R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 12-23-2008, 07:06 AM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default Battery issues

First let me just say that i am new to the site and happy to be a part of this RC commuinity. I am new to the hobby and currently run an RS4 pro 2 with a Trinity 27 turn P2K motor and a mustang GTR body, will post pics later...

Ok here is the deal.. i just completed my car and just recently bought top of the line batteries and had the gys at the shop set them up and etc... The batteries I am using is the SMC Ener G 4600's they are Ni MH batteries and for some reason they wont receive a full charge.. let me explain.. they are supposed to get up to 10-11 Volts and the highest i have seen is like 9.17 and sometimes my charger will false peak in like 7 minutes.. sometimes it wont... when i charge them 3 of the 6 batteries get warm or hot and the others are still cold.... I have a vision peak Ultra Charger... I would like to know if anyone here has any clue as to what is going on.... The batteries are a lot of money and if I need to replace them i need to know... I went to the hobby shop and the owner there just kind of blew me off saying that they were swamped and didn't have time to be messing with them at the moment.... Anyway. i don't think it is the charger but i will get to the bottom of this and hopefully you guys can help....