R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2009, 07:12 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Mark506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 1,086
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default Lipo Plates for RDX

Do they make any for them? Or are the PPD ones universal, and will fit? Im just curious, because im going to start running lipo very soon. Thanks
__________________
Mark Ament

l MOMO USA l OZ Racing l Willwood Brakes | Dunlop Tires |

The Raceway at Beaver: Forever In Blue Jeans
Mark506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 07:23 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
sickjamminracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BEAVER FALLS,PA
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark506 View Post
Do they make any for them? Or are the PPD ones universal, and will fit? Im just curious, because im going to start running lipo very soon. Thanks
hey what kinda lipo did ya get

(wait till the 28th i might just have to bring out my secret weapon type r )
__________________
www.myspace.com/krystallinemusic
W.P.A.C crawlers
The Raceway
sickjamminracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 07:54 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Mark506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 1,086
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Intellect 3800
__________________
Mark Ament

l MOMO USA l OZ Racing l Willwood Brakes | Dunlop Tires |

The Raceway at Beaver: Forever In Blue Jeans
Mark506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 08:07 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
KR145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: InTheSticks,Wa
Posts: 1,113
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Lipo Tray

http://www.corallyusa.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=SRC79863!SRC


Everyone at my local track that runs the RDX-PHI has them and I put one in my RDX.
__________________
Kevin Rogers
XRAY Gtx8, Xray T4 '18
RoseCityScaleRacers
KR145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 09:13 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
imprsme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Va.
Posts: 3,733
Trader Rating: 74 (99%+)
Default

I think he is looking for a weight plate..
I talked to someone a few weeks ago that had one. But I can't remember who he said made it.

I will try and find out and post it here is no one beats me too it.
__________________
AwesomatixUSA
eXpress Motorsports
imprsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 03:31 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I don't run a lipo plate at all. IMO they look like an afterthought. What I do instead is I put velcro between the battery and the battery bar. It keeps the battery secure and does not let it shift at all.
Sabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 05:46 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabin View Post
I don't run a lipo plate at all. IMO they look like an afterthought. What I do instead is I put velcro between the battery and the battery bar. It keeps the battery secure and does not let it shift at all.
How does that help the weight problem?
EVILGRAFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:47 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
imprsme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Va.
Posts: 3,733
Trader Rating: 74 (99%+)
Default

OK I talked tot he guy that had a lipo weight plate and he is using the PPD one.

http://www.ppdbillet.com/images/600_tc5_base.jpg

Hope this helps for those looking!
__________________
AwesomatixUSA
eXpress Motorsports
imprsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 05:32 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Mark506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 1,086
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprsme View Post
OK I talked tot he guy that had a lipo weight plate and he is using the PPD one.

http://www.ppdbillet.com/images/600_tc5_base.jpg

Hope this helps for those looking!


Ok, thanks. Thats what i was originally going to get.
__________________
Mark Ament

l MOMO USA l OZ Racing l Willwood Brakes | Dunlop Tires |

The Raceway at Beaver: Forever In Blue Jeans
Mark506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 07:48 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: W.V.
Posts: 2,225
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smitty2802
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprsme View Post
OK I talked tot he guy that had a lipo weight plate and he is using the PPD one.

http://www.ppdbillet.com/images/600_tc5_base.jpg

Hope this helps for those looking!
Dont forget when you run the plate you have to shim up the lipo tray with 2mil shims and it will be perfect...

-DC-
__________________
~Jconcepts~EA Motorsports~
smitty2802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 10:17 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
Scottrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 6,212
Trader Rating: 245 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabin View Post
I don't run a lipo plate at all. IMO they look like an afterthought. What I do instead is I put velcro between the battery and the battery bar. It keeps the battery secure and does not let it shift at all.
...'cause, God knows, nothing looks more "made for the job" than a couple strips of velcro bodged in there...
__________________
Congressmen should wear uniforms like NASCAR drivers so we can identify their corporate sponsors.

THE REVOLUTION WILL NOT BE TELEVISED -Gil Scott-Heron (1949-2011)
Scottrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 06:14 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EVILGRAFX View Post
How does that help the weight problem?
I can stick weights on the outside of the battery. also, there is enough room along the centerline forward and rear of the motor bulkhead where I can put some other weights to shift the left/right balance towards the centre, so the left side CG ends up directly below the battery.

not only that but I can place them so the forward/rear weight is where i want it to be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottrik View Post
...'cause, God knows, nothing looks more "made for the job" than a couple strips of velcro bodged in there...
And nothing says 'afterthought' like a tray that looks like a rush job.

I use the industrial strength stuff. Been hit a few times and the battery didn't even budge. It's some mean stuff. I have to actually put some effort into removing the strap from the battery.
Sabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 09:06 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabin View Post
I can stick weights on the outside of the battery. also, there is enough room along the centerline forward and rear of the motor bulkhead where I can put some other weights to shift the left/right balance towards the centre, so the left side CG ends up directly below the battery.

not only that but I can place them so the forward/rear weight is where i want it to be.



And nothing says 'afterthought' like a tray that looks like a rush job.

I use the industrial strength stuff. Been hit a few times and the battery didn't even budge. It's some mean stuff. I have to actually put some effort into removing the strap from the battery.
I can't even see the velcro that is under the battery bar unless I remove the bar and turn it upside down.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net