R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2006, 08:10 PM   #15601
Tech Regular
 
ammaramira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: RCAC
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard
Yes you can, you just need to have the belts tensioner set looser. I'm pretty sure the main difference between the two is just the tooth count.

I'm still not sure there is a pitch difference between the belts, I need to have a close look at two new belts to tell. IF there is any difference, it's minscule. Put it this way, I ran a spare white MSX belt on my MRE the past weekend (after the front belt snapped), and it was fine. Just have to set the tensioners looser.

HiH
Ed
Thanks Ed..
ammaramira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 08:29 PM   #15602
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtrememadness
will the front ball diff outdrives for the msx work with the new pulleys on the mre. thanx
Yes.
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 08:35 PM   #15603
Tech Fanatic
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to xtrememadness
Default

it should work as long as the 53935 pulley is used. the rear outdrives are from the msx and they are the same size. i guess we will find out when its all together. i run my msx on carpet with foams and 4mm chassis and i want to try the pulleys.
__________________
CRAIG SANTRY / TAMIYA / TEAM ASSOCIATED / BROWNIES PRO AND SPORT HOBBIES / STATEN ISLAND SPEED TEAM / FUTABA / LRP / TEKIN / PROTOFORM / JACKSON RC / HORSHAM RC / EXOTEK RACING / REEDY
xtrememadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 09:04 PM   #15604
Tech Fanatic
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to xtrememadness
Default

i want to try mark reinhards carpet foam setup from vegas. on the setup sheet it says he used a 2.2mm front sway bar. the thickest in the set is the blue sway bar and it measures 1.6mm. does anyone know which one he used or if one will fit from maybe another car. just want to try it. thanx.
__________________
CRAIG SANTRY / TAMIYA / TEAM ASSOCIATED / BROWNIES PRO AND SPORT HOBBIES / STATEN ISLAND SPEED TEAM / FUTABA / LRP / TEKIN / PROTOFORM / JACKSON RC / HORSHAM RC / EXOTEK RACING / REEDY
xtrememadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 09:30 PM   #15605
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default TiR 415MSX Spool

Where can I get the TiR (Titanium Racing) spool? The only place I can find is the TiR website, and thats not US based.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 11:44 PM   #15606
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Besides the tamiya steering knuckle, what other knuckles from other cars work with the msx? I know that the HPI pro 4 works but how is it better than the stock one? Thanks for your help

Eric
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 03:32 AM   #15607
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,284
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxepower
TryHard,

Is it true the new belts for the MRE are one tooth longer than the MSX. Plus, I heard the teeth on the pully are a new design.
Again,
Thanks
The new belts are longer, simply to fit better with the larger pulley.

The pulley only has 18t on it.... it's still classed as a 36t though, as every other tooth has been removed.
I'm still not convinced the pitches are different on the belts either.
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | MuchMore |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 04:07 AM   #15608
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 270
Default

you can get a TIR spool in usa from Team almighty

www. teamalmighty.co.uk

we have a usa store too

thanks jimmy m
jimmy..maddison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 06:54 AM   #15609
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtrememadness
i want to try mark reinhards carpet foam setup from vegas. on the setup sheet it says he used a 2.2mm front sway bar. the thickest in the set is the blue sway bar and it measures 1.6mm. does anyone know which one he used or if one will fit from maybe another car. just want to try it. thanx.
It was problably hotbodies.
Juan Aveytia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 07:16 AM   #15610
Tech Master
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,919
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DirtyDog3375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek Nickal
Where can I get the TiR (Titanium Racing) spool? The only place I can find is the TiR website, and thats not US based.

Look up Schumacher USA or PM Adrian Martinez from Schumacher. They're the US distributors for TiR.

Leonard.
__________________
:::Smokem Racing:::RCMaker.com.au:::Speedy RC.com.au:::
==========================================================
"It's more fun to drive slow cars fast, than fast cars slow"...
DirtyDog3375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 07:25 AM   #15611
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard
The new belts are longer, simply to fit better with the larger pulley.

The pulley only has 18t on it.... it's still classed as a 36t though, as every other tooth has been removed.
I'm still not convinced the pitches are different on the belts either.
im not positive about the pitch either, but i know when i was assembling the MRE, i laid the new belt aside a stock black belt with the teeth facing up, and matching them up... there was about 1/2 tooth different.

does it work anyway? obviously... but i do remember Rod C. mentioning something about the pulley conversion, and he is a TRF USA driver.

here is the quote from Rod...

For those doing the TA05 pulley conversion...keep in mind that the tooth design on the belts/pullies you see in pictures are different to the ones that are used with the standard 415. I'm waiting for the "open bag, install parts" conversion sans dremel or any other modification
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 08:17 AM   #15612
Tech Fanatic
 
hierog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 891
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek Nickal
Where can I get the TiR (Titanium Racing) spool? The only place I can find is the TiR website, and thats not US based.
I think www.nexusracing.net can get them also

vic
hierog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 08:24 AM   #15613
Tech Elite
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbonium
i do remember Rod C. mentioning something about the pulley conversion, and he is a TRF USA driver.
I may have eaten my words on that one

My comment was on the belt tooth design...but then again, that too may have been changed from prototype to production. In any event, I'll be running the prototype belts on my production pulleys this weekend
rtypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 11:24 AM   #15614
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

yes, the MRE pulley WILL work with the new front ball diff, remember you are using a rear MRE ball diff pulley not the MRE front one-way/spool pulley...also remember you need 9 balls, hehe
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 12:20 PM   #15615
Tech Adept
 
uaerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UAE
Posts: 236
Default

Hi

I wanted to know where i can get the TRF 415 MSX rheinard edition - with a Novak 3.5R brushless system + servos + accessories + Batts

Checked speedtech they are out of stock....

Any good sites who can accept cr.cards and send all this quickly.. I need to setup and take up a race with this guy who kinda ! gettin to me now !

Thanks guys in advance....

Regards
Ziizo
uaerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAMIYA TRF415 Xray XB8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 04-04-2008 08:50 PM
Tamiya TRF415 Crashmaster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-13-2006 04:48 PM
Tamiya TRF415 MS NIB koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2005 07:28 AM
F/S Tamiya TRF415 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 06-10-2005 09:02 PM
Tamiya Evo IV or TRF415 TheDevil Electric On-Road 23 10-15-2004 07:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net