R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2003, 10:26 AM   #31
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Scrad
I saw this thread and decided to purchase one of these bad boys. I needed an extra PS to take to the track with me since my current PS is too big and heavy. It looked pretty small, so that's what sold me plus the cheap price.

To those that have one, how much does it weight roughly?
already got mine...the shipping label says 3 lbs...looks like a shipping label bought from USPS online....anyways....this topic is really plenty help full...now i need to re-wire mine before i get an accident....
Los1Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 02:52 PM   #32
Tech Master
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

So the best plug to get for this would be an industrial extension cord, like the orange kind correct? What gauge should I get. I think the standard was like 16 rated for 13 amps or something at Walmart. Please let me know, because a cheapo one looked like it only had 2 wires not 3.
Scrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 03:06 PM   #33
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Scrad
So the best plug to get for this would be an industrial extension cord, like the orange kind correct? What gauge should I get. I think the standard was like 16 rated for 13 amps or something at Walmart. Please let me know, because a cheapo one looked like it only had 2 wires not 3.
You need to get a grounded, three prong cord. You can always get a removable computer cord like you see on power supplies and monitors and use one of those.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 09:41 AM   #34
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Scrad
So the best plug to get for this would be an industrial extension cord, like the orange kind correct? What gauge should I get. I think the standard was like 16 rated for 13 amps or something at Walmart. Please let me know, because a cheapo one looked like it only had 2 wires not 3.
Grab a 10' orange 3-prong one from Home Depot or WalMart or wherever you like to shop. Make sure both ends have 3 connections tho...there are some orangeies that are only 2-wire.

Pictures:

The wall end of a correct AC cable.
The PS end of a correctly termincated AC cable. I used heatshrink because my terminals were uninsulated. I suggest you guys buy the insulated type.
The business end of my power supply, with a properly terminated cable. Notice that black goes to L, white to N, and green to GND.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 09:43 AM   #35
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
You need to get a grounded, three prong cord. You can always get a removable computer cord like you see on power supplies and monitors and use one of those.
True, but be aware that the colors don't always match up, and if you buy ultra cheap ones, you might get one that's miswired (!). I've had it happen to me.

If you do get one, you'll usually find that colors are different: hot is the brown wire, neutral is blue and ground is green/yellow striped.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 10:18 AM   #36
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dpaton
True, but be aware that the colors don't always match up, and if you buy ultra cheap ones, you might get one that's miswired (!). I've had it happen to me.

If you do get one, you'll usually find that colors are different: hot is the brown wire, neutral is blue and ground is green/yellow striped.

-dave
Good point. I try to buy high quality so i don't have to deal with the problems that come with cheap parts.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 10:30 AM   #37
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
Good point. I try to buy high quality so i don't have to deal with the problems that come with cheap parts.
As do I, but after years of computer and audio gear moving through my hands, I have a surplus of them. Unfortunately, experience has taught me to only trust them after I test them. I had one that had hot and gnd swapped a few weeks back. Scary.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 04:15 PM   #38
Tech Master
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Talking

I got my PS yesterday. I got it wired up correctly and safely thanks to dpaton. This little powerhouse is awesome. It barely even got warm. Plus it is so small and light. People paying $100 bucks for PS are fools.
Scrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 05:05 PM   #39
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 13
Default

Got my PS in today, fired it up, and it stays at a steady 13.7 volts (according to my charger) at 5 amps, and holds a constant 13.4 volts at 8 amps. I've got to say, for the price paid, it's one heck of a power supply.

-Matt
mbreitba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 07:17 PM   #40
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Got mine, got a cord... Now just have to get to wiring it...
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 07:19 PM   #41
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Glad you guys are happy with them. Any more questions, feel free to post or PM me

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 09:47 PM   #42
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I wired mine up the other day... only cord i had available was a cheapie but it works fine. The advice on here and the pics really helped. I'm glad we can all save some money on at least one aspect of the hobby... god knows everything else can be so draining on the fun funds.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2003, 08:40 AM   #43
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I'm planning on wiring it up with a switch in a grounded junction box, so I'll eventually get mine going. I'm also thinking about building a charger stand, if I do I'm going to mount the power supply right to it.
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 04:27 PM   #44
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Ok... Here's my setup... Couldnt find the charger for the digi-cam...
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 04:28 PM   #45
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Hmmm... didn't upload... Take 2...

Attached Images
File Type: jpg ps1.jpg (64.2 KB, 363 views)
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Socket 478 or Socket 754 Motherboard Drew Manzella Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 01-20-2008 04:30 PM
Integy Hex, Mm Socket, & Screwdriver Set rc-zombies R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-19-2004 03:39 PM
Wall projector Nitrospeed Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-12-2003 01:25 PM
dogbone getting out of the socket leblancr Electric Off-Road 7 11-19-2002 07:37 PM
Integy Metric socket set jonski R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2002 01:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:14 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net