R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2003, 06:24 PM   #76
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
So If I buy the cord with the rings at the ends of the wires screw them on in the right spots and put some type of silicon oo top to keep anything from shorting it, I should be ok? Is there anyway I could easily make it so I can use the clips of a charger on it?
Yup. Ring terminals with a little heat shrink to make sure the copper isn't exposed is enough for me, since mine has a plastic shield over the terminals. For those without, silicone will do perfectly.

Connecting to a charger that has clips is problematic at best. For my 75A supply, the one all the pictures are of on the previous page, I have a long skinny project box that has a bunch of binding posts on it, and people can clip to the posts (with the nuts down if the clips are small and with the nuts up/off if they're large). Folks with banana plugs can jack in, and folks with bare wire can play too. I'll see if I can get a picture to illustrate better for you. I use spades on my stuff so I can lock it down on the posts, but there are lots of ways to connect to them.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 06:53 PM   #77
Tech Apprentice
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 78
Default

Two questions:

1) After one has hacked an extension cord and hooked it up correctly, is there any reason one couldn't pour some epoxy over the three AC terminals and seal them up from unsuspecting hands electricuting them selves by accidently touching them?

2) Is it possible to hook two up in parallel to get 26 amps; and if so what would be the "safe method"

Last edited by Geek; 12-11-2003 at 07:07 PM.
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 07:35 PM   #78
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geek
Two questions:
Two answers:

Quote:
1) After one has hacked an extension cord and hooked it up correctly, is there any reason one couldn't pour some epoxy over the three AC terminals and seal them up from unsuspecting hands electricuting them selves by accidently touching them?
Nope, no reason at all, except that if you use epoxy you'll never be able to replace the power cord when it gets worn, frayed, or one of the wires breaks off near the terminals because it was flexed too much. Silicone is a lot more forgiving.

Quote:
2) Is it possible to hook two up in parallel to get 26 amps; and if so what would be the "safe method"
NO
The safe way is to buy a higher capacity supply, or to distribute the load between them. Paralleling supplies not designed for it will be...bad. The ones listed in this thread are definately not designed for it.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 12:04 PM   #79
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

I got one of the 13 amp power supplies off Ebay. Works good. It says right in the paper work they can be run in parrallel (for 26 amps) or in series (for 24 volts.)

Use some Shoo Goe. It will cover the electrodes, but will peel off if you need it too.
PitCrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 02:34 PM   #80
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PitCrew
I got one of the 13 amp power supplies off Ebay. Works good. It says right in the paper work they can be run in parrallel (for 26 amps) or in series (for 24 volts.)

Use some Shoo Goe. It will cover the electrodes, but will peel off if you need it too.
I only said doing it with supplies not designed for it would be bad For supplies that can be paralleled, the connections between them must be made carefully, and those sense lines must be attached in just the right place. Follow the parallel wiring diagram to the letter. Make sure you only parallel with identical supplies. All the usual disclaimers apply.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 03:11 PM   #81
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

How long did shipping take for you guys? Is this the same power supply as the others in the thread http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...&category=2563 it's from a diffrent guy who has slightly better feedback and since this will be my first ebay purchase Im looking for the best. dpaton where'd how did you attach the lexan to yours? can you post pics? Could somthing like this allow me to use the clips? http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...&postid=562372 and what are those things called so I can find them.

edit: Actually the other guy has 10 times as many sales so mabey I should go with him.

Last edited by AE Racer; 12-12-2003 at 03:17 PM.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2003, 11:32 PM   #82
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

^^^^^
Which of these guys do you think I should buy from?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...&category=2563
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...&category=2563

After you buy it and send them the money via paypal, then what? Ive never bought anything on ebay before.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 12:37 AM   #83
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Send a message via AIM to pucho
Default

I got mine from the first guy he only charges $9 for shipping the other one want's $10.
pucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 10:23 AM   #84
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
dpaton where'd how did you attach the lexan to yours? can you post pics? Could somthing like this allow me to use the clips? http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...&postid=562372 and what are those things called so I can find them.
The lexan shield was supplied with the power supply from the manufacturer. I'm sure they can be had from 3rd parties, but I don't know who or where.
The picture is linked in the first page of this thread, but repeated for brevity:


Attaching binding posts to the terminal block is one way to do it, but if you're using clips you need to be careful of them shorting out on the chassis. The posts also let you use bare wire (mildly dangerous, again, shassis shorting) or spade lugs (preferable, more secure, lower resistance than clips) to plug your gear in. Unfortunately, the ones in the picture you linked to are old style Radio Shack posts, and all the stores near me are dropping the parts lines as fast as they can. You'll probably have to special order them.

If you feel like a project, you can build a binding bost box like mine with some dual binding posts and a project box. Just wire up the box to your supply with a 6' cable or so, I used some monster speaker wire because I believe in fat wires.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 01:50 PM   #85
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Do you guys think Id be better off getting one of these power supplies and a 16x5v6 or a 16x9v6? The only advantage I see in the 16x9v6 is that that has one extra Amp in its power supply, but I like the size and looks of the 16x5 better.

And with those binding posts, does the plastic part screw off revealing a pole that you can put the clips on?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 04:05 PM   #86
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Kinda like this???

http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...&postid=583845
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 07:12 PM   #87
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vtl1180ny
Kinda like this???

http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...&postid=583845
Exactly

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 07:15 PM   #88
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
And with those binding posts, does the plastic part screw off revealing a pole that you can put the clips on?
Some do, but if they don't, you can clip it vertically, so that half the clip contacts the banana jack part of the post and half is outside, on the plastic.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 08:39 PM   #89
Tech Addict
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Send a message via MSN to Neil
Default

Wow dont leave those things plugged in unatended. Fire hazard.
If you look at a outlet the rounded opening is the ground. This is very important (It could save your life) It needs to be connected to the chassis of the power supply. The neutral needs to be connceted to the left slot on the outlet. And finally the hot or black wire needs to be connected to the right slot on the outlet. When it comes to power supplys YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. The chassis of that pos must be grounded.
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 08:42 PM   #90
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Neil
Wow dont leave those things plugged in unatended. Fire hazard.
If you look at a outlet the rounded opening is the ground. This is very important (It could save your life) It needs to be connected to the chassis of the power supply. The neutral needs to be connceted to the left slot on the outlet. And finally the hot or black wire needs to be connected to the right slot on the outlet. When it comes to power supplys YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. The chassis of that pos must be grounded.
Not sure what you're getting excited over, as long as you install the power cord properly, there's no real issues other than user error. These are high quality power supplies, i've had no problems from mine.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Socket 478 or Socket 754 Motherboard Drew Manzella Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 01-20-2008 04:30 PM
Integy Hex, Mm Socket, & Screwdriver Set rc-zombies R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-19-2004 03:39 PM
Wall projector Nitrospeed Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-12-2003 01:25 PM
dogbone getting out of the socket leblancr Electric Off-Road 7 11-19-2002 07:37 PM
Integy Metric socket set jonski R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2002 01:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:22 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net