Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
How do you plug this ps into a wall socket? >

How do you plug this ps into a wall socket?

How do you plug this ps into a wall socket?

Reply

Old 11-10-2003, 09:36 PM
  #46  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 115
Default

Originally posted by vtl1180ny
Hmmm... didn't upload... Take 2...
that looks nifty...i used the same output plugs but i welded them directly at the back of the PS...and i use a computer cord i bought from wallmart cut the female end and slap it on the PS...i'm running two chargers one is a LRP Pulsar Comp and Reedy Quasar pro..both charging at 6 amp...when they're both charging..the amp starts to humm and gets a little warm so i just plug my little computer fan and face it on the PS...it's been a good PS and cheapie too...
Los1Fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 05:54 AM
  #47  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I did a test of the amp draw on my Quasar Pro. If I'm charging at 6 amps, when the fan kicks on it draws 6.4 [email protected] volts. I did the same thing, I used a computer cord. I ran the cord into the box, stripped away some of the outer insulation, attached the switch to the white wire and ran it back out to the power supply. I've also got a 15amp fuse in there, just in case. I covered the 110v terminals in silicone, put the clear cover back on and then taped everything up. Great little power supply, I can't complain...
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 09:02 AM
  #48  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default



When I read this thread, I have Visions of another Chernobyl incident.

Last edited by popsracer; 11-11-2003 at 09:11 AM.
popsracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 11:07 AM
  #49  
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Default

Pops has a good point.

Be careful with the terminations on those cords guys. Make sure you use real live ring terminals so they can't pop loose and that you get them insulated so there's no way you can touch them or short them out.
Remember:
This isn't kid stuff. We're trained professionals. Don't try this at home unless you know what you're doing. No liability, etc.

If you do it right, it's safter than a refirgerator. If you do it wrong, it's as serious as your hand in the garbage disposal.

Look back in the thread for my pictures of the termination done right. I'd feel really really bad if anyone got hurt.

Please be careful.

-dave
dpaton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 11:39 AM
  #50  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I used ring terminals, soldered on... Then I covered the connections in silicone made to insulate electrical connections, then I wrapped black tape around everything.
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 10:36 AM
  #51  
Tech Elite
 
speedxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland Oregon.
Posts: 3,887
Default

well atleast i know how to get one hooked up.
just wish someone would post where to get one can somebody post where to purchace it please!
speedxl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 10:42 AM
  #52  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 13
Default

http://search.ebay.com/search/search...ery=elco+power

there ya go

-Flash
mbreitba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 10:55 AM
  #53  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I just saw someone selling one of these PS on ebay for $35 bucks or maybe it was more. Just shows you once it gets into this hobby or hobby shop the price doubles.
Scrad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 02:52 PM
  #54  
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by Scrad
I just saw someone selling one of these PS on ebay for $35 bucks or maybe it was more. Just shows you once it gets into this hobby or hobby shop the price doubles.
The 75A Lambda you see on the previous page was found for a paltry sum. The same power supply, when sold to telecommunications network providers, costs close to $1000US.

Price is determined by what the market will support...

-dave
dpaton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 02:56 PM
  #55  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

This one was the exact same one that I got about 2 weeks ago, from the ebay link at the begining of this thread.
Scrad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 03:00 PM
  #56  
Tech Elite
 
speedxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland Oregon.
Posts: 3,887
Default

they've got four listed for 17.99 buy now!
speedxl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 02:22 PM
  #57  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Hello,
Can anyone tell me how to hook this one up?
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails How do you plug this ps into a wall socket?-118_1875.jpg  
Super Steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 02:33 PM
  #58  
ND
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 103
Default

Hi

The terminals marked + and - are your dc output, and the N and H should be your live AC supply into the power supply, I'm not sure why the live is designated H?????

If you really wanna find out from the manufacturer contact Lambda and they should be able to help.

Laters
ND is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 02:34 PM
  #59  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

what is NC? and H = positive and N = negative?
Super Steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 02:35 PM
  #60  
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by Super Steve
Hello,
Can anyone tell me how to hook this one up?
Thanks
Hot/live goes to H, neutral to N, and ground to FG. + and - are the outputs, and NC is no connection.

-dave
dpaton is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service