R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2003, 09:58 PM   #121
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

I just crimped the ring terminals, they're on very sturdy and I can't find a place to put solder anyway.

Can anybody go over where you attack the wires from the charger?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2003, 10:55 PM   #122
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
I just crimped the ring terminals, they're on very sturdy and I can't find a place to put solder anyway.
That should be more than sufficient. When people solder crimped terminals, they usually do it like plumbers solder copper pipes. The solder sort of soaks into the nooks and crannies. I don't because if you add too much, the solder wicks up into the wire and makes it brittle where it exits the crimp, and I really hate having to recrimp things before I'm ready to. My $0.02 again.

Quote:
Can anybody go over where you attack the wires from the charger?
Personally, I refrain from attacking any of my RC gear.

Your charger will most likely have a pair of wires coming out of the back, one red and one black. Red is +, black is -. Attachment to the power supply is up to you, but I've had good luck with ring terminals (like you used for the AC line) if you only connect one device, or a breakout box (as shown earlier in the thread) if you need to connect more than one thing.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2003, 11:25 PM   #123
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've learned alot from posting this topic. I'll post pics of my setup soon, right after I install my power switch. I ended up canabalizing a power strip for the on/off switch which is also lighted and works great.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 10:17 AM   #124
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: usa Mich
Posts: 34
Default

I took the cover off!! drilled a hole in the back plate for the cord ran it through, and soldered the ac line inside the power supply, you will see the three lugs inside leading to the outside screw terminals. Then I removed the outside screw terminals by prying them up grab them with needle nose pliers and twist them off as well as any lug left that you see. Wallah!! no more Shock Hazard!! put your cover back on all your ac connections are inside TOTAL TIME SPENT 20 Mins yes I use a strain relief on the cord inside the power supply. Two zip ties real tight work well. burr the hole you drill well, and blow out the metal shavings.

Last edited by pecor; 12-29-2003 at 03:43 PM.
pecor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 10:32 AM   #125
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pecor
I took the cover off!! drilled a hole in the back plate for the cord ran it through, and soldered the ac line inside the power supply, you will see the three lugs inside leading to the outside screw terminals. Then I removed the outside screw terminals by prying them up grab them with needle nose pliers and twist them off as well as any lug left that you see. Wallah!! no more Shock Hazard!! put your cover back on all your ac connections are inside TOTAL TIME SPENT 20 Mins
That'll work great, but I hope anyone else thinking about this is very careful. You'll need to use a good strain relief or at the very least a grommet where the cord exits the case to keep it from chafing and eventually shorting, which would be bad.

As always, beware when working on 120V stuff.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 03:28 PM   #126
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Here's a pic of mine:

Do I have the terminals for the charger's aligator clips in the right places? I couldn't find binding posts so I put a terminal (rod) in a ring terminal and soldered them together.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 03:42 PM   #127
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: usa Mich
Posts: 34
Default

AE Racer Yep that looks Good! you may want to do the mod I posted above about running the AC line inside it works well!! and yes I use a strain relief on the cord inside the power supply. Two zip ties real tight work well. burr the hole you drill well, and blow out the metal shavings.
pecor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 03:53 PM   #128
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Thanks Ill give it a try now then. I dont think I feel comfortable enough working with electronics to do your mod.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 09:55 AM   #129
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pecor
AE Racer Yep that looks Good! you may want to do the mod I posted above about running the AC line inside it works well!! and yes I use a strain relief on the cord inside the power supply. Two zip ties real tight work well. burr the hole you drill well, and blow out the metal shavings.
I do the wire tie trick too. Learned it from my dad

You also need to use something like a grommet in the hole, to keep the (deburred but still somewhat sharp) metal case edges from damaging the insulation ofthe AC wire over time. A pack of them is about $0.99 at my local hardware store...

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 10:14 AM   #130
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

dpaton,
The peeps on this thread http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...threadid=30141 can use some of your wisdom. Thanks.
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 12:37 PM   #131
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by forty6
dpaton,
The peeps on this thread http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...threadid=30141 can use some of your wisdom. Thanks.
I swear, I should write a FAQ for Futureal....

I'm glad all you guys are enjoying the cheap power supplies. Fun is what it's all about here

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 12:24 PM   #132
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to SAM776
Default

Does anyone know if these power supplys are still availble? The auction on the link is closed.

Thanks, Sam
SAM776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 12:41 PM   #133
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: usa Mich
Posts: 34
Default

Yes they are And they are Great for the money http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=36323
pecor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 12:43 PM   #134
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to SAM776
Default

Thanks, Just orderer 2 for that money it seems like a no brianer!
SAM776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 12:44 PM   #135
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: usa Mich
Posts: 34
Default

Your Welcome Sam
pecor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Socket 478 or Socket 754 Motherboard Drew Manzella Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 01-20-2008 04:30 PM
Integy Hex, Mm Socket, & Screwdriver Set rc-zombies R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-19-2004 03:39 PM
Wall projector Nitrospeed Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-12-2003 01:25 PM
dogbone getting out of the socket leblancr Electric Off-Road 7 11-19-2002 07:37 PM
Integy Metric socket set jonski R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2002 01:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net