R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2004, 07:06 PM   #196
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Switching power supplies generally run very near the edge of the safe operating area of the capacitors used in them. If the specs are off, or the cap is a bum part, they'll fry. Not always immediately either. Same thing if the temp rating of the cap is too low, when the cap starts dissipating heat under load, it'll overheat and outgass, then short, and POP. Sometimes it takes a while for a bum part to show it's stripes. ICs are famous for it. They'll get zapped with static, and still work under normal circumstances, but as soon as you try to use them near the edge of their performance, they malfunction or break or both.

Off the top of my head, I'm guessing the failure chain went like this:

1. Marginal cap gets installed
2. PS passes power-on and short term light load tests
3. Unit ships
4. End user tried it out, it works
5. PS actually gets USED, and cap becomes more marginal
6. Repeat (5) until failure.

I've seen it before in power supplies, amplifiers, computers, and stuff I've built myself. Like death and taxes, it's an unfortunate side effect of life in the real world. :-(

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 07:08 PM   #197
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

if i get a new one. should i put a Fan? is it needed?
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 02:00 PM   #198
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

what voltage setting do you guys have it? Im charging one charger right now 6 amps and i am gettin a new one so will be 2 charger 6 amp Soon. Do you change the voltage setting if You have one or two Chargers? Need Tips
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 02:36 PM   #199
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by True R/C Racing
if i get a new one. should i put a Fan? is it needed?
A fan wouldn't hurt but i don't think it's necessary. I wouldn't mess with the voltage, it should be fine the way it is but you can always check with a voltmeter and adjust if you need to.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2004, 07:38 AM   #200
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

he votage should be fine without any adjustment as long as you keep your power leads nice and fat. The regulation on those supplies should be good for something like +/-0.05V up to their rated output.

Also, if you do adjustthe volatge of the supply, I'd stay away form cranking it all the way up to get 14.5 or anything like that. It'll work, but the stress on the supply will be increased, and from what I've been seeing, these supplies aren't designed with a ton of headroom for things like that.

A fan is probably a good idea if you're running it at more than 75% of it'srated capacity, ie, more than ~7A on a 10A supply.

As always, my $0.0125 ($0.02 minus taxes, etc)

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2004, 06:06 AM   #201
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Send a message via AIM to etzkev
Default

Dpaton, this is directed toward you, but if anyone else has the answer, please let me know!

How can I wire my two Cosel power supplies together to combine the Amp Outputs, but not raise the voltage? I just want to keep the voltage at around 13.8, but instead of having two power supplies that each put out 13 amps, I want to combine them (somehow ) to get a total of a 26 amp output.

Thanks in advance,
Kevin
etzkev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2004, 08:32 PM   #202
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

13.6 /2= 6.8 So put at 6.8 and Put together will add up to 12.6 Be smart Etzkev
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2004, 08:38 PM   #203
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by True R/C Racing
13.6 /2= 6.8 So put at 6.8 and Put together will add up to 12.6 Be smart Etzkev

er... what are you talking about?

etzkev,
Put the + outputs together and the - outputs together.

This should give you the same voltage but will give you combined amp...

This may not be recommended though...
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2004, 11:15 PM   #204
Tech Elite
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,454
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

do you really need the combined amperage?

If you're using only 13 amps at any time then use just one. It's more efficient.

I'm not familiar with your power supplies. Usually if you put two supplies in parallel, do not expect to use the total output at all. Care must be taken to prevent either power supply from exceeding its maximum rating. Differences in component tolerance, internal resistances etc will always cause one of the supplies to work harder than the other.

If you really need the combined amperage, I recommend you insert current dividing resistors to distribute the load on the two PS. You will need high pwer, low ohm resistors preferably with attached heatsinks. Connect one resistor end to the + side of one pwr supply. Do the same with the other resistor and pwer supply. Connect the two ends of the resistors together. You may now use this as your new + terminal. Connect the two - PS terminals and use it as the Negative terminal.
rough512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 07:43 AM   #205
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Send a message via AIM to etzkev
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by True R/C Racing
13.6 /2= 6.8 So put at 6.8 and Put together will add up to 12.6 Be smart Etzkev
What are you talking about?! Be smart Ariel! Each power supply is 13 Amps, and combining them will make a 26 Amp power supply.
etzkev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 07:48 AM   #206
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Send a message via AIM to etzkev
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Super Steve
er... what are you talking about?

etzkev,
Put the + outputs together and the - outputs together.

This should give you the same voltage but will give you combined amp...

This may not be recommended though...
Yeah, I went ahead and put them together before with my electrical knowledge, and luckily, I did everything right! Now I have a 26 Amp power supply. I just connected the outputs together and connected the inputs together, and everything is great!
etzkev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 11:56 PM   #207
Tech Master
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

You can adjust the voltage screw and take some of the voltage out if you are still worried about having to many volts.
Scrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 05:30 AM   #208
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Send a message via AIM to etzkev
Default

Haha, I knew that! I just wanted to make sure I didn't wire them together so I wouldn't get a combined voltage.
etzkev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Socket 478 or Socket 754 Motherboard Drew Manzella Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 01-20-2008 04:30 PM
Integy Hex, Mm Socket, & Screwdriver Set rc-zombies R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-19-2004 03:39 PM
Wall projector Nitrospeed Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-12-2003 01:25 PM
dogbone getting out of the socket leblancr Electric Off-Road 7 11-19-2002 07:37 PM
Integy Metric socket set jonski R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2002 01:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net