Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TB-Evolution II >

Tamiya TB-Evolution II

Tamiya TB-Evolution II

Old 12-02-2002, 07:45 AM
  #466  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,378
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Talking

Hey AQ,
I'm no genious and I'm no superstar driver but , Who told you not to run a 88 t spur?? That is the stock spur setup. I ran mine with a 34t pinion( supplied as stock with kit) and found it to slow on the straight. Went to a 36t and YEAH MAN !!! She was zoomin' and had no problem coming out of the turns. I run a Putnam GM3 stock motor. Don't know how big your track is but try that and see what happens. Good Luck.
Evoracer is offline  
Old 12-02-2002, 10:33 AM
  #467  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Aluma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edinburg TX
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey guys, how do you gear for a 11T or 12T motor using an 88 spur or a 55spur? how fast would this thing be with that type of motor? I just run stock so I'm new to the mod stuff.
Aluma is offline  
Old 12-03-2002, 07:45 PM
  #468  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 504
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Talking TB Evo2 setup

Anyone race at SoCal RC raceway? I think I got like the most expensive car in rookie class. lol. I was just wondering who might have a good setup for a TB Evo2 for SoCal. I want to join the SoCal GP, but I dunno if I can, since it's so far. I live in San Diego. Plus, anyone know where the sell the Spur gear adaptor for the TB Evo2?? I heard from the Evo3 thread that they sell them. If they do, where can I get it? If you're going to SoCal, can u get it for me?? That'll give me a good reason to come up there :-D. I'm just looking for aftermarket parts for my evo2. Hey does anyone know if the Tamiya Track at Alisio Viejo sells parts? Thanks. PEOPLE HELP ME IN MAKING MY EVO2 FAST FOR SOCAL!! HEHEH THANKS EVERYONE
AQuionIV is offline  
Old 12-04-2002, 01:10 PM
  #469  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 444
Default

www,rcmodel.com.hk search for tb-01 they have the TOBEE craft one I just ordered mine.
sportracer is offline  
Old 12-04-2002, 03:33 PM
  #470  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,378
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

cool website....thanks sportracer
Evoracer is offline  
Old 12-04-2002, 03:36 PM
  #471  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by rcpigz
cool website....thanks sportracer
RcModel...best place to order option parts not found in the US.
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 12-20-2002, 05:50 AM
  #472  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Re: difference between tb evo 1 and 2?

Originally posted by azDan
Hey guys I just sold my xxx-s and am looking to get a TB Evo. What is the difference between the evo 1 and the evo 2? I saw some evo 1's up for sale on ebay and the message boards but thought I'd ask the you all since your the experts.

Thanks

Dan
Any more inputs? How much does the original Evo1 give up in terms of performance/adjustability? What components are shared? Are the gear boxes the same with either car?

Do you think it's worth sticking with older car or do I just start looking at the TA04?


Thanks
rough512 is offline  
Old 12-20-2002, 06:26 AM
  #473  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default Re: Re: difference between tb evo 1 and 2?

Originally posted by rough512
Any more inputs? How much does the original Evo1 give up in terms of performance/adjustability? What components are shared? Are the gear boxes the same with either car?

Do you think it's worth sticking with older car or do I just start looking at the TA04?


Thanks
The original evo1 is heavier than the evo3 so that would have some effect on performance. It can be hopped up to reduce weight by using titanium turnbuckles and screws.

As for adjustability, I would say it is still fairly similar to the Evo3.

The Evo1 does not use Ta04 arms and uses a proprietory spur gear. You can however get an adapter to fit normal spurs.
itchynads is offline  
Old 12-20-2002, 06:27 AM
  #474  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default

Originally posted by rc-zombies
RcModel...best place to order option parts not found in the US.
Don't forget Rainbowten.co.jp, although ordering is a bit more insecure

They are very reliable and are always very patient with their customers.

They also have the best prices for Tamiya parts and usually get latest released parts earlier than anywhere else.
itchynads is offline  
Old 12-20-2002, 10:23 AM
  #475  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,378
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

rough512,
Subtle differences between the Evo 1 and Evo 2. Evo1 has upper control arms, evo2 doesn't. Basically the same car. Personally, i'd find a Evo2 . There is one for sale in the classified section. Look for seller name TRF_powered. 170.00 bucks. Good deal. If you don't make a deal there, let me know..I have a friend who has one new in box.
Evoracer is offline  
Old 12-21-2002, 01:59 AM
  #476  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
fabolousRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jakarta...lah
Posts: 933
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default spur gear adaptor

I'm wondering guys...my LHS has the spur gear adaptor for the F201 and I WOULD LOVEEEEEEEEEEEE to use that for my TB01 project. It sure does look it is missing some critical part in between the spur gear and the rear gearbox or the main shaft holder. I'm just afraid that gorgeous aluminum holder will not keep the spur gear in place, drop that tiny pin in the middle, and my car ended up going nowhere.
fabolousRC is offline  
Old 12-22-2002, 05:41 PM
  #477  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by rcpigz
rough512,
Subtle differences between the Evo 1 and Evo 2. Evo1 has upper control arms, evo2 doesn't. Basically the same car. Personally, i'd find a Evo2 . There is one for sale in the classified section. Look for seller name TRF_powered. 170.00 bucks. Good deal. If you don't make a deal there, let me know..I have a friend who has one new in box.
Thanks, but I have to pass

I already started tinkering with the 2nd hand TB EVO1 I got. Except for a bad pinion bevel gear, the car looks great. Only ran it in our living room. Compared to my TA03R, the EVO1 seems to push a bit where the TA03R would 2wheel-drift on sharp U turns. Can't wait to test it on our local track.

From the pictures of the EVO2 posted here, the only difference I can see between the EVO1 and EVO2 lies on the bulkheads and camber links. I've also read the posts of RUF and Aluma on how the EVO2 being difficult to dial in. I hope the EVO1 is better . I could see some problems with the EVO1 camber links being stuck on only one position.
rough512 is offline  
Old 12-22-2002, 05:55 PM
  #478  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,378
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Can't vouch for the EVO 2 being hard to dial in.....Just spent the day winning all 3 qualifiers and the A main. I Love This Car!!
Define "camber links stuck in one position" . Do you mean the connection point to the hub?? Or are you thinking that the camber is not adjustable??
Evoracer is offline  
Old 12-22-2002, 06:17 PM
  #479  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

THere is only one inner mounting point for the upper arm. That is on the bulkhead itself.

I understand that with the EVO2, the inner end of the camber link can be adjusted higher or lower ala 414M. My EVO1 upper arms are all angled down towards the chassis.
rough512 is offline  
Old 12-22-2002, 09:48 PM
  #480  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
fabolousRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jakarta...lah
Posts: 933
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

On the Evo I you can re-position the camber link like where the EVO II is an just move away from that fix arm altogether. The problem is, if you run TCS race, it's not going to be legal if they found out it's a TB Evo I not the II.
fabolousRC is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.