R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2008, 07:17 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent,London
Posts: 8
Default novak gtb problems

Hello can any 1 help me out,just got my 3rd gtb in 15 months!!!!!,the first one fried after a 7 months(i put that down 2 being second hand,and me being a idot buying it)then the second one a bought was brand new! yepe,fitted it,it lasted 5 months and stop working!!!!,just a sequence of lights!!,and the fan worked, i even tried a new motor,nothing!so my 3rd turned up yesterday,brand new,ifitted it in my ta05,whent through the 1 touch program,brillant it all worked, so we went down the car park,it ran for five minutes, then it just stoped,ive tried a motor that i know worksbut theres nothing,theres blue,amber,red lights on the esc when you turn the esc and tx on,when you move throttle on full, the blue and green flash with amber glowing in the middle,then after a second blue and green stop flashing and start glowing with the amber.Please help sum 1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
nearly Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 08:47 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

Did you check the operational manual for troubleshooting? Because the blinking blue and green lights indicates ESC shutdown due to rotor-lock. it could also be your receiver, or you just got a diffective ESC. In that case contact customer service.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 08:53 AM   #3
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Neil,

Please email either Charlie or myself to help you resolve this problem.

My email is [email protected] ... charlie's is [email protected]
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 12:15 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent,London
Posts: 8
Default

would standard 40mhz radio equipment cause these esc to failbecause as im am told and have seen these are best that money can buy,and im gona stay novak loyal,i must admit this efin strange to have 2 go up the creek on ya, and no ov my mates have the problems ive had, and ive set theres up with same radio equipment.
nearly Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 03:48 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Some people have bad luck with brushless I know a guy (sponsored) and in one practice day he went though 5, one didn't even leave the pits. Also by the end of the day his pit guy was standing center track with wire cutters for when they smoke. So sometimes it is hit and miss
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 12:53 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent,London
Posts: 8
Default

5 speedos in 1 meeting!that makes me feel a lot better L.O.L,this [email protected] does happen to other people and not just me!!! 2 days ago my latest gtb lasted a hole 4-5 minutes from new,i was running a 24tooth pinon on the motor,and a 70 tooth spur gear(on a novak 4.5 brushless)in a big car park, now apparantly these motors this powerful are not ment for "bashing a bout with!", what the hell would a orion vortex 2.5 do to these esc,at what motor limit are these speedos relible to use?
nearly Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 10:42 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Racingbod85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bromley, Kent, UK
Posts: 186
Default

Err, that may be your problem, does it come off glowing red hot when you've finished running? you've got an overall ratio of 6.56 (i think on a TA05). if you read the instructions a 4.5R is recommended to be on 10! i've had mine down to around 8.5 on big tracks.

you're asking way to much of the system in a heavy car and consequently it goes pop IMHO.

You need bigger spurs and smaller pinions!
__________________
RC12L4
Novak 4.5R / 10.5R
Sanwa/Futaba/Much More
Carpetwars/Sidcup RCC/Maritime Racing/7oaksmcc
Racingbod85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 02:41 PM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent,London
Posts: 8
Default

oh sh[t im am an IDOT i must of [email protected] it up then!!!the motor never got chance to get hot,i had it goin for minutes then it cut out,im a twat ive just got to face it!
nearly Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 03:34 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racingbod85 View Post
you've got an overall ratio of 6.56 (i think on a TA05).
Yes, that is true. How many GTBs does one have to fry before wondering if it's not the fault of the equipment?
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 06:24 AM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent,London
Posts: 8
Unhappy

is any 1 out there any good at soldering tiny chips? i found 1 faulty slighty cooked chip under the heat sink, on this gtb which is the only discolourd 1 out the lot, ive got 2 other gtbs which i could use for spares which might be ok, i cant send them to novak cause there non warranty service form is only confusing me,how the hell can i fill out the charges part on the form, i dont what it costs to sort out, and only lets you pay by credit card, which i dont have, so im stuck up the creek with out a padel at momment unless i can find sum local wizard with a soldering iron,any ideas any1?,
nearly Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 08:39 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

Your lucky that Novak has the best customer service. They might even give you a new one, even if it isn't under warranty. As long as you have proof of purchase and the ESC vin number you should be able to send it in.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 08:51 AM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent,London
Posts: 8
Default

WELL I HOPE SO,BUT IT LOOKS LIKE IVE CAUSED THIS IS ALL ALONG, SO I DONT BLAME THEM IF THEY MAKE ME SUFFER,THEY PROBLEY SEE THIS ABUSE ALL THE TIME ON THERE WARRANTY RETURNS, HAY HO NEVER MIND AT LEAST ITS NOT THE EQUIPMENT, AND AT LEAST I KNOW WHERE IM GOING WRONG ON THE GEARING,NUMBER 4 IS ON ITS WAY!!!
nearly Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 09:19 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

So, people have done worse, and have gotten a new one. You might be able to get a new one, even if it was your fault.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 09:36 AM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent,London
Posts: 8
Talking

WELL I WOULD LIKE TO SEND AT LEAST 2 OF THEM OFF WHICH HAVNT FRIED,AND MAYBE SLIP SUM CASH IN WITH THEM,WHAT DO YOU THINK?FILL OUT THE WARRANTY FORM, AND PRINT OUT THE RECEIPT OF ESC ON THE COMPUTER(PURCHASED EBAY USA),THERES 2 SERIAL NUMBERS, 1 ON A CHIP AND 1 ON A STICKER ON THE INNER ORANGE CASEING,WHICH 1 WOULD THEY NEED?
nearly Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 11:06 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 4,908
Default

How do you people have so much trouble with this stuff?
__________________
Mason McCombs
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility
Off-Road, Dirt Oval, Crawlers & Pullers
Mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB help needed porschejim911 Electric On-Road 17 02-25-2017 12:07 PM
New Novak Brusless System danjoy25 Electric On-Road 2688 10-14-2010 09:40 AM
Any issues remain with the GTB smoking? Jason B Electric On-Road 15 08-04-2008 09:17 PM
novak xbr or gtb?? fishnfst Electric Off-Road 17 01-12-2008 09:18 PM
Brushless 1/10 scale Lipo trucking, questions Cain Electric Off-Road 26 04-28-2007 10:46 AM
How to stop brushless motor from thermals tomt2 Australian Racing 10 02-25-2007 02:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:08 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net