Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
How do you plug this ps into a wall socket? >

How do you plug this ps into a wall socket?

How do you plug this ps into a wall socket?

Reply

Old 11-24-2003, 02:38 PM
  #61  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

um
lol
right
live? neutral?

Anyways, does the wider prong go on the neutral? (wider = positive? = neutral?) (skinny = Negative? = neutral?)
Attached Thumbnails How do you plug this ps into a wall socket?-118_1876.jpg  
Super Steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 02:41 PM
  #62  
ND
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 103
Default

Sorry man can't help ya there I've no experience of US plug sockets (UK one's not a problem!) all I know is ya Black lead is normally live and White is normally negative in the US.
ND is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 02:44 PM
  #63  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

so live is negative?

Then i am sure then the skinny is the negative because the wire that comes out of it has white writing on it
Super Steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 02:45 PM
  #64  
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Default

Black is hot, and goes to the narrow plug. Neutral is white, and goes to the wide one.

Unfortunately, you can't use that plug. You need to get a grounded cable, so you can connect FG to ground (green or green/yellow). Connecting the ground is very very important with switching power supplies like that one.

-dave
dpaton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 02:49 PM
  #65  
ND
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 103
Default

In the US the live (+AC) is called the hot connection??????????
ND is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 03:05 PM
  #66  
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by ND
In the US the live (+AC) is called the hot connection??????????
Yup. Live also works. And because it's AC, it's not specifically +, it just has more voltage than the neutral, which is the return path for the current.

-dave
dpaton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 03:09 PM
  #67  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

it worked without ground cord but i will be sure to get some one with ground soon
Super Steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 04:37 PM
  #68  
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by Super Steve
it worked without ground cord but i will be sure to get some one with ground soon
It will probably work without one, but it will likely spew noise back onto the AC line, ru a little hot and a little less efficicnetly, and in general be unhappy. If something goes wrong, you could be in for some fireworks, but since you're getting it a new cord, I'll dispense with the disaster descriptions

-dave
dpaton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 05:57 PM
  #69  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,676
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I would follow dpaton's advice. An ungrounded appliance will be no fun for you. However the neighbors may be able to enjoy the light show and bonfire.
robk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 06:07 PM
  #70  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Someone posted this could be found at Wal-Mart? Is this true? What department?
RCGaryK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2003, 09:04 AM
  #71  
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by RC Driver Gary
Someone posted this could be found at Wal-Mart? Is this true? What department?
The cords can. I just get the 10' orange extension cords and cut off the female end and wire them up.

The power suplies definately DON'T come from Wally world. eBay or a surplus dealer are your best bets on that one.

-dave
dpaton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 04:02 PM
  #72  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
SOuthernFRIED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Olive Branch,MS
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Since there are so many questions about these power supplies and since this thread is the best resource for operating said supplies.....BUMP
SOuthernFRIED is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 04:59 PM
  #73  
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Default

This is a nice little PS. I purchased it from someone but they had it hooked up with on the pos and neg wire, the ground was left out. I went ahead and cut an older extension cord with the ground and soldered the wires directly on the post. I haven't had any problems with this power supply
Mike F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 05:00 PM
  #74  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

So If I buy the cord with the rings at the ends of the wires screw them on in the right spots and put some type of silicon oo top to keep anything from shorting it, I should be ok? Is there anyway I could easily make it so I can use the clips of a charger on it?
AE Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 05:03 PM
  #75  
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Default

sorry man, I'm not following you on your question
Mike F is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service