R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2006, 10:15 AM   #15571
Tech Regular
 
diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard
How are you checking it's freeness? Have you disconected all the ball joints etc?
I've found that if the kingpins are slightly misalinged that can bind up the steering abit. Also the ball cups add friction.
With all the correct spacers, the steering should be free with none of the links connected. If it's still binding, try a 0.1mm extra between the brace and bellcranks.

HiH
Ed
Tryhard: I have got the 2 steering links disconnected. The whole steering rack moves left and right easily with a slight tap when the 2 screws (3X8mm) are loosen, but upon tightening, it moves but with a little force exerted. Perhaps I should try an extra 0.1mm shim and see how it goes. Cheers.
diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 12:52 PM   #15572
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axle182
noticed that too, i used a little thread lock and didnt tighten it all the way down. So there is no slop, and no binding.

Also i checked the chassis plates against each other, and couldnt see a reason why i cant use the 4mm chassis with the MRE (except extra holes) I did notice that the steering is very close to the chassis, but if you put both spacers which go on the steering shafts, under the steering arms, i wonder if that would be enought to clear? I might run the steering shaft in upside down, and space it out. Im sure theres an easy solution
your steering will hit the bridge block that's why the 4mm chassis won't fit.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 01:11 PM   #15573
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

Why? from what i saw, the suspension mounts between the MSX and the MRE are the same at the front are they not? So the bridge is in the same location, all your doing is raising the steering right? Ill re-double check tonight.... Cheers
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 01:41 PM   #15574
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axle182
Why? from what i saw, the suspension mounts between the MSX and the MRE are the same at the front are they not? So the bridge is in the same location, all your doing is raising the steering right? Ill re-double check tonight.... Cheers
no the 4mm chassis was designed to use the std suspension and so it uses the 48.5mm hinge pins, which means that the bridge is 2.5mm further back compared to the MSX/MRE.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 02:06 PM   #15575
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

Ahhhh makes so much more sense now. Thanks TRF.
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 02:30 PM   #15576
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axle182
Ahhhh makes so much more sense now. Thanks TRF.
well all i did was explain with other words what dick raper said...
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 02:08 AM   #15577
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

I just ran my 415 tonight and it felt much different from past weeks of racing. I didn't even change the setup a bit.

1. It "pushes". If I go full throttle and then let go of the throttle, the car goes fast, then it stops. This means it doesn't carry any speed at all. Mind you I am running a one way in front with a locked center pulley.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 06:40 AM   #15578
Tech Apprentice
 
Mi2_Tastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 80
Default

Heres my 415 freshly rebuilt and looking good



Mi2_Tastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 03:46 PM   #15579
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOMOisCOOL
I just ran my 415 tonight and it felt much different from past weeks of racing. I didn't even change the setup a bit.

1. It "pushes". If I go full throttle and then let go of the throttle, the car goes fast, then it stops. This means it doesn't carry any speed at all. Mind you I am running a one way in front with a locked center pulley.
I can second that, I ran his car last night, (because I broke my own 415 and didn't have parts), and well, you have to go more than half throttle to go around a corner, and it feels as if there's a drag before acellerating (could be a belt skipping), and the car pushes, also its really twitchy.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 04:00 PM   #15580
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek Nickal
I can second that, I ran his car last night, (because I broke my own 415 and didn't have parts), and well, you have to go more than half throttle to go around a corner, and it feels as if there's a drag before acellerating (could be a belt skipping), and the car pushes, also its really twitchy.
take it to bits and check it, especially the hinge pins and the toe blocks for straightness...
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 04:02 PM   #15581
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Hmm, Andrew you should check to see if your hingepins are straight, and the suspension can fall under its own weight, if your shocks have air in them, if the one-way is binding, or anything else thats pretty simple.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 05:03 PM   #15582
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Unhappy Drivetrain...what a DRAG!

Sounds like a drivetrain issue. Check your one'way and center pully to make sure it didn't sieze up on you! That could cause most of what you discribed! Take off the pinion and see if the wheels spin freely. For that matter, just check everything!
ETC.ETC.ETC.
__________________
Tamiya Track Local. 10,000 Watts of power! ($5 donations for gas appreciated)
Proud Father of GT-1 Past Champion!"Hey, I got to go to Japan too!
FF03,TA-05V2 ,EVO-6,TA-07,TRF419W,EXOTEK-6
"Tamiya Racer to Infinity and Beyond!"
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 03:25 AM   #15583
Tech Regular
 
ammaramira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: RCAC
Posts: 375
Default

Hi...
Can anybody help me..Can I use the MSX rear belt for MRE.. I've count the teeth , msx = 59 t , MRE = 60 .

Thanks...
ammaramira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 04:16 AM   #15584
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,284
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yes you can, you just need to have the belts tensioner set looser. I'm pretty sure the main difference between the two is just the tooth count.

I'm still not sure there is a pitch difference between the belts, I need to have a close look at two new belts to tell. IF there is any difference, it's minscule. Put it this way, I ran a spare white MSX belt on my MRE the past weekend (after the front belt snapped), and it was fine. Just have to set the tensioners looser.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | MuchMore |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 06:05 AM   #15585
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: europe
Posts: 149
Default damper Piston question

Hello guys, can you help me?

What's the diameter of the holes of the TRF DAmper Piston 3-hole (part 53573), is it 1.1mm or 1.2mm or ...

Thanks a lot
benoitrdv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAMIYA TRF415 Xray XB8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 32 04-04-2008 08:50 PM
Tamiya TRF415 Crashmaster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-13-2006 04:48 PM
Tamiya TRF415 MS NIB koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2005 07:28 AM
F/S Tamiya TRF415 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 06-10-2005 09:02 PM
Tamiya Evo IV or TRF415 TheDevil Electric On-Road 23 10-15-2004 07:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:14 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net