R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2009, 06:53 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
minittrackmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 358
Default LRP ESC Question.. Answers FAST

I have an older LRP ESC.
It is the LRP IPC Digital. Just wondering if thatcan do lipos or not. And does it have a voltage cut off?

Cody
minittrackmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 06:57 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

They can all do lipos. I have no idea about a cut off. Cutoffs are overrated if the car slows down a lot stop running it.
__________________
Awesomatix USA / Middle River Hobbies / Sweep / Psycho Cells Racing
Karl Hoffmeister
KHoff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 07:01 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
minittrackmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 358
Default

In the manual it says 4 to 7 cells? The lipo pack I wanna run is under 4 cells.?????



Cody
minittrackmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 07:28 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Townsville
Posts: 1,385
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default Lipo

Quote:
Originally Posted by KHoff7 View Post
They can all do lipos. I have no idea about a cut off. Cutoffs are overrated if the car slows down a lot stop running it.
KHoff is right in that all escs handle lipo. He is, however, wrong when he says cutoffs are over rated. Get yourself a novak cutoff. They are cheap and very effective. Dont risk stuffing up a good battery just to save $10.00 or so.

Terry
__________________
Is your car slow..Xray it!.......FK05, M18, M18t
RexX
Assoc...T3,T4, B4
Team Ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 07:31 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
porkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Niles,Michigan
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The 4 To 7 cell is talking about nimh and nicad cells. You should be able to run 2 cell lipo on it.
porkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 07:32 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
minittrackmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 358
Default

Well I guess I'll find out. HHHAHAHA

Thanks

Cody
minittrackmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 07:34 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Ash View Post
KHoff is right in that all escs handle lipo. He is, however, wrong when he says cutoffs are over rated. Get yourself a novak cutoff. They are cheap and very effective. Dont risk stuffing up a good battery just to save $10.00 or so.

Terry
In this case I might just have to agree with you.
__________________
Awesomatix USA / Middle River Hobbies / Sweep / Psycho Cells Racing
Karl Hoffmeister
KHoff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 10:54 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minittrackmann View Post
I have an older LRP ESC.
It is the LRP IPC Digital. Just wondering if thatcan do lipos or not. And does it have a voltage cut off?

Cody
I have the same ESC. I bought a NOVAK cut-off and am running a 2S LiPo just fine without overheating or any issues.

You are fine, my good man, absolutely fine. I am running a 15T motor with my ESC and a 11.1v LiPo, in my Rustler VXL. I was bored and decided to play around with my old gear. I'll go back to the VXL system once I can burn out this LRP ESC. But this thing takes a beating and keeps going. Absolutely great quality!

Enjoy!
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com

Last edited by HarryN; 01-15-2009 at 10:56 PM. Reason: Typo.
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 02:14 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default brushless

quick question ,i have novak gtb brushless esc , i was wanting to know if i can use a lrp x-11 series motor with it ?
isuzuguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 04:32 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KHoff7 View Post
In this case I might just have to agree with you.
I am not the best of drivers and I can even notice the slight voltage decrease when running a smart stop
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ask Peak Racing/Rick Hohwart/Joe Pillars Rick Hohwart Team and Company Discussions 120 01-22-2011 04:45 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net