AMBrc Problems

Old 11-01-2003, 09:35 PM
  #1  
Regional Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East TN
Posts: 266
Default AMBrc Problems

Our AMBrc system is having problems with high noise levels, up to over 100 sometimes. We have put it on a UPS and isolation transfomer with out any better results. Has any had this problem and how did they solve it? We race in a metal building with a cement floor.

Would moving the AMBrc further from any electrical equipment work, or what other ideas might you all have.

Thanks for any advice

Ross
volav is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 09:37 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Default Re: AMBrc Problems

Originally posted by volav
Our AMBrc system is having problems with high noise levels, up to over 100 sometimes. We have put it on a UPS and isolation transfomer with out any better results. Has any had this problem and how did they solve it? We race in a metal building with a cement floor.

Would moving the AMBrc further from any electrical equipment work, or what other ideas might you all have.

Thanks for any advice

Ross
High noise, too many wires not oraganized, let's please down go there...
ZER01 is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 09:46 PM
  #3  
Regional Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East TN
Posts: 266
Default

Only wires near the loop are the coax, which feeds to the AMBrc. Everything is as neat as can be, but not a bad idea, I will look close at the wire routing.
volav is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 09:15 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
myclod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 1,064
Default

check also...is it running near other power lines? possibly hidden in walls or underground or possibly? could also be an older fluorescent ballast if indoors. Also check coax connections to AMB, if these are faulty in ANY way they could be causing noise. also small cuts in the receiver wire.
myclod is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 09:24 AM
  #5  
Regional Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East TN
Posts: 266
Default

Ok, redid the loop and new coax. Thought the problem was solved till it became night time, then the noise level went up to 60 or so. There was no change other then it becoming dark.
volav is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 09:48 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default AMBrc Problems

volav;

Ok, what happens at Night? It gets Dark. So what do you need to be able to see, Lights!

You are getting interference from the Lighting. If your equipment is very close to a Light Pole, try moving it further away. Otherwise a bad Transformer in the light pole can cause interference and even glitching of the cars.

Also, are you using Coaxial Cable, or Shielded Wire?

Normally Shielded wire only has the shield connected at one end. If you ground both ends, it will be ineffective.
popsracer is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 09:54 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
 
Caddzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida
Posts: 249
Default

You might have power lines that run under the floor. If you have the blueprints form the building, look to see where they ran the power to the building under the slab. Since it only happens at night, is it might be after outside lights kick on. You could also try moving the loop to another location and see if you still have the problem.
Caddzilla is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.