R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2009, 07:51 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
GCT69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TRF
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default 3racing chassis

what's the take on 3racing chassis? are they any good?
GCT69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:02 PM   #2
mok
Tech Master
 
mok's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mok Send a message via Skype™ to mok
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCT69 View Post
what's the take on 3racing chassis? are they any good?
My only opinion is that 3Racing parts like to mix with other 3Racing parts, but when you combine 3Racing with another manufacturer's parts things start to go a little wrong.

3Racing TT-01 conversion steering setup is so wobbly the car steers randomly itself and the servo has to move quite a bit before turning the car etc. Replace this part only with the Tamiya alu. steering setup and its MUCH MUCH better.

The finish on the carbon is nice, their aluminium is nice and annodized well (even if its a little chunky for my liking). Everything seems to be made nicely, but they are let down by little things that should work, but dont or arent that great at it when they do.

Dont expect to be winning a worlds title with a 3Racing conversion :P
__________________
XRAY T3'2011 / TEKIN RS PRO / LRP X12 / HYPERION SWIFT G3 RACE PACKS / FUTABA S9551 / SPEKTRUM DX3R
www.epracer.com - www.precc.org.au - www.westcoastmodelrallyclub.asn.au - www.onroadrccarclubbunbury.org.au
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 04:27 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

No complaints here with 3racing stuff. I have the V1 graphite ta05 chassis and shock towers, its seen 2 seasons of racing, finished 3rd at a club winter series with it.

__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:08 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

I have a 3Racing chassis for my TC4. What I didn't know when I got it, was that it was made for carpet racing. I made some modifications to it for asphalt racing, but your better off with what to have. Save your money for a better car.

__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/

Last edited by Foxxrocket; 01-06-2009 at 09:33 AM.
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:38 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Yes, I have also noticed that most of the 3racing chassis are primarily for indoor carpet racing.

I have tried to get my car to work on tarmac but its not really suited to it, the chassis is too thick and doesnt flex enough for my liking.

Indoors on foams its just as quick as the more expensive cars. It also looks quite unusual too, one guy thought I had a Yokomo
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:54 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

Removed the braces. I did that with mine, and it gave it way more flex. Try it and see if it works out for you.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 06:50 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxxrocket View Post
Removed the braces. I did that with mine, and it gave it way more flex. Try it and see if it works out for you.
Thanks I will have a look at that, the way I look at the braces are that they compliment the chassis thickness, so without them it will be interesting to see if it helps laptimes or it doesn't.

I usually use mine on foam indoors, now I have a 415 for outdoors.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 10:03 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
GCT69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TRF
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I only race carpet, so i guess it would be fine. One more ???? will it make the car lighter and will lipo fit (ta05 ifs-r)


Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
Yes, I have also noticed that most of the 3racing chassis are primarily for indoor carpet racing.

I have tried to get my car to work on tarmac but its not really suited to it, the chassis is too thick and doesnt flex enough for my liking.

Indoors on foams its just as quick as the more expensive cars. It also looks quite unusual too, one guy thought I had a Yokomo
GCT69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 05:25 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
GCT69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TRF
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCT69 View Post
I only race carpet, so i guess it would be fine. One more ???? will it make the car lighter and will lipo fit (ta05 ifs-r)
anyone knows if lipo will fit? version 2.
GCT69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 08:52 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCT69 View Post
anyone knows if lipo will fit? version 2.
edit, wrong info... Not aware of any.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 08:56 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

If you look at my chassis, you'll see that I took the side braces off so I can fit a hard case Lipo. So, yes a LiPo should fit.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kyosho v-one rrr doki_doki Nitro On-Road 9839 08-07-2014 04:59 PM
MLP Motorsports Int Marty Peterson Team and Company Discussions 204 10-18-2011 09:42 PM
PIKZ OF UR ONROAD!!! chrisanton Nitro On-Road 778 05-15-2011 10:30 PM
Serpent 710 Ron C. Nitro On-Road 23347 03-16-2010 02:47 PM
XRay M18T Pro, and LOTS of 18T stuff ClawRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 09-21-2009 10:24 PM
R/C Stuff Selling Kenneth Tan Singapore R/C Racers 45728 09-09-2009 08:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:49 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net