R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2003, 07:35 AM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
Accord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 997
Send a message via AIM to Accord
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mad Mike101
It needs to be 30 Amps, 20 is a bit low. Your cut off if you using a NiMH 6 cell pack should be 5.4V.
Accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 02:33 PM   #17
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

how to check if a discharger has the cut off function??

on my real time 2 discharger it claims that it will cut off at 0.9V then slowly discharge the pack to 0.00V, but all that is on the tray is resistors and light blubs, and i don't think any of those has the cut off ability....

the instructions says to remove the NiMH pack after the lights go out, but some lights go out sooner than others, will those cells be over discharged if i wait till all the lights go out??
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 04:49 PM   #18
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 119
Default trinity real time

I personally use a trinity real time 2 which works great and it did wonders for improving my bateries it made all the cells equal again.
Hope it helps
Brian
big_bg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 06:41 PM   #19
Tech Regular
 
Claydoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: being there
Posts: 402
Send a message via AIM to Claydoh
Default

The Trinity Real time 2 works fine. I don't think with nimh's the discharge rate matters that much unlike nicd's. With the Trinity, just disconnect each cell as the lights go out. The Rayspeed looks the best but my LHS had the Trinity so I got that. My packs have been performing a lot better since I started using it.
Claydoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 08:05 PM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
Sean Powers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 762
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried the ORION digital discharger or have any info or input on it? good, bad ect
Sean Powers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 11:46 PM   #21
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Claydoh
I don't think with nimh's the discharge rate matters that much unlike nicd's.
I'll say this again: NiMH cells dont' lke being taken to 0V. Let them sit at 0.9 and life will be good.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 12:13 AM   #22
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dpaton
I'll say this again: NiMH cells dont' lke being taken to 0V. Let them sit at 0.9 and life will be good.

-dave
that's my concern
when the last cell gets to 0.9V the other cells may go below 0.9V since the tray doesn't cut off
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 12:25 AM   #23
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sean Powers
Has anyone tried the ORION digital discharger or have any info or input on it? good, bad ect
Excellent unit, mine lasted for a lot longer than I would have thought. Just failed recently, not sure how or why but if I had the cash, I'd buy another.

They do get a bit warm when discharging at 30 amps, the 7.2v connector clips will get hot and may melt the plastic insulation.
Other than that, recommend them highly.
Simon K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 12:31 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sean Powers
Has anyone tried the ORION digital discharger or have any info or input on it? good, bad ect
I've been using one for the last six months and am happy with it and would reccomend it. but at 30 amps discharge you will probly have some melted plastic on the supplied clips.... but at the same time i typically only use the 20 amp discharge.
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 10:43 AM   #25
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Send a message via AIM to dpaton
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fire
that's my concern
when the last cell gets to 0.9V the other cells may go below 0.9V since the tray doesn't cut off
Just unscrew the offending lightbulb. That will break the circuit and stop the discharge, as was mentioned some time back in the thread.

-dave
dpaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 10:55 AM   #26
HK
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 51
Default

I use a Tekin 350 discharger 30amps for years and works fine.
and a 112C and turbo 35 , all my old equipments are very huge like the hudy tire truer but I run only small sized 12th scale cars
HK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 09:09 PM   #27
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Default

I heard some instruction how to discharge NIMH cell said " don't always used over 10 amp to discharge or condition a NIMH cell " , I seen a lot of racer will keep dischage after every racing with a tray discharger such as Trinity Realtime 2(5A dis) , my experience let me know if used 20amp or over may cause excessive heat build up in the cells which will shorten their life span.
Loman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 09:25 PM   #28
Tech Regular
 
TC3Racer67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to TC3Racer67
Default

if nimh's don't like being taken down to 0, then what's the point of a tray? won't the tray take it down to 0 no matter what? or does it stop at .9 when the lights go out? (with the trinity) I'm currently using a deans black box 2. (.9) I just switched over to nimh's, and don't know what to do discharging wise. thanks for any help.
TC3Racer67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 09:56 PM   #29
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I Got my Rayspeed tray today. Awesome!
What a nice piece of equipment, best build quality of any tray I've ever seen and cuts off very accurately at .9V
snemi00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 10:07 PM   #30
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,042
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by snemi00
I Got my Rayspeed tray today. Awesome!
What a nice piece of equipment, best build quality of any tray I've ever seen and cuts off very accurately at .9V
snemi,

were the instructions in english? if they were, would you mind posting it up here?

thanks.
MDawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
35 amp dischargers minnesh Electric On-Road 0 09-14-2007 02:01 PM
F/s Dischargers hpiaustin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 07-05-2007 12:12 PM
too many dischargers JasonC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-17-2006 07:47 PM
Dischargers drx Rookie Zone 2 03-29-2004 03:11 AM
20 amp dischargers!!!!!!! gac1983 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-27-2004 09:23 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:23 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net