons... I'm all set

Thanks all for the help!
Cheers,

Paul

Hope the shocks will serve you well and one day you'll jump the bandwagon and over to the blue side....!!
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 04:01 AM   #15748
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,360
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

sticking to my FK05 for now - currently looking for a brand who doesn't release a new version of its top-line chassis every 6mths... and at the moment neither Tamiya nor Xray qualify for that criterion
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 09:42 AM   #15749
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

Lonestar: only one option: Yok...

has anyone made an airduct yet? if so let's see them.
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 09:56 AM   #15750
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 110
Default TRF415 MSX MRE

Jay L: I made a simple air duct with a Ride Cooling vent.. But I would be interested in seeing the version seen on the pro's cars.

By the way does any one know where I can find TRF 415 MSX MRE setup sheets. I am looking for rubber to carpet setup sheets. I am completely new to Tamiya, and have arace coming up next week. Any tips..

Thanks..
CRiXman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAMIYA TRF415 Xray XB8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 04-04-2008 08:50 PM
Tamiya TRF415 Crashmaster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-13-2006 04:48 PM
Tamiya TRF415 MS NIB koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2005 07:28 AM
F/S Tamiya TRF415 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 06-10-2005 09:02 PM
Tamiya Evo IV or TRF415 TheDevil Electric On-Road 23 10-15-2004 07:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:07 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net