R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2008, 02:07 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Team Orion Vortex Motor, Smoked

I just bought a Team Orion Vortex 2008 10.5t BL Motor, and a TC Spec ESC

As I was going through setting up the ESC and radio, I had forgotten to connect up the sensor wire to the motor, and after a few moments wondering why the motor wouldn't turn, smoke started pouring out the back of it.

After it cooled down, I hooked it all up properly and the motor seemed to run fine, but after a short test drive, the motor sounds terrible, and is notchy to turn.

Would you consider the motor buggered, or have any tips on what could be wrong with it, and if it can be replaced or fixed?

Cheers.
Brutus343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 02:39 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,105
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

The motor is dead. The LRP TC Spec has auto brushless / brushed detect, no sensor wire it assumes it's brushed so fires the Blue and Orange phases at the same time

The result, burnt windings.

Take it as lesson learnt, don't do it again! The esc will be fine, the motor is not repairable, you may be able to salvage the rotor, but the can etc goes in the bin.

Been there, done that!
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 02:43 AM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Lesson learned, Thanks alot mate.
Brutus343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 05:49 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'd hate to be the poor bloke that tries a sensorless BL motor with this speedo.. yikes.
Sabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 08:24 AM   #5
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Yikes! What happens if a sensor wire breaks during a run? Does it also switch to brushed mode? Doesn't sound like a good "feature" to me. The Tekin RS falls back to sensorless mode if no sensor is detected, which is a lot safer.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 11:08 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Tpg racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Yikes! What happens if a sensor wire breaks during a run? Does it also switch to brushed mode? Doesn't sound like a good "feature" to me. The Tekin RS falls back to sensorless mode if no sensor is detected, which is a lot safer.
That is exactly what i was thinking.... one crash poofff a good motor gone....
Tpg racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 11:13 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Yikes! What happens if a sensor wire breaks during a run? Does it also switch to brushed mode? Doesn't sound like a good "feature" to me. The Tekin RS falls back to sensorless mode if no sensor is detected, which is a lot safer.
Yeah, hard to disagree with this. The Tekin's ability to step back to sensorless in the case of a broken harness (yes, it does happen) makes a lot of sense. I wonder if LRP's new ESC has some protection against this?
Adam? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 11:22 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,000
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

It's possible that this particular incident happened because the sensor wasn't hooked up from the very start of the programming. If your harness is damaged during a race it may not going into brushed mode. Your car may just simply come to a stop. All you're doing is guessing as to what may happen and this may not even be the case. Bench racing from the keyboard isn't always the answer to all the problems.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 11:57 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Keith Billanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BUFFALO
Posts: 1,794
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Iv got an awesome one- my brand new LRP setup (sphere TC and 17.5) -- neither came with a sensor wire.


Glad i asked my motor guy first..
__________________
OUT
Keith Billanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 09:43 PM   #10
KoE
Tech Master
 
KoE's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Blue Marble
Posts: 1,228
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to KoE
Default

pretty scary possibility i guess the same might be true to gtb as well..tho i dare not pull the sensor out to test
__________________
Yo!
KoE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 10:35 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
corallyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edmonds, Wash
Posts: 4,564
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

I don't know for certain either but I think STLNLST is right, it seems that I have heard that is what would happen. If I was to guess why it would just stop and not revert to brushed mode it would be because there are many small wires in the harness, if a single wire was damaged or maybe a couple damaged it would still know that there is some wires/harness attached I would think. Just a guess though.

Steve

I too have a tekin and knowing that the speedo won't fry is a nice extra benefit.
__________________
Team ORCA / ORCA USA / Pro Spec
Serpent America / Team Serpent S411 ERYX / On Point Racing OP12C, S120 / Xceed Products
Hangar 30 / Seattle RC Racers
Fasttrax Racing Series / NORA On Road Series
corallyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 10:56 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Milwaukee
Posts: 2,731
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

ive popped my sensor wire out multiple times on my gtb and the car is dead. no motor damage at all. ive also gave it throttle without the sensor wire and it did nothing.
__________________
Mike Adamec
TEAM HACK-HACK OR BE HACKED
Trackside Hobbies
not home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 12:07 AM   #13
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,105
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

I thought the GTB had to be set to brushed / brushless and you send all 3 wires to one pole on the motor, the other is from the battery. With the LRP the 3 motor wires, 1 goes to one pole on a brushed motor, the other two go to the other and it is autodetect.

So given that, I wouldn't expect the GTB to do anything with no sensor cable while set on brushless as it's not able to take sensorless motors.
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 02:36 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

I've had the sensor unit fail in a motor when using LRP speedo (a few times!!) and no damage to speedo or motor.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 08:26 PM   #15
KoE
Tech Master
 
KoE's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Blue Marble
Posts: 1,228
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to KoE
Default

aaa....ima stick to GTB longer then! thanks
__________________
Yo!
KoE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Orion Vortex Brushless motor Aku-Man Electric On-Road 719 05-27-2011 03:46 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:51 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net