R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 10-27-2003, 09:31 AM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default An ideal way to control your RC

Hello, I am new to 1:10 touring and wondering what's the best way to control the car. Do most top drivers apply brake before entering into corner or they simply slow it down by only releasing the throttle trigger? Does anyone know? Thanks!
discus18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 10:26 AM   #2
Tech Master

R/C Tech Charter Subscriber

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Depends on the corner to be honest, some can be taken at full throttle, some hairpin bends require the use of some brakes. Most of the time if the throttle is just released then the car will free roll for quite a way, and would loose time compared to a faster speed followed by hard braking.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 11:11 AM   #3
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)

i think it all depends on your driving style, and as berger said it depends on the type or corner
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 11:27 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic

Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt

It also depends on if you use a front oneway or diff or solid axle
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 01:43 PM   #5
Tech Adept

Send a message via AIM to lilshortyc3

I race at Willis Hobbies and they have a small indoor carpet track with no main straight away. When I drive, I never apply brakes entering a turn because it just slows the car down too much. Wut I like to do is just let go of the throttle and then turn. As soon as I exit the turn, I then apply throttle to the car and go on. It works really well...I found that the fast guys only apply brakes on turns, otherwise it would slow you down.
lilshortyc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 01:50 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic