R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2009, 10:34 AM   #31
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

First, if your getting pop up ads, its probably your computer, not the site. There are no pop-ups that I'm seeing.

Second, I have to assume that anyone complaining about the layout is not a member of any other message boards pretty much anywhere. Cause rctech was like the last hold out for the old board software. Every other board I'm a member of and have seen recently, uses this software.

So it should be pretty familiar to everyone by now.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 10:42 AM   #32
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxxrocket View Post
I've been looking at it for a half-hour, trying to figure out what the hell that thing between the "H" and the wheel is.
It's the background of a tachometer. There's an 8 (as in 8000 RPM), and a 9. It would be more appropriate here if it read 40 and 50 instead, as those 4.5t and lower brushless motors hit something like 50k RPM.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 11:00 AM   #33
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxxrocket View Post
I've been looking at it for a half-hour, trying to figure out what the hell that thing between the "H" and the wheel is.
Me either... and I'm assuming you are talking about the white round thing with all the wholes in it not the tach.

No problem with the site for me... it'll just take a little getting used to.
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:22 PM   #34
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Milton,Canada
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I agree this new layouts FUGLY
__________________
RROL and LOU`s where only real racers race.
Weapons of choice,NT1 2010 , X-Ray T3 x 2, X-Ray X10 X-Ray all the way baby.
Futaba 4pk,gq tires,jaco tyres,odonnel fuel,T-Power batteries, tekin and nova powered.
Don`t blame the car, when you know you can`t drive.
Sponsor, me , myself and I.
nitro ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:34 PM   #35
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padailey View Post
Me either... and I'm assuming you are talking about the white round thing with all the wholes in it not the tach.

No problem with the site for me... it'll just take a little getting used to.
I think it might be a high-end audio speaker of some sort.

Anyway - the whole header image is terrible. Please, please replace it with something related to RC.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 06:00 PM   #36
Tech Master
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,232
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

The old layout crashed my iphone browser 2-3 times a day. The new layout hasn't crashed it once. Many thanks!
jkirkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 11:55 PM   #37
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 262
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'd have to agree that I preferred the old layout/skin much better. This is the second forum I'm on that changed for the worse recently.

BTW, I'm not getting any popup adds and use FireFox.

I just don't care for the color scheme and agree the banner graphic doesn't have anything to do with RC, at least I can't make the connection.
__________________
DM1-S Tekin 2650Kv
MTX-3 MR .12
TA05 IFS-R Tekin 17.5
TA03R Cirtix 17.5 club spec
F109 Tekin 21.5
danketchpel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:23 AM   #38
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

this new layout sucks. the old one was much better to navigate with. now it's hard to tell what's what with the white on light grey and all.
Sabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 01:00 AM   #39
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristopherKee View Post
Make it look nice like you did with www.ampdraw.com
Glad you like that one, I will be making some improvements to it in the near future as time allows (although I always said that about RC Tech, didn't I... heh).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam? View Post
Look guys, the reason iBrands bought this site is because they thought they could make money off of targeted advertising. What other value is there in a forum? Of course they're going to eventually make changes to improve their ad impressions.
When I originally went to the vertical ad space on RC Tech, that is of course the exact reason. I did the best I could at the time to make the move from old to new not that aggressive, however there were quite a few people at the time who said the same things they are saying now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkseid View Post
Second, I have to assume that anyone complaining about the layout is not a member of any other message boards pretty much anywhere. Cause rctech was like the last hold out for the old board software. Every other board I'm a member of and have seen recently, uses this software.
Not sure what software you thought RC Tech was running, but it was and always has been vBulletin. What you saw were template customizations that made it look a little different, which was (IMO) part of what made it unique. That uniqueness also makes it more maintenance-intensive which I'm sure is why it no longer looks like that.

The "old" RC Tech was running vB 3.6.x and is now running vB 3.7.x. So the only software change was a minor version upgrade, and a major template change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkirkwood View Post
The old layout crashed my iphone browser 2-3 times a day. The new layout hasn't crashed it once. Many thanks!
The old layout was definitely never meant to be used in mobile, it was very image and graphic heavy relative to what you see here. Good to hear that it delivers a nice iPhone experience now.

Anyway as others mentioned it isn't my call any longer, I do somewhat disagree with where things are at now but I also see the business case for them and do not entirely disagree on that side. It is in IB's best interests to keep this a happy, vibrant community, so I expect you will see them working hard to keep it moving forward in the future.
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:46 AM   #40
Tech Fanatic
 
vlozity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

popups? geez such a simple solution, instead of bitching about it install Opera or Firefox! get rid of your IE, that sucks!

btw, i like the new layout its clean and everything is more organized. not sure why anyone would have a hard time using it since it's still vb at heart. i only hate the administrative backend of vb ... that one really sucks! hehe
__________________
3Racing Sakura D4 RWD & AWD converted to RWD
Tekin RS ESC Tekin Redline 13.5T BL Sensored Savox 1257TG Sanwa MT4
vlozity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:52 AM   #41
Tech Addict
 
Stein Tumert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway (Oslo) / Germany (Hamburg)
Posts: 556
Default

The old layout was much nicer!
__________________
Stein Tumert
Tamiya TRF, Sanwa M12, SpeedPassion, Much More, LRP
Stein Tumert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 03:16 AM   #42
Tech Elite
 
corallyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edmonds, Wash
Posts: 4,564
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlozity View Post
popups? geez such a simple solution, instead of bitching about it install Opera or Firefox! get rid of your IE, that sucks!

btw, i like the new layout its clean and everything is more organized. not sure why anyone would have a hard time using it since it's still vb at heart. i only hate the administrative backend of vb ... that one really sucks! hehe
If your using something other than IE then great, happy for you. I am using IE still and I don't get popups now or before. Anyone who is then update your computer.

Steve
__________________
Team ORCA / ORCA USA / Pro Spec
Serpent America / Team Serpent S411 ERYX / On Point Racing OP12C, S120 / Xceed Products
Hangar 30 / Seattle RC Racers
Fasttrax Racing Series / NORA On Road Series
corallyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 07:26 AM   #43
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlozity View Post
popups? geez such a simple solution, instead of bitching about it install Opera or Firefox! get rid of your IE, that sucks!
It has nothing to do with the browser and everything to do with adware. I run IE just fine. Some people just drink the FireFox kool-aid I guess.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 07:42 AM   #44
Tech Champion
 
morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: jersey shore pa
Posts: 5,564
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

im using ie and i dont get no pop-ups...the screen is a little bright and takes my eyes a little to focus from keys to screen.otherwise i dont mind it at all.seems that everything i read is still in the same areas...im good...im not hating it...but i was liking the older colors/etc...
__________________
AE/VIPER/XPERT/DIRTCHEAPRC.COM/JCONCEPTS
A big thx to all the tracks that I race at:cause if it wasnt for these guys..we wouldnt have a place to race our r/c cars!!!
morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 01:00 PM   #45
Tech Elite
 
RCHR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam? View Post
Look guys, the reason iBrands bought this site is because they thought they could make money off of targeted advertising. What other value is there in a forum? Of course they're going to eventually make changes to improve their ad impressions.
Then the simple answer is to threaten not to click on any of the advertisements until we like the site.
__________________
Radio Control Hobbies & Raceway
1258 South Main Street, Waterbury, CT. 06706
203-575-9757 / www.rchr.biz / [email protected]
RCHR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28983 Yesterday 07:08 AM
Powerline Race Club at Floyd Bennett Field TEAM BROOKLYN Racing Forum 4877 08-03-2011 04:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:29 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net