Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Losi XXXS chassis milling? >

Losi XXXS chassis milling?

Losi XXXS chassis milling?

Old 10-21-2003, 08:02 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 15
Default Losi XXXS chassis milling?

HAs anyone milled there XXXS chassis with extra cutouts? If so whats the best way to do it?
James VanHook is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 08:15 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Andrew Gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Posts: 555
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I'm not sure why you want more cuttouts in your chassis, but if you wanna do it, use a dremel with a carbide cutting bit, and cut some material out of the tunnel. A dremel is really the only thing to use because the way the chassis is you cannot put it in a jig to use a mill... Hope this steers you in the right direction.
Andrew Gray is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 08:33 AM
  #3  
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default

I just did a G+ chassis and i used a drill press with a rotuer bit on it and i used a tool for fine detail work . works something like a dremel but a much larger scale i use this tool alot for cermic tile work i do.

but here is a photo of what i did and its for sale also
Attached Thumbnails Losi XXXS chassis milling?-g-1.jpg  
Ko Racer is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 08:41 AM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 15
Default

KO- yeah I saw that yous car was for sale and how sweet it looked. Thats why I asked how to do it. I know Kinwald did it a while back so I thought I would take the chassis that came with the original car and play with cutting it out. I mean what am I going to do with at plastic chassis when my car is all graphite. By the way, that can is so tight with the white ball cups. I want some! LOL
James VanHook is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 08:50 AM
  #5  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

You can also do it with a dremel... I did, but it takes a TON of time (6 hours for mine) and it's much easier to mess up with a dremel.
Randy Caster is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.