Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Inspire us.  Show me your BEST, CLEANEST electronics installation pics. >

Inspire us. Show me your BEST, CLEANEST electronics installation pics.

Like Tree433Likes

Inspire us. Show me your BEST, CLEANEST electronics installation pics.

Old 03-07-2009, 09:09 PM
  #301  
Tech Master
iTrader: (42)
 
Mark506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 1,086
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Hey, to be honest with you, I don't remember the manufacturer of the tray. Perhaps somebody else could chime in. As far as the placement of the battery, it can be brought a little closer to center.

Below is how the LiPo would normally appear


Im pretty sure Specialized RC makes it, which is a brand of Corally. Here is link of it:
http://www.corallyusa.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=SRC79867!SRC
Mark506 is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 09:21 PM
  #302  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, Palo Alto
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Just a word of caution. My MTR PT didn't like being stood upright. It was very picky about it's location.
Good thing I don't have a MTR transponder.

I haven't heard of any other issues with the transponder being on its side so since it's already installed, I will see how things go and make adjustments from there if necessary.
IIGQ4U is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 09:23 PM
  #303  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, Palo Alto
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mark506 View Post
Im pretty sure Specialized RC makes it, which is a brand of Corally. Here is link of it:
http://www.corallyusa.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=SRC79867!SRC
Yep, it's Specialized. To keep the LiPo from moving inside of the tray, I use Dubro adhesive backed foam strips.
IIGQ4U is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 10:37 PM
  #304  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Questions??

My question is how to make the servo wire and the switch wire short.

And are these any good?
If they are good, any tips on soldering wire on them? TIA.

Last edited by edhchoe; 03-07-2009 at 10:48 PM.
edhchoe is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 10:45 PM
  #305  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
My question is how to make the servo wire and the switch wire short.
Well, you have a couple of options.

First, you can cut the wire and then crimp the receiver male plugs onto each indivisual wire, or, you can dissasemble the certain electronic unit and directly solder the leads to the PC board after they are cut, of course.
a_main_attendee is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 10:56 PM
  #306  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by a_main_attendee View Post
Well, you have a couple of options.

First, you can cut the wire and then crimp the receiver male plugs onto each indivisual wire, ...
Do you use the existing plug and pull the tips out somehow or do you buy new ones?
edhchoe is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:00 PM
  #307  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
Do you use the existing plug and pull the tips out somehow or do you buy new ones?
You can do either,

its easiest to take the existing plug and gently "pry" at the plastic area below the shown metal "tip", you can do so easily with an x-acto or a small flathead screw driver. This plastic tab keeps the tip from sliding out of the plug, when it is lifted, a gentle pull on the indivisual wire will realese the metal pin from the plastic.



Its kinda hard to explain, but in this pic you can clearly see the "tabs" and below them the gold plated "pins"
a_main_attendee is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:04 PM
  #308  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Here are pics of my TC5 that I just finished.

The servo and transponder wires have been modified. The esc wire has not been modified. The sensor cable is 70mm in length.
WOW. Companies should hire you to put electronics on their cars for photo shoots! that is truly superb!!
a_main_attendee is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:04 PM
  #309  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by a_main_attendee View Post
You can do either,

its easiest to take the existing plug and gently "pry" at the plastic area below the shown metal "tip", you can do so easily with an x-acto or a small flathead screw driver. This plastic tab keeps the tip from sliding out of the plug, when it is lifted, a gentle pull on the indivisual wire will realese the metal pin from the plastic.
And then you pry the metal thing to get the wires out...
Thanks!
edhchoe is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:05 PM
  #310  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
And then you pry the metal thing to get the wires out...
Thanks!
Yes sir!

No problemo.
a_main_attendee is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:10 PM
  #311  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, Palo Alto
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

I did mine by cutting the wire near the servo to shorten. I then reattached and placed heat shrink around the individual wires and the used heat shrink around all of the wires. I tried to shorten using additional hardware but I couldn't ever install it properly.
IIGQ4U is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 07:22 AM
  #312  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Good thing I don't have a MTR transponder.

I haven't heard of any other issues with the transponder being on its side so since it's already installed, I will see how things go and make adjustments from there if necessary.
Sorry about the typo, MRT. It could be the bridge location relative to where it's installed. I just know it was an issue for me so if you miss the occassional lap something to think about. Just trying to help.
or8ital is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 09:54 PM
  #313  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,673
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default One of my TC

Here is one of my TC.

Last edited by Johnny Wishbone; 09-24-2011 at 09:39 AM.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 10:39 PM
  #314  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

When you unplug Deans plugs, do you hold the plugs or the wires?
edhchoe is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 01:11 AM
  #315  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Just needs two wires of the battery and thats all



prinsdrift is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.